The USF2000 National Championship made its debut in 2010. The series serves as one of the rungs on Mazda's Road to Indy. The program aims to provide a scholarship fund path to reach the IndyCar Series and the Indianapolis 500. The Road to Indy has attracted driving talent from all over the world. Last year's champion, Sage Karam, is participating in the season's Star Mazda Championship.

Formula 2000 cars first appeared in North America during the mid-80s. The category was particularly popular in Canada, with series' sponsored by Export A and Canadian Tire. The early cars were powered by a four-cylinder, 2.0-liter overhead-camshaft Ford engine, which produced approximately 150-horsepower. Mounted to the engine is a Hewland Mk 9 gearbox with four forward speeds and one reverse. The single-seater chassis is a tubular spaceframe design fitted with an aluminum floor pan and fiberglass bodywork. The cars also use wings mounted at the front and rear. The whole package weighs just under 1,200-lbs.

Today's Formula 2000 cars conform to many of the same rules, but advances in technology and aerodynamics have allowed them to be faster.

The 2011 USF2000 series has two classes:

  • Championship: Teams in the division are limited to a Van Diemen chassis manufactured from 2001 to 2010. The cars in this category are powered by a Mazda MZR engine. The power plant is a four-cylinder, double-overhead camshaft, fuel-injected, two-liter motor which produces 170-horsepower.
  • National: This group is for cars 1998 and newer that conform to Sports Car Club of America's Formula Continental rules. These cars are powered by the Ford Zetec, a four-cylinder, double-overhead camshaft, fuel-injected, two-liter motor, but only produces 150-horsepower.

The 2011 schedule consists of twelve races over seven race weekends on seven tracks – two street circuits, two ovals, and three permanent road courses.

  • March 17-18 - Sebring International Raceway
  • March 26-27 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • May 28 - Indianapolis Raceway Park
  • June 19 - Milwaukee Mile
  • August 6-7 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • August 19-20 - Road America
  • September 3-4 - Streets of Baltimore

Rounds three and four of the 2011 USF2000 National Championship were held during the Honda Grand Prix of Saint Petersburg. Drivers would complete on the fourteen-turn 1.800-mile temporary street course in Saint Petersburg.

Last year, Spencer Pigot won the BF Goodrich / Skip Barber National championship and was awarded a season in the USF2000 series. Pigot competed in the Cooper Tires Winterfest and finished second. At St. Pete, he drove the No. 8 Team MAZDASPEED Van Diemen DP08 and qualified on the pole for race one. Pigot would go flag-to-flag for the victory. In the finale, he put pressure on Petri Suvanto but finished second.
Finland’s Petri Suvanto participated in last year’s Formula BMW Europe where he finished eleventh in the final standings. This season, Suvanto joined Cape Motorsports driving the No. 3 Van Diemen DP08. He qualified third for the weekend’s first contest and inherited a runner-up result when the second-place starter, Juan Piedrahita, crashed on the opening lap. Suvanto started and finished first on Sunday.
The driver of the No. 7 Team Zakosi Data Backup Van Diemen DP08, Zach Veach, swept round one at Sebring – grabbing the pole and winning. During the qualifying session for Saturday’s race, he recorded the fifth-fastest time. Veach was involved in the turn-one incident but slipped through to finish third. The event ended with him starting third on the grid, but he lost a position to the hard-charging Wayne Boyd and finished fourth.
Wayne Boyd drove the No. 4 ASA Pole Mecanique Van Diemen DP08 prepared by Belardi Auto Racing. Boyd qualified sixth for round three at St. Petersburg. The Northern Irishman battled with Vincent Beltoise and lost a position to finish seventh. The next day would provide Boyd with an opportunity to redeem himself. At the start, he shot from fourth to second but could not hold the position and finished third.
There were three entries in the National class for 1998 and newer that conform to Sports Car Club of America’s Formula Continental rules. The fastest driver at St. Pete was Luca Forgeois piloting the No. 97 Stevenson Motorsports prepared Van Diemen. Forgeois qualified on the category pole for round three and finished ninth overall, earning the National victory. He ended the weekend with another win while finishing tenth.

11Spencer PigotTeam MAZDASPEED/Skip BarberVan Diemen DP0821-
23Petri SuvantoCape MotorsportsVan Diemen DP0821-
35Zach VeachTeam Zakosi Data BackupVan Diemen DP0821-
410Matthew Di LeoRES PrecastVan Diemen DP0821-
511Cole MorganLiberty Engineering/Sim-SportVan Diemen DP0821-
68Vincent BeltoisePole Mecanique Ales en CevennesVan Diemen DP0821-
76Wayne BoydASA Pole MecaniqueVan Diemen DP0821-
814Shannon McIntoshGlass Hammer RacingVan Diemen DP0821-
913Luca ForgeoisCafé NoirVan Diemen21-
1015J. R. SmartSmart MotorsVan Diemen21-
1112Ardie GreenamyerHi-Rise EquipmentVan Diemen20-
122Juan PiedrahitaGFK Motors/MontopharmaVan Diemen DP080Did Not Finish
134Tõnis KasemetsPabst Racing ServicesVan Diemen DP080Did Not Finish
147Luke Line OilVan Diemen DP080Did Not Finish
159Timmy MegenbierSick Tea/Rahal FoodsVan Diemen DP080Did Not Finish

11Petri SuvantoCape MotorsportsVan Diemen DP0821-
22Spencer PigotTeam MAZDASPEED/Skip BarberVan Diemen DP0821-
34Wayne BoydASA Pole MecaniqueVan Diemen DP0821-
43Zach VeachTeam Zakosi Data BackupVan Diemen DP0821-
56Vincent BeltoisePole Mecanique Ales en CevennesVan Diemen DP0821-
615Timmy MegenbierSick Tea/Rahal FoodsVan Diemen DP0821-
77Matthew Di LeoRES PrecastVan Diemen DP0821-
814Luke Line OilVan Diemen DP0821-
912Juan PiedrahitaGFK Motors/MontopharmaVan Diemen DP0821-
1010Luca ForgeoisCafé NoirVan Diemen21-
119Ardie GreenamyerHi-Rise EquipmentVan Diemen21-
1211J. R. SmartSmart MotorsVan Diemen21-
138Shannon McIntoshGlass Hammer RacingVan Diemen DP0815Did Not Finish
1413Tõnis KasemetsPabst Racing ServicesVan Diemen DP0810Did Not Finish
155Cole MorganLiberty Engineering/Sim-SportVan Diemen DP089Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022

Return to home page.