The 2013 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship schedule consists of seven weekends; for a total of fourteen contests. The points system remains unchanged for this year - a competitor’s two worst finishes will be dropped from their total - meaning a driver is collecting points in twelve of their best fourteen races.

The season kicks off in May at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (CTMP) during the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. The next two rounds are part of the DAC Trillium Trophy Races at Shannonville Motorsport Park. Then the series returns to CTMP for the BARC Grand Prix of Ontario Races. In late July, competitors make their third of five visits to CTMP during the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy Races. Then teams travel to Calabogie Motorsports Park for rounds nine and ten. The penultimate weekend of competition occurs in mid-September as part of the BEMC Indian Summer Races. The CASC-OR Celebration of Motorsport ends the road racing season in Ontario and determines class champions.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by one of two engine options - a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine or the 1.5-liter HPD Honda L15A7. Both motors produce approximately 120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs. Teams are required to use a spec tire – the Toyo Proxes R888.

Drivers collect championship points in one of two groups.

  • FFA – This category is for newer chassis’ built between 1995 and 2013.
  • FFB – This group is for cars constructed between 1994 and older.

The manufacture date for the individual car and not the model is used to determine the year split and if a vehicle is categorized as FFA or FFB.

The Celebration of Motorsport on the weekend of September 28-29 closed out the 2013 Canadian Automobile Sport Club – Ontario Region road racing season. It also meant that class champions would be crowned for the FFA and FFB categories. Drivers would compete in two heat races around Canadian Tire Motorsport Park’s ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

Halfway through the 2013 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship, Jesse Lazare left Britain West Motorsports to drive the No. 4 Piper DF5 with Brian Graham Racing. Lazare qualified fourth fastest for the penultimate race of the season, but Max Hanratty and Steve Bamford’s retirements allowed him to capture a victory. On Sunday, he started and finished in the sixth position. Lazare would place third in the final standings.
During the 2013 season, Jack Mitchell, Jr. amassed 884-points which would be enough to secure the Toyo Tires F1600 Championship. Mitchell’s year included ten podium results, of which four were victories. The driver of the No. 90 Exclusive Autosport prepared Spectrum 014 ended the year with a runner-up finish on Saturday and a ninth-place finish on Sunday after starting in the nineteenth position.
Joining Exclusive Autosport for his series debut was Tristan DeGrand. DeGrand had an inauspicious start to the championship, qualifying eighth overall and retiring two laps from the end of the contest for a fifteenth-place finish. On Sunday, the driver of the No. 92 Spectrum 014 bounced back and qualified on the outside of the front row. After a tremendous battle with Thomas McGregor, DeGrand grabbed the win.
The final weekend of the 2013 Toyo Tires F1600 series was ‘smooth sailing’ for the new FFB champion Craig Willis. Willis qualified eleventh overall for the weekend’s first contest driving the No. 99 AERO II. He moved into the class lead for the victory late in the race and finished an incredible fourth overall. In the finale, he went unchallenged and led flag-to-flag for his ninth class win of the year.
Another competitor ending his season on a ‘high note’ was Thomas McGregor. McGregor was seventh fastest during the qualifying session for Saturday’s race. Unfortunately, the driver of the No. 93 Spectrum 014 vanished from the lap-chart on the eleventh circuit. McGregor started fifth in the finale but moved into the lead late in the contest and after a spirited battle with Tristan DeGrand, he finished second.
Zacharie Robichon would finish second in the 2013 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship – sixty-six-points behind the new titleholder, Jack Mitchell, Jr. Robichon qualified second fastest for the first race at the Celebration of Motorsport weekend. Passes by Jesse Lazare and Mitchell relegated him to a third-place finish. On Sunday, he repeated the previous day’s result, driving the No. 3 Brian Graham Racing Piper DF5.
After previously competing in two full seasons, Steve Bamford only participated in three Toyo Tires F1600 weekends this year. In his first start of 2013, he drove a Brian Graham Racing Piper DF5. But for the remainder of his campaign, Bamford returned in his familiar Mygale SJ-11 and won the first race. In the final two contests of 2013, he qualified on the pole but retired in race one and finished fourth in the finale.

14A-1Jesse LazarePiper DF515-
25A-2Jack Mitchell Jr.Spectrum 01415-
32A-3Zacharie RobichonPiper DF515-
411B-1Craig WillisAERO II15-
512A-4Jeffery KingsleyPiper DF515-
614B-2Graham LobbanVan Diemen RF9415-
76B-3Michael AdamsVan Diemen RF9215-
8-B-4Amy CastellReynard SF9015-
913A-5Marc BisharaVan Diemen RF9915-
1016B-5Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF9215-
1117B-6Mike LeeLola T-540E15-
1215B-7Jean-Guy FournierVan Diemen RF9415-
1318B-8Kieran MurphyVan Diemen RF9115-
1419B-9Andrew CelovskyReynard 82FF14-
158A-6Tristan DeGrandSpectrum 01413-
1620B-10Ted MichalosCrossle 40F13-
173A-7Max HanrattySpectrum 01411-
187A-8Thomas McGregorSpectrum 01411-
191A-9Steve BamfordMygale SJ-1111-
209B-10Andrew MasonVan Diemen RF9010-
2110B-2Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF933Did Not Finish

12A-1Tristan DeGrandSpectrum 01413-
25A-2Thomas McGregorSpectrum 01413-
33A-3Zacharie RobichonPiper DF513-
41A-4Steve BamfordMygale SJ-1113-
54A-5Max HanrattySpectrum 01413-
66A-6Jesse LazarePiper DF513-
78B-1Craig WillisAERO II13-
813B-2Graham LobbanVan Diemen RF9413-
919A-7Jack Mitchell Jr.Spectrum 01413-
1010B-3Andrew MasonVan Diemen RF9013-
1112A-8Jeffery KingsleyPiper DF513-
1211B-4Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9313-
139A-9Marc BisharaVan Diemen RF9913-
1414B-5Amy CastellReynard SF9013-
1518B-6Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF9213-
1616B-7Mike LeeLola T-540E13-
1715B-8Jean-Guy FournierVan Diemen RF9413-
1817B-9Kieran MurphyVan Diemen RF9113-
1920B-10Andrew CelovskyReynard 82FF13-
207B-11Michael AdamsVan Diemen RF923Did Not Finish
-21BTed MichalosCrossle 40F-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.