Interest in a series for high-performance race cars led to the inaugural Canadian Supercar event in 2012 at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. Based on the success of the first weekend, the organizers of the Canadian Touring Car Championship developed a rules package and scheduled four doubleheader weekends for the 2013 season. This series would be called the Canadian Supercar Series.

To increase the number of entrants and ensure parity between the cars, series officials created two classes.

  • Super 1 (S1) – (Red window banner) - This category is for the more powerful exotics and includes the Acura NSX, Dodge Viper, Ferrari 458 and Porsche GT3. Many of the cars in this group also participate in single-make series such as the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Canada.
  • Super 2 (S2) – (White window banner) - This is the slower of the two divisions. Vehicles competing in the class include the Audi S4, BMW M3, Chevrolet Corvette, Ford Mustang and Porsche Cayman.

The four-weekend schedule starts at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park during the track’s Speedfest event.

  • May 18-19 – Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • July 6-7 – Circuit ICAR
  • August 9-11 – Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres
  • September 7-8 – Calabogie Motorsports Park

Rounds five and six of the 2013 Canadian Supercar Series were held at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. This was scheduled to be the penultimate race weekend of the championship. However, Trois-Rivieres was the premiere event for many Quebec teams and they indicated that they wouldn’t be participating in the finale at Calabogie Motorsport Park. As a result, the final two races were cancelled and the contests at Trois-Rivieres would decide the titles in the Super 1 and 2 categories.

The pace lap for the final race of the weekend at Trois-Rivieres and of the 2013 Canadian Supercar Series. Pacing the field is the pole-sitter, Darryl O’Young, in the No. 69 Speed Merchants Porsche GT3 Cup. Next to O’Young is the second place starter, Etienne Borgeat, driving the No. 2 GT Racing prepared Porsche GT3 Cup. The second row is occupied by the Porsches of Marco Cirone and Anthony Mantella.
Joining the series this weekend was Darryl O’Young. The Hong Kong resident was a regular in the World Touring Car Championship. He was driving the No. 69 Speed Merchants Porsche GT3 Cup, usually piloted by Christian Chia. O’Young was also competing in the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Canada this weekend, where he earned a victory. He dominated the final rounds of the Canadian Supercar Series – earning a pair of wins.
Four Super 2 victories in six starts gave Simon Dion-Viens the category title. The driver of the No. 17 Dion-Viens swept the opening rounds at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. In races three and four of the Canadian Supercar Series at ICAR, he was bested by Henri Sicotte. Back on form at Trois-Rivieres, Dion-Viens qualified second fastest in Super 2 for round five but claimed the victory. In the finale, he led start to finish.
Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Canada regular Marco Cirone made his only Canadian Supercar Series start at Trois-Rivieres. Cirone, driving the No. 88 Porsche GT3 Cup, qualified second fastest for the weekend’s first contest and finished in the runner-up position. Based on Saturday’s lap time, he started the finale in third-place. After losing a spot to Jean-Frederic Laberge, Cirone regained the position and finished third.
Another Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Canada competitor participating in his first Canadian Supercar event was Etienne Borgeat. Borgeat didn’t take part in the qualifying session for Saturday’s contest and started from the rear of the field. He failed to finish the race but set a time that put on the outside of the front row for round six. The driver of the No. 2 Porsche GT3 Cup maintained his position and finished second.
Dummondville’s Andre Belzile captured the 2013 Canadian Supercar Series Super 1 championship. Belzile did not have a spectacular record, but he scored enough points to earn the crown. The driver of the No. 241 Andre Gaudet Autosport Porsche GT3 Cup did not participate in the opening rounds at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park but collected second, third and fifth-place finishes in the remaining contests.
The only person to ‘get the measure’ of the new Super 2 champion, Simon Dion-Viens, was Henri Sicotte. Sicotte joined the Canadian Supercar Series in round three at ICAR. At that event, the driver of the No. 721 Chevrolet Corvette Z06 captured victories on Saturday and Sunday. At Trois-Rivieres, he qualified fourth in class for race one and finished second. On Sunday, Sicotte scored another runner-up result.

1S1Darryl O'YoungPorsche GT3 Cup25-
2S1Marco CironePorsche GT3 Cup25-
3S1Andre BelzilePorsche GT3 Cup25-
4S1Tony FerraroFerrari F430 Challenge25-
5S1Louis-Philippe MontourDodge Viper ACR-X25-
6S2Simon Dion-ViensChevrolet Corvette C525-
7S1Marc MontourDodge Viper ACR-X25-
8S2Henri SicotteChevrolet Corvette Z0624-
9S2Gabor FotiPorsche GT3 Cup24-
10S2Pascal CarreBMW 330i24-
11S1Etienne BorgeatPorsche GT3 Cup10-
12S1Jean-Frederick LabergePorsche GT3 Cup5-
-S1Pierre PeloquinPorsche GT3 Cup-Did Not Start
-S1Perry BortolottiPorsche GT3 Cup-Did Not Start
-S1Anthony MantellaPorsche GT3 Cup-Did Not Start
-S2Marc-Antoine CamirandBMW M Z3 Coupe-Did Not Start

1S1Darryl O'YoungPorsche GT3 Cup27-
2S1Etienne BorgeatPorsche GT3 Cup27-
3S1Marco CironePorsche GT3 Cup27-
4S1Anthony MantellaPorsche GT3 Cup27-
5S1Andre BelzilePorsche GT3 Cup27-
6S2Simon Dion-ViensChevrolet Corvette C525-
7S2Henri SicotteChevrolet Corvette Z0624-
8S2Pascal CarreBMW 330i24-
9S1Jean-Frederick LabergePorsche GT3 Cup15Did Not Finish
10S2Marc-Antoine CamirandBMW M Z3 Coupe0Did Not Finish
-S1Tony FerraroFerrari F430 Challenge-Did Not Start
-S1Louis-Philippe MontourDodge Viper ACR-X-Did Not Start
-S1Marc MontourDodge Viper ACR-X-Did Not Start
-S2Gabor FotiPorsche GT3 Cup-Did Not Start
-S1Pierre PeloquinPorsche GT3 Cup-Did Not Start
-S1Perry BortolottiPorsche GT3 Cup-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020

Return to home page.