As was the case last year, the Ontario Formula Ford Championship schedule consists of seven weekends; for a total of fourteen contests. The points system remains unchanged for this year - a competitor’s two worst finishes will be dropped from their total - meaning a driver is collecting points in twelve of their best fourteen races.

The season kicks off in May at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (CTMP) during the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. The next two rounds are part of the DAC Trillium Trophy Races at Shannonville Motorsport Park. Then the series returns to CTMP for races five and six. In early August, competitors make their third of five visits to CTMP during the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy Races. After a one-year absence, teams travel to Calabogie Motorsports Park, where they will share a pair of races with Quebec’s Formula Tour 1600. The penultimate weekend of competition occurs in mid-September as part of the BEMC Indian Summer Races. The CASC-OR Celebration of Motorsport ends the season in Ontario and determines class champions.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by one of two engines - a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine or the 1.5-liter HPD Honda L15A7. Both motors produce approximately 120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs. Teams are required to use a spec tire – the Toyo Proxes R888.

For 2012 the FFC class was rolled into FFB. There were two groups for this season.

  • FFA – This category is for newer chassis’ built between 1995 and 2012.
  • FFB – This group is for cars constructed between 1994 and older.

The manufacture date for the individual car and not the model is used to determine the year split and if a vehicle is categorized as FFA or FFB.

On the weekend of September 29-30, the Celebration of Motorsport closed out the 2012 Canadian Automobile Sport Clubs – Ontario Region road racing season. It also meant that class champions would be crowned for the FFA and FFB categories. Drivers would compete in two heat races around CTMP’s ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

The first lap through corner three for the penultimate race of the Ontario Formula Ford Championship. Leading the field is the title contender Caitlin Johnston in the No. 68 Van Diemen RF97. Behind Johnston is the points leader, Michael Adams. She would lead the contest flag-to-flag for her third victory of the season. However, a thirteenth place finish on Sunday was not enough for her to win the title.
It would be another excellent weekend for Jesse Lazare. Lazare only completed one lap in qualifying for Saturday’s contest and started round thirteen last. He maneuvered his way through the field and grabbed the runner-up position - 3.791-seconds behind the winner, Caitlin Johnston. The next day, Lazare started on the pole and battled with Johnston and Michael Adams before claiming the victory.
Another rookie that ended his 2012 season on a high note was Jack Mitchell Jr. Mitchell had mixed results during the year, but a highlight was a victory in round five at CTMP. At the Celebration of Motorsport, he qualified fourth fastest for race one but finished seventh. On Sunday, Mitchell bounced back. After starting sixth, he drove through the field and finished 0.852-seconds behind his teammate, Jesse Lazare.
The top FFB competitor this weekend was Craig Willis. Willis was piloting a Canadian-built Aero II, a chassis which won the 1995, 1996, 2000 and 2002 Canadian Formula Ford Championships. He didn’t make his Ontario Formula Ford Championship debut until the penultimate weekend of the season, where he earned second and third-place finishes. At the Celebration of Motorsport, Willis collected two class victories.
It probably wasn’t the kind of championship-winning weekend that Michael Adams and his team had in mind. Adams competed in Saturday’s events driving the No. 59 Flagship Racing Services Van Diemen RF01. He qualified second fastest but retired on lap-6. Arrangements were made for him to drive David Clubine’s car in the finale. Adams started second and finished fourth, which was enough to secure the title.
The winner of the 2012 FFB championship was Paul Bollenbach. Bollenbach’s final weekend of the season was much better than his rival, Keith Lobban. The driver of the No. 7 Reynard FF90 qualified second in class for the penultimate race of the season and finished third in the FFB category. Lobban was involved in an incident and was unable to start Sunday’s contest, whereas Bollenbach captured another third.

11A-1Caitlin JohnstonVan Diemen RF9715-
218A-2Jesse LazareVan Diemen RF0315-
33A-3Shane JantziVan Diemen RF0215-
46A-4Sergio PasianVan Diemen RF0115-
57A-5Zacharie RobichonPiper DF515-
68A-6David ClubineVan Diemen RF0315-
74A-7Jack Mitchell Jr.Piper DF515-
85A-8Steve BamfordMygale SJ-1115-
912B-1Craig WillisAERO II15-
1010B-2Andrew MasonVan Diemen RF9015-
1111B-3Paul BollenbachReynard 90SF15-
129A-8Marc BisharaVan Diemen RF9915-
1315B-4Mike LeeLola T540E15-
1416B-5Kieran MurphyVanDiemen RF9114-
1513B-6Keith LobbanVan Diemen RF9410-
162A-9Michael AdamsVanDiemen RF016Did Not Finish
1717B-7Bruce KitchenVanDiemen RF922Did Not Finish
-14BAlex UrbinatiVan Diemen RF92-Did Not Start

11A-1Jesse LazareVan Diemen RF0315-
26A-2Jack Mitchell Jr.Piper DF515-
33A-3Sergio PasianVan Diemen RF0115-
42A-4Michael AdamsVanDiemen RF0115-
55A-5Steve BamfordMygale SJ-1115-
68A-5Zacharie RobichonPiper DF515-
77A-7David ClubineVan Diemen RF0115-
816A-9Shane JantziVan Diemen RF0215-
99B-1Craig WillisAERO II15-
1010B-2Andrew MasonVan Diemen RF9015-
1111A-10Marc BisharaVan Diemen RF9915-
1212B-3Paul BollenbachReynard 90SF15-
134A-11Caitlin JohnstonVan Diemen RF9714-
1413B-4Mike LeeLola T540E14-
1514B-5Kieran MurphyVanDiemen RF9114-
1615B-6Bruce KitchenVanDiemen RF9212-
-17BAmy CastellZink Z10-Did Not Start
--BKeith LobbanVan Diemen RF94-Did Not Start
--BAlex UrbinatiVan Diemen RF92-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.