The Sports Car Club of America's Pro Spec Racer championship had a ten-year run before it was cancelled midway through the 2003 season. The series was suspended after round three at Mosport International Raceway. The event only drew eight entries. The championship failed because it needed to receive the support of event promoters, sponsors and participants.

However, renewed interest in a Pro Spec Racer series revived the championship in 2010. It was called the SCCA Pro Racing Spec Racer Series.

The car used in the series is the very popular Spec Racer Ford. This affordable, low maintenance, purpose-built vehicle is a popular category at Sports Car Club of America club racing events and attracts large fields with close racing. The car is a single-seat, open-cockpit tube-frame chassis sports racer manufactured by SCCA Enterprises in Colorado. The Spec Racers are identical and powered by a sealed four-cylinder, SOHC, 1.9-liter Ford engine with a five-speed transmission. This combination produces 105-horsepower and a top speed of 135-mph. The suspension uses a rocker arm design (front and rear) with coil-over shocks on each corner and adjustable front and rear sway-bars. All competitors use a spec tire from Goodyear.

The 2011 SCCA Pro Racing Spec Racer Series consisted of ten races conducted during five doubleheader weekends. The series kicked off in May at Virginia International Raceway and concluded at Road Atlanta in November.

  • May 13-15 - Virginia International Raceway
  • May 20-22 - Mosport International Raceway
  • August 5-7 - Trois-Rivieres
  • September 2-4 - Brainerd International Raceway
  • November 4-6 - Road Atlanta

Rounds three and four of the 2011 SCCA Pro Racing Spec Racer Series were held at Mosport International Raceway. Drivers would compete in two contests around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

The start of round four for the 2011 SCCA Pro Racing Spec Racer Series at Mosport International Raceway. The pole-sitter, Scott Rettich, in the No. 17 Alliance Autosports prepared Spec Racer Ford, leads a field of seventeen entrants into corner one. Beside Rettich is the other front-row qualifier, Brian Schofield driving the No. 61 PM Racing Spec Racer Ford. Trailing the leaders are Richard Spicer and Herb Sweeney IV.
Richard Spicer has been a Spec Racer Ford participant since 1997 and earned two National titles. In the season opener at Virginia, Spicer collected a victory and seventh-place finish in the No. 65 Spicer Racing Spec Racer Ford. He qualified third for round three at Mosport. On lap-3 of the race, Spicer moved to second. Eleven circuits later, he passed Scott Rettich for the lead and win. On Sunday, Spicer finished second.
The driver of the No. 17 Alliance Autosport Spec Racer Ford, Scott Rettich, was another veteran of the National racing scene. He earned a pair of runner-up results at this year's season opener. Rettich started race one at Mosport on the pole, but on lap-15, he was passed by Richard Spicer and collected his third second-place finish of 2011 by a margin of 0.270-seconds. On Sunday, Rettich went flag-to-flag for the victory.
Brian Schofield won his first National Spec Racer Ford championship in 2010. His 2011 Pro Series campaign got off to an excellent start with a fourth-place finish and a victory in rounds one and two. The driver of the No. 61 PM Spec Racer Ford was gridded second for Saturday's race at Mosport. During the contest, he lost a spot to Richard Spicer and finished third. Schofield delivered the same results in the finale.
Jeffrey Lehner didn't participate in the first two rounds of the 2011 SCCA Pro Racing Spec Racer Series at Virginia International Raceway. Lehner was piloting the No. 77 Johnstown Auto Parts sponsored Spec Racer Ford. In the weekend's first race at Mosport, he started and finished in the fourth position. Lehner was gridded sixth for Sunday's contest. A pass on Herb Sweeney IV was rewarded with another fourth-place result.
The podium for round four of the 2011 SCCA Pro Racing Spec Racer Series at Mosport International Raceway. Standing on the top step is the winner and new points leader, Scott Rettich. On the left side of the rostrum is the runner-up and winner of race one at Virginia and round three at Mosport, Richard Spicer. Completing the podium is the third-place finisher, Brian Schofield, who also has a victory this season.

13Richard SpicerSpec Racer FordSpicer Racing20-
21Scott RettichSpec Racer FordAlliance Autosports20-
32Brian SchofieldSpec Racer FordPM Racing20-
44Jeffrey LehnerSpec Racer FordJohnstown Auto Parts20-
57Herb Sweeney IVSpec Racer FordH.T. Sweeney & Sons20-
68Carl HarrisSpec Racer FordFour Seasons Radiator20-
75Jean-Luc LiveratoSpec Racer Ford8-Ball Racing20-
89Robert ReedSpec Racer FordIceRace.com20-
911Mark VultaggioSpec Racer FordDinosaur Racing20-
1013Bruce MyersSpec Racer FordSeacoast20-
116Lee McNeishSpec Racer Ford-20-
1210Michael HausknechtSpec Racer FordNixon Peabody LLP20-
1314Randy YoungmaSpec Racer Ford-20-
1415Richard WiehlSpec Racer FordCITGO20-
1516Frank VultaggioSpec Racer FordDinosaur Racing20-
1618Donald KahnSpec Racer FordMotion Dynamics20-
1719Carl WarrenSpec Racer Ford-20-
1817Thomas CirilloSpec Racer Ford-9Mechanical
1912Tom RileySpec Racer FordTRAC Consulting5Mechanical

11Scott RettichSpec Racer FordAlliance Autosports20-
23Richard SpicerSpec Racer FordSpicer Racing20-
32Brian SchofieldSpec Racer FordPM Racing20-
46Jeffrey LehnerSpec Racer FordJohnstown Auto Parts20-
54Herb Sweeney IVSpec Racer FordH.T. Sweeney & Sons20-
68Carl HarrisSpec Racer FordFour Seasons Radiator20-
77Jean-Luc LiveratoSpec Racer Ford8-Ball Racing20-
810Randy YoungmaSpec Racer Ford-20-
914Bruce MyersSpec Racer FordSeacoast20-
1012Lee McNeishSpec Racer Ford-20-
1116Donald KahnSpec Racer FordMotion Dynamics20-
1213Tom RileySpec Racer FordTRAC Consulting20-
1317Frank VultaggioSpec Racer FordDinosaur Racing20-
149Michael HausknechtSpec Racer FordNixon Peabody LLP20-
1519Carl WarrenSpec Racer Ford-17-
1615Richard WiehlSpec Racer FordCITGO15Accident
1711Robert ReedSpec Racer FordIceRace.com2Accident
185Mark VultaggioSpec Racer FordDinosaur Racing-Did Not Start
1918Thomas CirilloSpec Racer Ford--Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022

Return to home page.