The 2013 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship schedule consists of seven weekends; for a total of fourteen contests. The points system remains unchanged for this year - a competitor’s two worst finishes will be dropped from their total - meaning a driver is collecting points in twelve of their best fourteen races.

The season kicks off in May at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (CTMP) during the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. The next two rounds are part of the DAC Trillium Trophy Races at Shannonville Motorsport Park. Then the series returns to CTMP for the BARC Grand Prix of Ontario Races. In late July, competitors make their third of five visits to CTMP during the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy Races. Then teams travel to Calabogie Motorsports Park for rounds nine and ten. The penultimate weekend of competition occurs in mid-September as part of the BEMC Indian Summer Races. The CASC-OR Celebration of Motorsport ends the road racing season in Ontario and determines class champions.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by one of two engine options - a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine or the 1.5-liter HPD Honda L15A7. Both motors produce approximately 120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs. Teams are required to use a spec tire – the Toyo Proxes R888.

Drivers collect championship points in one of two groups.

  • FFA – This category is for newer chassis’ built between 1995 and 2013.
  • FFB – This group is for cars constructed between 1994 and older.

The manufacture date for the individual car and not the model is used to determine the year split and if a vehicle is categorized as FFA or FFB.

The 2013 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship’s opening rounds were held during the British Empire Motor Club’s 63rd Spring Trophy Races at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Drivers would compete in two heat races around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

Qualifying on the pole for the opening round of the 2013 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship was Scott Hargrove in the No. 4 Brian Graham Motorsports Piper DF5. The newcomer’s first series race could be described as ‘baptism by fire’ as he exchanged the lead with Jesse Lazare, Zach Robichon and Jack Mitchell before claiming the victory. On Sunday, Hargrove finished second after leading most of the contest.
Jesse Lazare, driving the No. 21 Britain West Motorsports Van Diemen RF03, qualified on the outside of the front row for the weekend’s first contest. However, he would probably want to forget Saturday’s race. Lazare was leading when he crashed at Moss Corner on lap-7. With repairs made for the finale, he started in the third position and a last-lap pass on Scott Hargrove gave Lazare the victory.
Brian Graham Motorsports entered three Piper DF5 in the opening weekend of the Toyo Tires F1600 Championship. The No. 5 Piper was piloted by Zacharie Robichon. Robichon made his series debut in the season finale last year. He qualified and finished third in an exciting first round of the championship. In race two, Robichon started second but could not hold-off a hard-charging Jesse Lazare and finished third.
In his rookie season, Craig Willis captured two category B victories in just four starts driving the No. 99 AIM Motorsports prepared AERO II. During the qualifying session for Saturday’s race, Willis was the tenth fastest and started on the class pole. He would lead the division flag-to-flag. In the final event of the weekend, Willis qualified second in his group but passed the pole-sitter, Mike Gayowski, early for the win.
A new team from Saskatchewan called Exclusive Autosport joined the series this season. They fielded Spectrum 014s for Jack Mitchell, Jr., Thomas McGregor and Maxwell Hanratty. The No. 90 Spectrum was driven by Mitchell, who was entering his second year in the championship. He qualified fifth for race one and moved up the order for a runner-up result. On Sunday, Mitchell finished fifth after starting in the seventh spot.
This season Michael Gayowski was campaigning the No. 59 Flagship Racing Services Van Diemen RF92 that Michael Adams used to win the 2011 FFB championship and contributed to his FFA title. Gayowski was the twelfth fastest in the qualifying session for Saturday’s contest. In the race, he finished eleven overall and second in class. Gayowski started race two on the FFB pole but could not hold-off the winner, Craig Willis.

11A-1Scott HargrovePiper DF513-
25A-2Jack Mitchell Jr.Spectrum 01413-
33A-3Zacharie RobichonPiper DF513-
44A-4Thomas McGregorSpectrum 01413-
56A-5Dalton KellettVan Diemen RF0013-
67A-6Shane JantziVan Diemen RF0213-
79A-7Maxwell HanrattySpectrum 01413-
88A-8Gord RossVan Diemen RF0113-
910B-1Craig WillisAERO II13-
1011A-9Jean-Philippe JodoinVan Diemen RF0313-
1112B-2Mike GayowskiVan Diemen RF9213-
1213A-10Chase PelletierVan Diemen RF0113-
1316B-3Connor WaglandVan Diemen RF9113-
1414B-4Kieran MurphyVan Diemen RF9113-
1515B-5Mike LeeLola T-540E13-
1618A-11Jason BedassePiper DF513-
1717B-6Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF9213-
1819B-7Andrew CelovskyReynard 82FF13-
1920B-8Amy CastellZink Z1012-
2021B-9Ted MichalosCrossle 40F12-
212AJesse LazareVan Diemen RF037Did Not Finish

13A-1Jesse LazareVan Diemen RF0311-
21A-2Scott HargrovePiper DF511-
32A-3Zacharie RobichonPiper DF511-
44A-4Thomas McGregorSpectrum 01411-
57A-5Jack Mitchell Jr.Spectrum 01411-
68A-6Maxwell HanrattySpectrum 01411-
79A-7Gord RossVan Diemen RF0111-
812B-1Craig WillisAERO II11-
913A-10Chase PelletierVan Diemen RF0111-
1010A-9Jean-Philippe JodoinVan Diemen RF0311-
1111B-2Mike GayowskiVan Diemen RF9211-
1217B-3Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF9211-
1318B-4Mike LeeLola T-540E11-
1419B-5Andrew CelovskyReynard 82FF11-
1521B-6Ted MichalosCrossle 40F11-
1615A-10Jason BedassePiper DF58Did Not Finish
1720B-7Amy CastellZink Z108Did Not Finish
186A-11Shane JantziVan Diemen RF024Did Not Finish
1916B-8Kieran MurphyVan Diemen RF911Did Not Finish
55A-12Dalton KellettVan Diemen RF000Did Not Finish
-14BConnor WaglandVan Diemen RF91-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.