The B-Spec category was launched in 2012 and quickly embraced by sanctioning bodies across North America. The participating carmakers want B-Spec to be the most affordable class for entry-level racers.

B-Spec features showroom-stock race cars with a stock engine and chassis. As a result, all vehicle adjustments must be made within the manufacturer’s specifications. The cars have a competition roll cage, racing seat and other safety equipment, and manufacturer-approved suspension parts, tires and wheels. Weight and other variables are used to balance the performance of different models.

An extensive list of cars qualifies for this class – Mazda 2, Mini Cooper, Honda Fit, Chevrolet Sonic, Fiat 500, Ford Fiesta, Nissan Versa and Toyota Yaris.

The Grand American Road Racing sanctioning body created a B-Spec division with support from Total Energies called the TOTAL Performance Showcase. Six weekends would feature thirty to forty-five-minute races for the class.

The inaugural event was held at Homestead-Miami Speedway in April and the season concluded in late September at Lime Rock Park.

  • April 27-29 - Homestead-Miami Speedway
  • May 11-13 - New Jersey Motorsports Park
  • June 8-9 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • June 29-July 1 - Watkins Glen International
  • September 7-9 - Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
  • September 28-29 - Lime Rock Park

Round four of the 2012 TOTAL Performance Showcase series was held at Watkins Glen International during the Sahlen’s Six-Hour weekend. Drivers would compete in a forty-five-minute contest around the eleven-turn 3.337-mile road course.

Eight competitors line up on the false grid at Watkins Glen International for round four of the TOTAL Performance Showcase. The front of the grid is occupied by a pair of Ford Fiestas. On the pole is the No. 18 ICY Racing Fiesta of David Rosenblum. Rosenblum is a veteran of showroom stock racing and formed Inner City Youth (ICY) Racing to aid disadvantaged youth. Starting beside Roseblum is Todd Buras.
Qualifying on the final row, seventh place, was 18-year-old Bobby Kennedy. Kennedy drove the No. 51 Kennedy Kars Daytona / I.M.R. Ford Fiesta prepared by Irish Mikes Racing. He started his charge to the front early and as the forty-five-minute contest came to a conclusion, Kennedy was on the tail of the leader, Todd Buras. On the final lap, he made a pass for the lead and won by a margin of 0.070-seconds.
The other Irish Mikes Racing prepared Ford Fiesta was driven by Todd Buras. The No. 50 Fiesta received backing from I.M.R., Krispy Kreme Doughnuts and Traqmate. During the qualifying session, he recorded the second-fastest time. However, Buras passed the pole-sitter, David Rosenblum, on the opening lap, for first place. He held the top spot until the final lap when he was passed by his teammate, Bobby Kennedy.
Finishing third at Watkins Glen was Robbie Davis. After three races, Davis had three podium results, one of which was a victory at New Jersey Motorsports Park. He qualified fifth fastest for round four in the No. 37 Mini of Charleston Mini Cooper. Davis moved up the order with a pass on Ed Magner and the retirement of Brian Audet. He was able to run with the leaders and finish 0.995-seconds behind the winner, Bobby Kennedy.
The podium for round four of the 2012 TOTAL Performance Showcase at Watkins Glen International. In the center is the winner, Bobby Kennedy. Kennedy was the fourth different winner in as many races. On the right side is the runner-up and Kennedy’s Irish Mikes Racing teammate, Todd Buras. Completing the rostrum is the points leader and third-place finisher, Robbie Davis from Mini of Charleston.

17Bobby KennedyIrish Mikes Racing / Ford Fiesta18-
22Todd BurasIrish Mikes Racing / Ford Fiesta18-
35Robbie DavisMini of Charleston / Mini Cooper18-
43Ed MagnerWTF Engineering / Mini Cooper18-
56Chip HowellPioneer Racing / Mini Cooper18-
61David RosenblumICY Racing / Ford Fiesta18-
78Ashley NovackBerg Racing / Mazda 218-
84Brian AudetUrban East Racing / Mini Cooper2Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.