This year’s Ontario Formula Ford Championship schedule consists of seven weekends, for a total of fourteen contests. The points system has changed for this year - a competitor’s two worst finishes will be dropped from their total - meaning a driver is collecting points in twelve of their best fourteen races.

The season kicks off in May at Mosport International Raceway during the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. The series returns to Mosport in June for a doubleheader event during the Vortex Brake Pads 200 Weekend. The next two rounds are part of the DAC Trillium Trophy Races at Shannonville Motorsport Park. In early August, competitors make their third of six visits to Mosport during the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy Races. This is followed by another BARC event called the Labour Day Grand Prix. The penultimate weekend of competition occurs in mid-September as part of the BEMC Indian Summer Races. The CASC-OR Celebration of Motorsport ends the season in Ontario and determines class champions.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine or the newly introduced 1.5-liter HPD Honda L15A7. Both motors produce approximately 120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs. Teams are required to use a spec tire – the Toyo Proxes 888.

For 2011 the FFC class was rolled into FFB. There were two groups for this season.

  • FFA – This category is for newer chassis’ built between 1995 and 2011.
  • FFB – This group is for cars constructed between 1994 and older.

The date of manufacture for the individual car and not the model is used to determine the year split and if a vehicle is categorized as FFA or FFB.

The penultimate weekend of the 2011 Ontario Formula Ford Championship was held on September 17-18 during the BEMC Indian Summer Trophy Races. Drivers would compete in two heat races around Mosport International Raceway’s ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

The pace lap for round twelve of the 2011 Ontario Formula Ford Championship and twelve drivers enter the final turn at Mosport International Raceway in anticipation of the start. On the pole is Trent Hindman in the No. 2 Brian Graham Racing prepared Van Diemen RF00. Sharing the front row is the No. 65 Britain West Motorsports Van Diemen RF03 of Garett Grist. Behind the leaders are Dalton Kellet and Michael Adams.
Trent Hindman did not participate in the opening weekend of the championship. He joined the season in round three at the Vortex Brake Pads 200 Weekend and won the event. Since then, Hindman has been victorious in six of the eight races he entered. In Saturday’s contest, he started behind the pole-sitter, Garett Grist and followed him to the checker. Hindman was the fastest qualifier for the finale and led flag-to-flag.
Only two drivers had beaten Trent Hindman since he joined the Ontario Formula Ford Championship. One was Garett Grist, the driver of the No. 65 Britain West Motorsports prepared Van Diemen RF03. He was the fastest qualifier for the weekend’s first race and would claim the victory for his second win of the year. On Sunday, the order was reversed, with Grist starting second and trailing Trent Hindman to the checker.
FFB category driver Steve Bamford started the year in a Van Diemen RF93, but during the season, he switched to a Swift DB-6. Bamford qualified fifth overall and second in class for round ten. He moved into the lead early and captured the win when the FFB pole-sitter, Michael Adams, retired on lap-3. In the final race of the weekend, Bamford started in the same position but would finish behind Adams in second-place.
Like Trent Hindman, FFB rookie Michael Adams was collecting an impressive number of victories. Occasionally, Adams was challenged to finish races, but to date, he had six wins. He qualified on the class pole for race one and started fourth overall. Unfortunately, Adams retired on lap-3. On Sunday, the driver of the No. 59 Flagship Racing Services Van Diemen RF92 redeemed himself with another category victory.
The first half of the 2011 Ontario Formula Ford Championship season was miserable for series veteran Steve Bodrug. Bodrug failed to finish or start four of the first six races he entered. The year turned around for him at the BARC Labour Day event when he captured a pair of runner-up results. At the BEMC Indian Summer Trophy Races, Bodrug landed on the FFB podium again with second and third-place finishes.

11A-1Garett GristVan Diemen RF0311-
22A-2Trent HindmanVan Diemen RF0011-
35B-1Steve BamfordSwift DB-611-
46B-2Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9311-
59B-3Paul BollenbachReynard 90SF11-
67B-4Andrew MasonVan Diemen RF9011-
78B-5Alex UrbinatiVan Diemen RF9211-
811B-6Mike LeeLola T-540E11-
912B-7Ken SoederhuysenSwift DB-610-
103A-3Dalton KellettVan Diemen RF008Did Not Finish
114B-8Michael AdamsVan Diemen RF923Did Not Finish
1210B-9Jean-Guy FournierVan Diemen RF940Did Not Finish
13-BRoss SmithReynard 84SF-Did Not Start

12A-2Trent HindmanVan Diemen RF0011-
21A-1Garett GristVan Diemen RF0315-
33A-3Dalton KellettVan Diemen RF0015-
44B-1Michael AdamsVan Diemen RF9215-
55B-2Steve BamfordSwift DB-615-
66B-3Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9315-
77B-4Alex UrbinatiVan Diemen RF9215-
88B-5Jean-Guy FournierVan Diemen RF9415-
910B-6Paul BollenbachReynard 90SF15-
1011B-7Mike LeeLola T-540E14-
1112B-8Ross SmithReynard 84SF14-
129B-9Andrew MasonVan Diemen RF906Did Not Finish
1313B-10Ken SoederhuysenSwift DB-66Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.