The 2011 Formula 2000 Championship is an open-wheel series for Formula 2000 race cars organized by Formula Race Promotions. Formula Race Promotions was formed in 2006, with their race weekends being sanctioned by the Sports Car Club of America.

The cars competing in the Formula 2000 Championship Series conform to the Sports Club of America’s (SCCA) Formula Continent class. They are single-seat, rear-engine, open-wheel vehicles constructed with a tube frame chassis. Manufacturers producing series chassis include Carbir, Mygale, Tatuus, Piper and Citation, and RFR (Firman Cars), but the most popular choice is Van Diemen. The suspensions are independent – both front and rear. Shock absorbers and sway bars are adjustable. All competitors use the older 2.0-liter SOHC four-cylinder or, the newer Zetec Ford engine. A four-speed, non-synchro gearbox is used. Sequential transmissions are not permitted.

The series is open to all competitors with an SCCA National or SCCA Pro Racing license.

In addition to Hoosier Tires, the championship receives support from PI Research, Intercomp Racing Systems, Racing Electronics, Pennon and Mathisen Media.

The championship consists of seven doubleheader weekends, each contested on road courses. The season begins in April at Virginia International Raceway and ends with the final two races at Watkins Glen International.

  • April 8-10 - Virginia International Raceway
  • May 6-7 - Road Atlanta
  • June 2-5 - Watkins Glen International
  • June 30-July 2 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • July 21-23 - Mosport International Raceway
  • September 16-17 - Lime Rock Park
  • October 14-16 - Watkins Glen International

Rounds five and six of the 2011 Formula 2000 Championship were held a Watkins Glen International. Drives would compete in two eighteen-lap races around the eleven-turn 3.337-mile road course.

The points leader Remi Audette driving the No. 21 Audette Racing Van Diemen RF08 qualified on the outside of the front row for the weekend’s first contest at Watkins Glen International. For the first half of the race, Audette chased Kyle Connery, but a pass after a restart gave him the lead and win. He started second on Sunday and dropped to third place before returning to the front for his third victory of 2011.
Kyle Connery was near the top of the timesheets when he had a hard crash. Connery made a visit to the hospital and was cleared to race. The team was able to repair the car and he started race one in the fourth spot. Connery was aggressive at the beginning of the contest and grabbed the lead. He would lose the position to Remy Audette and finish second. A spin in the finale caused Connery to finish twenty-sixth.
Chris Livengood, driving the No. 37 Work Racing Van Diemen, qualified on the pole for the weekend’s first race and, in the process, set a new lap record. At the start of the race, Livengood was passed by several cars, but he worked his way up to third before a mechanical issue resulted in a fifth-place finish. With Saturday’s problem resolved, Livengood started third and inherited a second-place result after Kyle Connery spun.
Niki Coello won the SCCA’s Formula Continental National Championship in 2009. This season Coello was driving the No. 81 Afterburner Racings RFR. Watkins Glen International was his first start of the year’s series. Coello qualified fifth fastest for race one and inherited a third-place finish when Chris Livengood had a mechanical issue. He qualified fourth on Sunday, but at the start, he got shuffled back and climbed up to tenth at the checker.
Masters Class competitor (drivers 40-years of age and older) Tim Minor qualified sixth for Saturday’s contest in the No. 88 Ski Motorsports Van Diemen RF98. An aggressive start by Kyle Connery damaged Minor’s car and ended his day. He was relegated to a thirty-first-place finish. Minor qualified fifth fastest for Sunday’s event. A clean race allowed him to finish third overall and capture the Masters’ win.

12F2Remy AudetteAudette Racing / Van Diemen RF0814-
24F2Kyle ConneryCC Motorsport / Van Diemen RF0614-
35F2Niki CoelloAfterburner Racing / RFR14-
412F2Tim PaulSMR / Van Diemen RF0214-
51F2Chris LivengoodWork Racing/JWR / Van Diemen RF9914-
614F2Enzo PotolicchioHP Tech / RFR14-
77F2Jonathan ScaralloPrimus Racing / Van Diemen RF0114-
816F2Dwight RiderFront Range Motorsports / Van Diemen RF0214-
922F2Ardie GreenamyerAcceleRace Motorsports / Van Diemen RF0214-
1015F2Ethan RingelMcLaughlin Motorsports / RFR14-
1111F2Gustavo RizzoAlegra Motorsports / Van Diemen RF0214-
128F2Craig ClawsonClawson Motorsports / Van Diemen RF0114-
1321F2Charles FinelliFat Boy Racing / Van Diemen RF0314-
1418F2Robert WrightWright Racing / Van Diemen RF0314-
1524F2Brent GilkesLap 2 Racing / Van Diemen RF0314-
1627F2John LaRueCitation Snipe / Citation14-
1719F2Bill JordanPolestar / Van Diemen RF0614-
1825F2Fred BrossFront Range Motorsports / Van Diemen RF0214-
1928F2Dave WeitzenhofWeitzenhof Racing / Citation14-
2026F2Dan DenisonPolestar / Van Diemen RF0514-
2131F2Chris MonteleoneMontain Lion / Van Diemen RF9814-
2230F2Brendan PuderbachFat Boy Racing / RFR14-
2332F2Tom DrakeAlley Cat Racing / Van Diemen RF9914-
249F2Thomas SchwietzJosh Starke / Piper DF-513-
2510F2Zach CraigoFront Range Motorsports / Van Diemen RF0313-
2617F2Angel BenitezAlegra Motorsports / Van Diemen RF038-
2720F2Tom FaturGTP Motorsports / Van Diemen RF037-
2823F2Fabio OrsolonAlegra Motorsports / RFR6Did Not Finish
2913F2Mark DeferPolestar / Van Diemen RFXX3Did Not Finish
303F2Robert La RoccaHP-Tech / RFR0Did Not Finish
316F2Tim MinorSki Motorsports / Van Diemen RF980Did Not Finish
-29F2Jim HanrahanGTP Motorsports / Van Diemen RFXX-Did Not Start
-33F2Nathan MorcomPrimus Racing / Van Diemen RF06-Did Not Start

12F2Remy AudetteAudette Racing / Van Diemen RF0814-
23F2Chris LivengoodWork Racing/JWR / Van Diemen RF9914-
35F2Tim MinorSki Motorsports / Van Diemen RF9814-
48F2Angel BenitezAlegra Motorsports / Van Diemen RF0314-
510F2Thomas SchwietzJosh Starke / Piper DF-514-
66F2Robert La RoccaHP-Tech / RFR14-
711F2Nathan MorcomPrimus Racing / Van Diemen RF0614-
816F2Ethan RingelMcLaughlin Motorsports / RFR14-
913F2Craig ClawsonClawson Motorsports / Van Diemen RF0114-
104F2Niki CoelloAfterburner Racing / RFR14-
1123F2Ardie GreenamyerAcceleRace Motorsports / Van Diemen RF0214-
1222F2Mark DeferPolestar / Van Diemen RFXX14-
1325F2John LaRueCitation Snipe / Citation14-
1418F2Charles FinelliFat Boy Racing / Van Diemen RF0314-
1521F2Bill JordanPolestar / Van Diemen RF0614-
167F2Gustavo RizzoAlegra Motorsports / Van Diemen RF0214-
1727F2Dave WeitzenhofWeitzenhof Racing / Citation14-
1832F2Dan DenisonPolestar / Van Diemen RF0514-
1931F2Jim HanrahanGTP Motorsports / Van Diemen RFXX14-
2026F2Fred BrossFront Range Motorsports / Van Diemen RF0214-
2129F2Tom DrakeAlley Cat Racing / Van Diemen RF9914-
2230F2Chris MonteleoneMontain Lion / Van Diemen RF9814-
239F2Enzo PotolicchioHP Tech / RFR12-
2412F2Robert WrightWright Racing / Van Diemen RF0312-
2524F2Brent GilkesLap 2 Racing / Van Diemen RF0310-
261F2Kyle ConneryCC Motorsport / Van Diemen RF069-
2728F2Brendan PuderbachFat Boy Racing / RFR8-
2814F2Tim PaulSMR / Van Diemen RF023Did Not Finish
2917F2Zach CraigoFront Range Motorsports / Van Diemen RF033Did Not Finish
3020F2Jonathan ScaralloPrimus Racing / Van Diemen RF013Did Not Finish
3119F2Dwight RiderFront Range Motorsports / Van Diemen RF021Did Not Finish
-15F2Tom FaturGTP Motorsports / Van Diemen RF03-Did Not Start
-33F2Fabio OrsolonAlegra Motorsports / RFR-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.