This year’s Ontario Formula Ford Championship schedule consists of seven weekends, for a total of fourteen contests. The points system has changed for this year - a competitor’s two worst finishes will be dropped from their total - meaning a driver is collecting points in twelve of their best fourteen races.

The season kicks off in May at Mosport International Raceway during the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. The series returns to Mosport in June for a doubleheader event during the Vortex Brake Pads 200 Weekend. The next two rounds are part of the DAC Trillium Trophy Races at Shannonville Motorsport Park. In early August, competitors make their third of six visits to Mosport during the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy Races. This is followed by another BARC event called the Labour Day Grand Prix. The penultimate weekend of competition occurs in mid-September as part of the BEMC Indian Summer Races. The CASC-OR Celebration of Motorsport ends the season in Ontario and determines class champions.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine or the newly introduced 1.5-liter HPD Honda L15A7. Both motors produce approximately 120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs. Teams are required to use a spec tire – the Toyo Proxes 888.

For 2011 the FFC class was rolled into FFB. There were two groups for this season.

  • FFA – This category is for newer chassis’ built between 1995 and 2011.
  • FFB – This group is for cars constructed between 1994 and older.

The date of manufacture for the individual car and not the model is used to determine the year split and if a vehicle is categorized as FFA or FFB.

The Celebration of Motorsport on the weekend of October 1-2 closed out the 2011 Canadian Automobile Sport Club – Ontario Region road racing season. It also meant that class champions would be crowned for the FFA and FFB categories. Drivers would compete in two heat races around Mosport International Raceway’s ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

The opening lap for the penultimate round of the 2011 Ontario Formula Ford Championship. Leading the field of thirteen starters through Mosport’s corner three is the pole-sitter, Trent Hindman, in the No. 2 Brian Graham Racing Van Diemen RF00. Chasing Hindman is the other front-row qualifier and his teammate, Dalton Kellett in the No. 2 Van Diemen. In the third spot, also driving a Van Diemen, is Garett Grist.
It was another dominant weekend for Trent Hindman. He started on the pole for the Saturday and Sunday contests in the No. 2 Brian Graham Van Diemen RF00 and went flag-to-flag for the wins. Hindman ended the 2011 Ontario Formula Ford Championship with twelve podium finishes, of which nine were victories. With the point system scoring only his best twelve results, he captured this year’s title.
Not quite as dominant as Trent Hindman’s season, but another rookie driver to claim a title was FFB competitor Michael Adams. Adams also swept the Celebration of Motorsport weekend with two class pole positions in the No. 59 Flagship Racing Services prepared Van Diemen RF92 and a pair of victories. His season included nine podium finishes, of which all were category wins.
FFB competitor, Steve Bamford, missed securing the 2011 Ontario Formula Ford Championship by sixteen-points (Bamford’s 1004 to Michael Adams 1020). Bamford started the season in a Van Diemen RF93 but switched to a Swift DB-6. He was more consistent than his rival, Adams, finishing every event he entered. However, the point system of scoring a driver’s best twelve of fourteen finishes favoured Adams.
Trent Hindman’s teammate, at Brian Graham Racing Dalton Kellett, didn’t start his 2011 campaign until round five during the DAC Trillium Trophy Races at Shannonville Motorsport Park. At the Celebration of Motorsport weekend, Kellett qualified second fastest for the season’s final two races. In both contests, he followed Hindman to the checkered flag. Kellett would finish third in the FFA title chase.
Another of the many successful rookies this season was Garett Grist, who drove the No. 65 Britain West Motorsports Van Diemen RF03. Entering the final weekend of racing at Mosport, Grist had collected two wins. He qualified third fastest for rounds thirteen and fourteen and would follow Trent Hindman and Dalton Kellett to third-place finishes both days. He ended his year second in the FFA standings.

11A-1Trent HindmanVan Diemen RF0015-
22A-2Dalton KellettVan Diemen RF0015-
33A-3Garett GristVan Diemen RF0315-
45A-4Sergio PasianVan Diemen RF0015-
54B-1Michael AdamsVan Diemen RF9215-
67B-2Steve BamfordSwift DB-615-
76B-3Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9315-
810B-4Jean-Guy FournierVan Diemen RF9415-
913B-5Andrew MasonVan Diemen RF9014-
1012B-6Mike LeeLola T-540E14-
1114B-7Ken SoederhuysenSwift DB-613-
129B-8Paul BollenbachReynard 90SF11-
1311A-5Dan PurdyCarbir FF20115Did Not Finish
-8ACaitlin JohnstonVan Diemen RF97-Did Not Start

11A-1Trent HindmanVan Diemen RF0015-
22A-2Dalton KellettVan Diemen RF0015-
37A-3Garett GristVan Diemen RF0315-
43B-1Michael AdamsVan Diemen RF9215-
55B-2Steve BamfordSwift DB-615-
64B-3Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9315-
76B-4Paul BollenbachReynard 90SF15-
8-B-5Mike LeeLola T-540E14-
98B-6Ken SoederhuysenSwift DB-613-
-9ASergio PasianVan Diemen RF00-Did Not Start
--ADan PurdyCarbir FF2011-Did Not Start
--BJean-Guy FournierVan Diemen RF94-Did Not Start
--BAndrew MasonVan Diemen RF90-Did Not Start
--ACaitlin JohnstonVan Diemen RF97-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.