The Infiniti / Indy Pro Series made its debut in mid-2002 with an inaugural season of seven races run in conjunction with the Indy Car Racing Series. In 2008 the championship was renamed the Firestone Indy Lights Series when Firestone tires became the primary sponsor.

The twelve-race schedule kicked off at Saint Petersburg and concluded in early October at Fontana, California.

  • St. Petersburg 100 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • Legacy Indy Lights 100 - Barber Motorsports Park
  • Long Beach 100 - Long Beach Street Circuit
  • Firestone Freedom 100 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Milwaukee 100 – Milwaukee Mile
  • SUKUP 100 - Iowa Speedway
  • Pocono 100 - Pocono Raceway
  • Toronto 100 - Exhibition Place, Toronto
  • Mid-Ohio 100 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • Grand Prix of Baltimore – Streets of Baltimore
  • Grand Prix of Houston - Reliant Park
  • Lefty's Kids Club 100 – Auto Club Speedway

Drivers compete in the Dallara IPS, designed and manufactured for the Infiniti Pro Series. The open-wheel, single-seat racer is equipped with a ground-effect underbody and outboard wings front and rear. The monocoque chassis is constructed using carbon fiber and composites. The Dallara has a minimum weight of 1,430 pounds, which includes all lubricants and coolants used during the event, but does not include fuel or the driver.

Firestone Firehawk racing tires are mounted on 15-inch diameter x 10 front and 15-inch diameter x 14 rear wheels.

The car is powered by a 3.5-liter Infiniti Q45 engine which produces approximately 450 horsepower and is fitted to a Ricardo six-forward gear transmission with a sequential shifter.

Infiniti Pro Series costs are tightly controlled by the Indy Racing League, with the Dallara IPS costing $137,900 (including the data acquisition system).

The 2013 Firestone Lights Series was into the second half of the season when teams arrived at Toronto’s Exhibition Place for round eight. Drivers would compete on the eleven-turn 1.755-mile temporary street circuit in a fifty-lap contest.

Jack Hawksworth made his series debut with a win in round one at Saint Petersburg. In addition to the victory, he had two podium results before the teams arrived in Toronto. However, Hawksworth had a couple of accidents which left him fifth in the title chase. Toronto would be his best weekend to date. Hawksworth qualified on the pole, set the fastest race lap and led flag-to-flag, which moved him to fourth in the standings.
Unlike his two previous seasons, Peter Dempsey competed in each round of 2013. The driver of the No. 7 Belardi Auto Racing Dallara IPS grabbed a win at Indianapolis and had a runner-up result at Saint Petersburg. His season was similar to Jack Hawksworth with a couple of accidents; however, Toronto was not one of those. Dempsey qualified a disappointing seventh but charged to a second-place finish.
Columbian Garry Chaves opened his rookie season with an accident in Saint Petersburg while contending for the lead. However, after this false start, he never finished worse than fourth place and collected four podium results before round eight. In Toronto, Chaves qualified third, driving the No. 7 CO Columbia Dalllara IPS for Schmidt Peterson / Curb-Agajanian and finished in the same position.
Leading the 2013 Firestone Indy Lights Series by four markers was Carlos Munoz, who jumped to the top of the standings with a victory in the previous round at Pocono Raceway. In Toronto, he was gridded on the outside of the front row in the No. 26 Andretti Autosport prepared Dallara IPS. Chaves lost two positions and finished fourth at the start but increased his championship lead to eight points over Sage Karam.
In 2009 Juan Pablo Garcia competed in his first Firestone Indy Lights Series event. It wasn’t until 2012 that Garcia competed full-time and finished ninth in the final standings. He was campaigning the No. 2 International Trucks / Euclid Chemical Dallara IPS this year. Garcia was the fifth fastest during the qualifying session. He would equal his best result of the year, a fifth place which he collected at the Milwaukee Mile.

11Jack HawksworthDallara IPS / Infiniti50-
27Peter DempseyDallara IPS / Infiniti50-
33Gabby ChavesDallara IPS / Infiniti50-
42Carlos MunozDallara IPS / Infiniti50-
55Juan Pablo GarciaDallara IPS / Infiniti50-
69Sage KaramDallara IPS / Infiniti49-
78Zach VeachDallara IPS / Infiniti48-
84Jorge GoncalvezDallara IPS / Infiniti48-
96Matthew DiLeoDallara IPS / Infiniti22Electrical

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.