The 2013 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship schedule consists of seven weekends; for a total of fourteen contests. The points system remains unchanged for this year - a competitor’s two worst finishes will be dropped from their total - meaning a driver is collecting points in twelve of their best fourteen races.

The season kicks off in May at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (CTMP) during the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. The next two rounds are part of the DAC Trillium Trophy Races at Shannonville Motorsport Park. Then the series returns to CTMP for the BARC Grand Prix of Ontario Races. In late July, competitors make their third of five visits to CTMP during the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy Races. Then teams travel to Calabogie Motorsports Park for rounds nine and ten. The penultimate weekend of competition occurs in mid-September as part of the BEMC Indian Summer Races. The CASC-OR Celebration of Motorsport ends the road racing season in Ontario and determines class champions.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by one of two engine options - a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine or the 1.5-liter HPD Honda L15A7. Both motors produce approximately 120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs. Teams are required to use a spec tire – the Toyo Proxes R888.

Drivers collect championship points in one of two groups.

  • FFA – This category is for newer chassis’ built between 1995 and 2013.
  • FFB – This group is for cars constructed between 1994 and older.

The manufacture date for the individual car and not the model is used to determine the year split and if a vehicle is categorized as FFA or FFB.

Races five and six of the 2013 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship were conducted at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park during BARC’s Grand Prix of Ontario. Drivers would compete in two heats around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

Second-year series competitor Jack Mitchell, Jr. drove with the Brian Graham Racing team last season, but this year he joined Exclusive Autosport. Mitchell opened 2013 with a runner-up finish in the No. 90 Spectrum 014. After skipping the Shannonville event, he returned to Canadian Tire Motorsport Park for rounds five and six. After early battles in each contest, Mitchell would capture a pair of victories.
Thomas McGregor also missed the Shannonville weekend as the Exclusive Autosport team decided to skip the event. McGregor opened his season with a pair of fourth-place finishes driving the No. 93 Spectrum 014. He was the fastest qualifier for round five but lost the lead to his teammate, Jack Mitchell, Jr., on the first lap and finished in the runner-up spot. On Sunday, he started third but retired after three laps.
The Toyo Tires F1600 Championship points leader heading into the BARC Grand Prix of Ontario weekend was Zacharie Rochichon. Rochichon’s record was four podium results in four starts, of which two were victories. In round five at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, his streak came to an end after qualifying and finishing in the fourth position. The next day, Robichon started fourth and claimed a second-place finish.
Graham Lobban didn’t make his series debut until rounds three and four at Shannonville, where he earned an impressive pair of runner-up results in the FFB category. In the first race of the weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, he started tenth overall, but the retirement of some quicker cars and a pass on the class pole-sitter, Mike Gayowski, earned Lobban the victory. On Sunday, he finished third.
Brian Graham Racing’s Jesse Lazare went for ‘zero to hero’ in the opening rounds of the season. A crash on Saturday was followed by a victory on Sunday. In the first race of the weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, Lazare qualified and finished third. The next day, he was gridded fifth for the start of the contest. Lazare crossed the finish line in third; however, he was disqualified for making an unsafe pass.
Mike Gayowski was another driver that competed in the opening rounds but decided to forego the Shannonville Motorsport Park weekend. The driver of the No. 59 Flagship Racing Services prepared Van Diemen RF92 qualified on the FFB pole for Saturday’s contest but lost positions to Graham Lobban and Steve Bodrug and finished third. After starting first in class the next, Gayowski went flag-to-flag for the class victory.
Multi-time Ontario Region Formula Ford champion Shanzi Jantzi returned for another season in the No. 71 Maizex Seeds sponsored Van Diemen RF02. The year didn’t get off to a good start, but he claimed a pair of runner-up results at rounds three and four. In the first race at the BARC Grand Prix of Ontario, Jantzi qualified and finished eighth. On Sunday, he bounced back with a third-place result after starting seventh.

12A-1Jack Mitchell Jr.Spectrum 0149-
21A-2Thomas McGregorSpectrum 0149-
33A-3Jesse LazareVan Diemen RF039-
44A-4Zacharie RobichonPiper DF59-
510B-1Graham LobbanVan Diemen RF949-
614B-2Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF939-
77B-3Mike GayowskiVan Diemen RF929-
88A-5Shane JantziVan Diemen RF029-
911B-4Connor WaglandVan Diemen RF919-
1013A-6Serge LacroixVan Diemen RF019-
116A-7Marc BisharaVan Diemen RF999-
1212B-5Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF929-
1317A-8Jason BedassePiper DF59-
1416B-6Jean-Guy FournierVan Diemen RF949-
1518B-7Mike LeeLola T-540E9-
1619B-8Andrew CelovskyReynard 82FF9-
1715B-9Kieran MurphyVan Diemen RF919-
1820B-10Bill TebbuttVan Diemen RF829-
1921B-11Amy CastellZink Z109-
2023B-12Ross SmithReynard FF9-
215A-9Max HanrattySpectrum 0140Did Not Finish
2222B-13Sean GocherReynard 82SF13Did Not Finish
-9ASteve BamfordPiper DF513Did Not Start
--BCraig WillisAERO II13Did Not Start

11A-1Jack Mitchell Jr.Spectrum 01412-
24A-2Zacharie RobichonPiper DF512-
37A-3Shane JantziVan Diemen RF0212-
46B-1Mike GayowskiVan Diemen RF9212-
59B-2Craig WillisAERO II12-
612B-3Graham LobbanVan Diemen RF9412-
711A-4Steve BamfordPiper DF512-
810A-5Marc BisharaVan Diemen RF9912-
914B-4Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9312-
108B-5Connor WaglandVan Diemen RF9112-
1113A-6Serge LacroixVan Diemen RF0112-
1215A-7Jason BedassePiper DF512-
135A-8Max HanrattySpectrum 01412-
1418B-6Kieran MurphyVan Diemen RF9112-
1519B-7Mike LeeLola T-540E12-
1620B-8Andrew CelovskyReynard 82FF12-
1721B-9Bill TebbuttVan Diemen RF8212-
1822B-10Amy CastellZink Z1012-
193A-9Thomas McGregorSpectrum 0144Did Not Finish
2016B-11Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF924Did Not Finish
2123B-12Ross SmithReynard FF3Did Not Finish
-17BJean-Guy FournierVan Diemen RF94-Did Not Start
--BSean GocherReynard 82SF-Did Not Start
-5AJesse LazareVan Diemen RF03-Disqualified

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.