The British Empire Motor Club introduced a three-hour endurance race for Ontario GT Challenge competitors in 2005. The concept was popular with teams and attracted strong fields. It also drew a healthy contingent from Quebec.

The race was governed by many of the same rules used for the Sundown Grand Prix, with one major exception. Drivers entered in the three-hour enduro would score double points towards the Ontario GT Challenge championship. Results were posted for the contest at the 90 and 180-minute marks.

The classes for this year’s race were set by using a bracket system. Based on lap times, teams would be placed in one of six categories – GT1 (the fastest) to GT6 (the slowest).

  • Enduro GT1 – 1.27:999 and faster
  • Enduro GT2 – 1.28:000 and slower
  • Enduro GT3 – 1.32:000 and slower
  • Enduro GT4 – 1.36:000 and slower
  • Enduro GT5 – 1.41:000 and slower
  • Enduro GT6 – 1.45:000 and slower

If a team goes faster than the breakout time they are registered in, they will be penalized a lap.

This year’s BEMC three-hour endurance event attracted twenty-nine cars. It was held at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park’s ten-turn 2.459-mile road course during the BEMC Indian Summer Trophy Races weekend.

The defending overall and GT2 class winners, Russell Saulnier and Robert Mitten, returned for another attempt to grab victory. And, they succeeded driving the No. 42 Dodge Ram. In fact, the pair won their category in 2010. The Dodge started from the pole and traded the top spot early in the race with Martin Barkey. Before the contest’s halfway point, the pair moved into the lead and never relinquished the position.
Scott Tapley was one of several drivers that chose not to compete in the three-hour enduro with a teammate and was successful. Tapley was fourth fastest in the qualifying session and first in the GT3 category driving the No. 78 Chevrolet Silverado. The GT3 driver went unchallenged during the event and moved into second overall late in the contest. He finished four-laps behind Randy Saulnier and Robert Mitten.
Joe Chan and Paul Taylor were veterans of the local endurance scene having previously competed in BEMC’s 3-Hour Enduro and the Sundown Grand Prix. Like Saulnier and Mitten, they won their category last year and were also victorious in 2008. The pair were sharing the No. 101 Chevrolet Cobalt and started seventh overall and first in GT4. The duo were the class leaders at the halfway mark and won by 38.311-seconds.
Another veteran of Ontario amateur endurance events was Robert Burgess. This year he teamed up with Gino Vendittelli driving the No. 145 Porsche 944S, which competed in the GT5 category. They were sixteenth fastest when the qualifying session ended and would start second in class. The duo moved into first place at the ninety-minute mark and finished ahead of the early leader, Andrew Cordeiro, by one lap.
Richard Foegele and Matt Graham had class victories in the Sundown Grand Prix and won last year’s GT5 category at BEMC’s 3-Hour Enduro. They returned to defend their title in Foegele’s familiar No. 59 Mazda MX-5. The duo challenged the leader, Andrew Cordeiro, for the first half of the race but slipped down the order and crossed the finish line fourth in class.
Another team that was in contention during the first half of the race was the No. 171 Mazda RX-7 shared by Mike Dolan, Ted Rance and Patrick Dolan. The team was competing in the GT2 category and started third overall. Ninety-minutes into the contest, the trio was able to maintain their position – third overall and in class. Before the checkered flag, the team lost a lap and would finish in the eighth position.
A series of misfortunes prevented Martin Barkey from securing a victory. Barkey recorded the fastest time in qualifying driving the No. 110 Dodge Viper ACR-X. Unfortunately, he was disqualified and started at the back of the field. Barkey wasted no time moving forward but was excluded from the results for the first half of the race for a pass under the yellow and lost two laps for breakouts. He would finish fifth overall.
Gary Browne usually competed with David Shep in the Ontario endurance events, but he was driving solo at the BEMC 3-Hour Enduro. Browne was ninth fastest during qualifying and started third in GT4. At the mid-point of the race, he was second and one lap behind the class-leading Chevrolet Cobalt. Browne got his lap back in the final hour but could not catch the first-place team and finished second by a margin of 38.311-seconds.
Of the twenty-seven teams recording a time in the qualifying session, the No. 711 BMW 328is was the slowest. Sharing the BMW, which would compete in the GT3 category, were Robert Microys and Luc Bouchard. They moved up the lap chart as their rivals encountered issues. By half distance, the duo had moved from tenth to second in class. The team would finish third in GT3, albeit fourteen laps behind the winner.

11GT2Russell Saulnier / Robert MittenDodge Ram112-
24GT3Scott TapleyChevrolet Silverado108-
37GT4Paul Taylor / Joe ChanChevrolet Cobalt SS106-
49GT4Gary BrowneMazda Miata106-
59GT2Martin BarkeyDodge Viper ACR-X105-
620GT3Mark GawronskiHonda Civic105-
711GT4Marcus GlarnerBMW 328i103-
83GT2Mike Dolan / Ted Rance / Patrick DolanMazda RX-7103-
98GT4Tom Kwok / Gary KwokHonda Civic103-
1016GT5Gino Vendittelli / Robert BurgessPorsche 944 S102-
1113GT5Andrew CordeiroVolkswagen GTI101-
1212GT4Lloyd Service / Keith MinkhorstPorsche 944 S2100-
1321GT5David ShepNissan Sentra100-
1417GT5Richard Foegele / Matt GrahamMazda MX-5100-
1514GT4Evan Groenke / Eric NummelinSubaru Legacy GT Spec B98-
1615GT4Justin ChanNissan 240SX97-
1725GT5Peter Adamovits / Mike AdamovitsMazda Miata96-
1826GT3Robert Microys / Luc BouchardBMW 328is94-
1923GT4Jay Saslove / Bruce MackieFord Mustang94-
207GT3Bryan Rashleigh / Jonathan RashleighSubaru Legacy Spec B67Did Not Finish
212GT2Bob AttrellHyundai Genesis56Did Not Finish
2218GT4Michael Murillo / Andrew ElliottHonda Prelude53Did Not Finish
236GT3Serge TousignantBMW M342Did Not Finish
2419GT4Tom Calusic / Steven Scala / Frank HoAcura Integra Type R34Did Not Finish
2510GT3Mark Durrant / Ian MaddenVolkswagen Jetta29Did Not Finish
2627GT3John NobleBMW E46 32524Did Not Finish
2724GT3Alex HabrichPorsche 944T20Did Not Finish
2822GT3Allan Dewolfe / David Ryan / Andrew ElliottBMW 3287Did Not Finish
295GT3Paul MyersPorsche 9681Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.