In 2013, the Pro Formula Mazda Championship entered its twenty-third season as one of North America's premier open-wheel driver development series. Series graduates have gone on to race in F1, Indy Cars, NASCAR, American Le Mans and Grand-Am.

The big news in the off-season was that the series ended its relationship with Goodyear and Cooper became the series' official tire supplier.

After several years the Mazda open-wheel championship replaced its race-proven Star Mazda with a new model. Beginning in 2004, competitors began racing a Pro Formula Mazda. It has proven to be a safe and reliable car.

The Pro Formula Mazda is manufactured by the Van Diemen / Elan Motorsports Technologies group. The chassis is a carbon-fiber tub with fiberglass bodywork. The front and rear suspension is a pushrod setup with two-way adjustable shock absorbers. Stopping the Pro Formula Mazda are four-piston calipers with vented rotors. It is powered by a 240-horsepower Renesis Mazda engine, also used in the road-going version of the Mazda RX-8. Bolted to the motor is a six-speed sequential transmission with a no-lift shift.

The opening round of the 2013 Pro Formula Mazda Championship was held at Circuit of the Americas and ended in early-October at Houston, Texas.

  • March 1 – Circuit of the Americas
  • March 2 – Circuit of the Americas
  • March 23 – St. Petersburg
  • March 24 – St. Petersburg
  • May 25 – Lucas Oil Raceway
  • June 15 - Milwaukee Mile
  • July 13 - Streets of Toronto
  • July 14 - Streets of Toronto
  • July 20 - Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • July 21 - Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • August 3 – Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • August 4 – Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • August 10 – Trois-Rivieres
  • August 11 – Trois-Rivieres
  • October 5 – Reliant Park
  • October 6 – Reliant Park

In addition to the overall title, championships were on the line for:

  • Expert Championship - Drivers aged 30 and older
  • Team Championship

The penultimate weekend, rounds thirteen and fourteen, of the 2013 Pro Mazda Championship presented by Cooper Tires was held at the Circuit Trois-Rivieres. Drivers would compete in two races around the ten-turn 1.521-mile temporary street course.

To no one’s surprise, Matthew Brabham swept the weekend’s proceedings at Trois-Rivieres. The No. 83 Andretti Autosport Pro Formula Mazda driver collected two poles and victories. In the previous rounds at Mid-Ohio, Brabham established a new record of nine wins which grew to eleven at Trois-Rivieres. More importantly, he has secured the 2013 title with two races remaining in the season.
Chasing Matthew Brabham on Saturday and Sunday at Trois-Rivieres was Diego Ferreira driving the No. 57 Juncos Racing Pro Formula Mazda. Ferreira started Saturday’s contest in second place. During the race, he lost the position to his teammate Scott Anderson but regained it four laps later and finished 10.8-seconds behind Brabham. In the finale, Ferreira repeated his performance, finishing 5.5-seconds behind Brabham.
Juan Piedrahita drove the No. 9 JDC MotorSports Pro Formula Mazda. During the qualifying session for race one at Trois-Rivieres, Piedrahita recorded the fourth-fastest time. The Columbian found himself in a tight battle and passed Scott Anderson for third on lap-11. Even with pressure from Anderson, he held the position to the checker. Piedrahita qualified and finished third on Sunday, despite a challenge from Spencer Pigot.
Juncos Racing’s Scott Anderson drove the No. 44 Pro Formula Mazda. After several near misses, Anderson earned his first podium result at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. It appeared he might collect another at Trois-Rivieres when he qualified third for Saturday’s contest. However, it was not to be; after battling with Juan Piedrahita, Anderson finished fourth. In the finale, a last-lap pass gave him another fourth-place result.
The 2013 Pro Mazda Championship podium at Trois-Rivieres. Standing on the top step of the rostrum for a record-breaking eleventh time is the new champion from Andretti Autosport, Matthew Brabham. On the left side is the runner-up finisher for rounds thirteen and fourteen, Diego Ferreira. Completing the podium and finishing third on Saturday and Sunday is Juan Piedrahita from JDC MotorSports.

11Matthew BrabhamPro Formula Mazda40-
22Diego FerreiraPro Formula Mazda40-
34Juan PiedrahitaPro Formula Mazda40-
43Scott AndersonPro Formula Mazda40-
58Spencer PigotPro Formula Mazda40-
65Shelby BlackstockPro Formula Mazda40-
76Lloyd ReadPro Formula Mazda40-
810Stefan RzadzinskiPro Formula Mazda40-
911Julia BallarioPro Formula Mazda39-
107Kyle KaiserPro Formula Mazda39-
119Zack MeyerPro Formula Mazda39-
1212Bobby EberlePro Formula Mazda39-
1313Jay HorakPro Formula Mazda39-

11Matthew BrabhamPro Formula Mazda40-
22Diego FerreiraPro Formula Mazda40-
33Juan PiedrahitaPro Formula Mazda40-
44Scott AndersonPro Formula Mazda40-
55Spencer PigotPro Formula Mazda40-
67Zack MeyerPro Formula Mazda40-
711Julia BallarioPro Formula Mazda40-
812Bobby EberlePro Formula Mazda39-
913Jay HorakPro Formula Mazda39-
108Lloyd ReadPro Formula Mazda24-
116Shelby BlackstockPro Formula Mazda0Did Not Finish
129Stefan RzadzinskiPro Formula Mazda0Did Not Finish
1310Kyle KaiserPro Formula Mazda0Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.