Trans-Am, America’s oldest professional road racing series, dates back to 1966. The championship was successful for many years, but in 2005 the series stopped. There were two major primary reasons that organizers ended the Trans Am championship - automotive manufacturers were no longer supporting the series and there was a lack of interest among the competitors.

The championship was revived in 2009 with sponsorship from Muscle Milk, a company owned by former series champion Gregg Pickett. The cars were prepared using the Sports Car Club of America’s GT1 rules to keep costs down and encourage amateur racers to participate.

The basic specs for a Trans-Am series prepared car is a tube frame chassis fitted with a stock-appearing body with some modifications. The engines are a V8 with 13:1 compression. The induction system uses a Holley 390 four-barrel carburetor; this combination produces 700-800 horsepower @ 8,000 rpm. The cars are also equipped with a five-speed transmission. The minimum vehicle weight is 2,800-lbs. without fuel or the driver.

The 2010 season consisted of ten rounds - opening in May at New Jersey Motorsports Park and ending at Road Atlanta. Teams were initially slated to compete in an eighth event at Bluegrass Motorsports Park, but it was cancelled.

  • May 9 - New Jersey Motorsports Park
  • May 23 - Mosport International Raceway
  • June 6 - Miller Motorsports Park
  • June 20 - Road America
  • July 3 - Lime Rock Park
  • July 18 - Honda Indy Toronto
  • August 1 - Autobahn Country Club
  • September 5 - Brainerd International Raceway
  • September 12 - Virginia International Raceway
  • October 1 - Road Atlanta

Round two of the 2010 SCCA Pro Racing Trans-Am Series was held at Mosport International Raceway. Drivers would compete in a thirty-seven-lap contest around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

The event only drew nine entries.

Nine drivers head into Mosport International Raceway’s corner one for round two of the 2010 SCCA Pro Racing Trans-Am Series. On the left is the local racer and pole-sitter, Kenny Wilden, in the No. 99 Drivewise Canada Chevrolet Corvette. Beside Wilden is the No. 4 Tony Ave Racing / Pro Motor Engine Chevrolet Corvette driven by the second fastest qualifier, Tony Ave. Behind the leaders are Tomy Drissi and RJ Lopez.
Kenny Wilden and team owner Jim Derhaag teamed up in 2000 at Laguna Seca and collected the Simple Green Clean Sweep Award worth $58,500. They joined forces again, with Wilden driving the No. 99 Chevrolet Corvette. He gave notice early that he would be the driver to beat by setting the fastest times in practice and qualifying. Tony Ave led the first seven laps, but once out front, Wilden pulled away for the win.
RJ Lopez qualified third and finished second in the series opening round at New Jersey Motorsports Park. The results left in second in the points chase. At Mosport, the No. 6 Disco 106 / ECR Engines Chevrolet Corvette driver started in the fourth position. Problems for Tomy Drissi and Tony Ave allowed Lopez to finish second by a margin of 19.324-seconds. He also moved into the championship lead.
Claiming the final position on the podium was local racer Blaise Csida. Csida drove the No. 07 Spectra Holdings / Gateway Racing prepared Chevrolet Corvette. During the qualifying session, he was the sixth fastest. Last year, Csida started and finished sixth. However, he inherited two positions this season when Tomy Drissi and Tony Ave encountered issues. Finally, a pass on Simon Gregg was rewarded with a third-place result.
The reigning Trans-Am champion was Tomy Drissi. Drissi won the opening round at New Jersey Motorsports Park; the victory gave him the points lead entering Mosport International Raceway. He recorded the third fastest qualifying time Sunday morning in the No. 5 THE A TEAM: THERE IS NO PLAN B Jaguar XKR. However, after just one lap of the race, he retired with an electrical problem and fell to second in the standings.
The podium for round two of the 2010 SCCA Pro Racing Trans-Am Series at Mosport International Raceway. Standing in the center is the winner from Derhaag Racing, Kenny Wilden. On the left is RJ Lopez, who collected his second consecutive runner-up result and moved into the championship lead. Completing the rostrum is another local racer, Blaise Csida, who finished in the third position.

11Kenny WildenChevrolet CorvetteDerhaag Motorpsorts37-
24RJ LopezChevrolet CorvetteECR Engines37-
36Blaise CsidaChevrolet CorvetteGateway Racing37-
42Tony AveChevrolet CorvetteTony Ave Racing37-
55Simon GreggChevrolet CorvetteDerhaag Motorpsorts36-
67Daniel RamoutarsinghJaguar XKRTrinico Steel & Wire Products36-
78Elmer ShannonChevrolet CorvetteGateway Racing34-
83Tomy DrissiJaguar XKRRocketsports Racing1Electrical
99Greg CliftonChevrolet CamaroClifton & Associates0Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.