In 2006, the International Motor Sport Association (IMSA) introduced IMSA Lites. The series was created to provide an opportunity for drivers competing at the amateur level to advance to a professional series or to prepare for a category such as the American Le Mans (ALMS). The mission is to develop future drivers and teams for the ALMS and is now called the IMSA Prototype Lites.

Initially, the series featured three classes of purpose-built sports racing prototypes – Lites 1, Lites 2 and Lites 3. However, Lites 3 entries were declining each year and the 2010 championship was conducted for the Lites 1 and 2 categories.

  • Lites 1 (L1) – This is the fastest category and is comprised exclusively of the Elan DP-02 manufactured by Elan Van Diemen. The DP-02 features a carbon fiber monocoque fitted with an aerodynamic package that includes a front splitter, diffuser and rear wing. The car is powered by a 2.3-liter four-cylinder Mazda MZR motor mounted to a six-speed sequential transmission.
  • Lites 2 (L2) – The West WR1000 is the chassis used in this category and is powered by a 1000-cc Kawasaki ZX engine. The car also uses an electronic paddle-shift system.

2012 IMSA Prototype Lites Championship consisted of seven race weekends, with doubleheaders at each event.

  • March 14-17 – Sebring International Raceway – 60th Mobil 1 12-Hours of Sebring
  • April 27-29 – Miller Motorsports Park – Utah Grand Prix
  • May 10-12 – Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca – American Le Mans Monterey
  • July 19-22 – Canadian Tire Motorsport Park – Grand Prix of Mosport
  • August 16-18 – Road America – Road Race Showcase
  • September 13-15 – Virginia International Raceway – American Le Mans Series at VIR
  • October 17-20 - Road Atlanta – 15th Annual Petit Le Mans

In addition to a driver’s championship, there are also titles for Teams and Constructors.

The fourth weekend of the 2012 IMSA Prototype Lites Championship was held at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park during the Grand Prix of Mosport event. Drivers would compete in two contests around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

The start of round seven for the 2012 IMSA Prototype Lites Championship was held at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Leading the field into corner one is the pole-sitter, Mikhail Goikhberg, driving the No. 10 JDC Motorsports Elan DP-02. Immediately behind Goikhberg is the third-fastest qualifier, Jon Brownson, in the No. 34 Elan DP-02. On the outside is the other front-row starter, Daniel Goldburg.
Mikhail Goikhberg collected a win earlier in the season at Miller Motorsports Park and was second in the L1 standings entering round seven and eight. He topped the timesheets in the second practice session and qualifying. Driving the No. 10 JDC Motorsports Elan DP-02, Goikhberg would lead the weekend’s first race flag-to-flag. On Sunday, he started second and was beaten by the points leader, Tristan Nunez.
Last season the L2 championship went to Canadian Robert Sabato. In fact, Sabato had wrapped up the title before the finale at Road Atlanta. In 2012, he didn’t enter his first start until rounds seven and eight at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Sabato qualified second in class for the weekend’s contest and claimed the victory. He started round eight on the class pole but was excluded from the results when he left impound early.
The pace lap for round eight and thirteen competitors enter corner nine at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. The L1 points leader Tristan Nunez is on the pole in the No. 16 Performance Tech Elan DP-02. Beside Nunez is Saturday’s winner, Mikhail Goikhberg driving the No. 10 JDC Motorsport Elan DP-02. Row two is occupied by the No. 55 Elan DP-02 of Gerry Kraut and Daniel Goldburg in a similar model.
The L1 points leader after six rounds was Tristan Nunez, whose record included five victories and an eighth-place finish. Nunez was fast in the two practice sessions but failed to record a qualifying time for round seven. The driver of the No. 16 Performance Tech Elan DP-02 started last but moved to the front and finished second by a margin of 0.634-seconds. In the finale, Nunez started on the pole and scored another win.
Newcomer Scott Tucker had four L2 wins in as many starts – he was not entered in rounds three and four at Miller Motorsports Park. Tucker drove the No. 5 Level Motorsports prepared West WR1000. He qualified on the class pole for the weekend’s first contest but finished behind the defending category titleholder, Robert Sabato. On Sunday, Tucker was gridded behind Sabato but would be victorious by a five-lap margin.

1L1Mikhail GoikhbergElan DP-0220-
2L1John BrownsonElan DP-0220-
3L1Tristan NunezElan DP-0220-
4L1Daniel GoldburgElan DP-0220-
5L1Gerry KrautElan DP-0220-
6L1Darryl ShoffElan DP-0220-
7L2Roberto SabatoWest WR100020-
8L1Jim GarrettElan DP-0219-
9L2Scott TuckerWest WR100019-
10L1Dan WeylandElan DP-0219-
11L2Alain NadalWest WR100019-
12L2Alan WilzigWest WR100011Did Not Finish
13L1Richie HoltElan DP-0210Did Not Finish
14L1Lamont HarrisElan DP-020Did Not Finish

1L1Tristan NunezElan DP-0232-
2L1Mikhail GoikhbergElan DP-0232-
3L1Gerry KrautElan DP-0232-
4L1Daniel GoldburgElan DP-0232-
5L1John BrownsonElan DP-0231-
6L2Scott TuckerWest WR100031-
7L1Richie HoltElan DP-0231-
8L1Darryl ShoffElan DP-0231-
9L1Dan WeylandElan DP-0227-
10L2Alain NadalWest WR100026-
11L2Alan WilzigWest WR10004Did Not Finish
12L1Jim GarrettElan DP-021Did Not Finish
13L2Roberto SabatoWest WR100011Excluded
14L1Lamont HarrisElan DP-02-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.