In 2010, the Pro Formula Mazda Championship entered its twentieth season as one of North America's premier open-wheel driver development series. Series graduates have gone on to race in F1, Indy Cars, NASCAR, American Le Mans and Grand-Am.

In 2007, Mazda introduced their company-sponsored 'motorsports ladder' from karting to Champ Car. This year there are two driver development programs that converge in the Pro Formula Mazda Championship; the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Driver Development Ladder and the Indy Racing League's 'Road to Indy" program. The MAZDASPEED Ladder provides scholarship funding for champions to move up into the Pro Formula Mazda Championship, and for the Pro Formula Mazda champion to move up to the next level of Mazda-powered competition. The Road to Indy is designed to provide a clear path for top young drivers who set their sights on competing in the Indy 500.

After several years the Mazda open-wheel championship replaced its race-proven and reliable Star Mazda with a new model. Beginning in 2004, competitors would be racing a Pro Formula Mazda.

The Pro Formula Mazda is manufactured by the Van Diemen / Elan Motorsports Technologies group. The chassis is a carbon-fiber tub with fiberglass bodywork. The front and rear suspension is a pushrod setup with two-way adjustable shock absorbers. Stopping the Pro Formula Mazda are four-piston calipers with vented rotors. It is powered by a 240-horsepower Renesis Mazda engine, also used in the road-going version of the Mazda RX-8. Bolted to the motor is a six-speed sequential transmission with a no-lift shift.

Last year, there were some upgrades made to the car. The Modifications, including new wings, shock absorbers and suspension rockers, are designed to increase the car's aerodynamic efficiency and top speed while improving engine cooling; in addition, it will be easier for drivers and their engineers to arrive at the best setup for each track. The cumulative effect of the upgrades will be to increase both top speed and cornering speed, reduce maintenance costs and enhance mechanical reliability.

The opening round of the 2010 Pro Formula Mazda Championship was held at Sebring International Raceway and ended in October at Road Atlanta.

  • March 19 Sebring International Raceway
  • March 28 - St Petersburg
  • May 5-6 O'Reilly Raceway Park
  • May 23 Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
  • May 29 O'Reilly Raceway Park
  • June 19 Iowa Speedway
  • June 26 - New Jersey Motorsports Park
  • June 27 - New Jersey Motorsports Park
  • July 31 Autobahn Chicago
  • Aug 1 Autobahn Chicago
  • August 15 Trois-Rivieres
  • August 21 Road America
  • August 28 - Mosport International Raceway
  • October 1 - Road Atlanta

In addition to the overall title, championships were on the line for:

  • Expert Championship - Drivers aged 30-44
  • Masters Championship - Drivers aged 45 and older
  • Team Championship

Round two of the 2010 Pro Formula Mazda Championship took place at the fourteen-turn 1.800-mile temporary street course in Saint Petersburg, Florida.

The driver of the No. 22 Juncos Racing / Indeck / College Network Pro Formula Mazda, Conor Daly, was off the pace in the opening practice session. With the crew making changes to the car, he topped the timesheets in the next outing and qualifying. Despite two caution periods during the race, Daly would go flag-to-flag for the victory. Combined with his third-place result at Sebring, he leads the championship.
Joao Horto, a veteran of the Formula BMW Americas Series, finished second in round two at Saint Petersburg. Horto drove the No. 18 Team Apex / Wabash Capital Investments Pro Formula Mazda. Horto was fast in the practice sessions and qualified second for the forty-five-minute contest. He challenged the winner, Conor Daly, during the race but could not make a pass and finished second.
Brazilian Caio Lara was in his third year of the series and drove the No. 19 JDC Motorsports Pro Formula Mazda. Lara finished tenth in round one, but it appeared from his times in the practice sessions at Saint Petersburg he would be more competitive. Unfortunately, Lara had a massive accident in qualifying but not before setting the third-fastest time. With repairs made to the car, he delivered a solid performance and finished third.
Anders Krohn qualified on the pole for the season opener last week in Sebring but finished a disappointing fifth. However, he was back on form at Saint Petersburg, setting the fastest time in practice one. The driver of the No. 47 Andersen Racing / Norse Cutting & Abandonment Pro Formula Mazda was gridded fourth for round two. Krohn drove a clean race and was rewarded with a fourth-place result.
The No. 11 JDC Motorsports Pro Formula Mazda was driven by Connor De Phillippi. De Phillippi won the 2009 BFGoodrich / Skip Barber National presented by Mazda award and also captured the prestigious Walter Hayes Trophy, an international event for Formula Ford drivers. He qualified sixth fastest at Saint Petersburg. A pass on Rusty Mitchell netted De Phillippi a fifth-place finish.

11Conor DalyPro Formula Mazda33-
22Joao HortoPro Formula Mazda33-
33Caio LaraPro Formula Mazda33-
44Anders KrohnPro Formula Mazda33-
56Connor De PhillippiPro Formula Mazda33-
621Mikael GrenierPro Formula Mazda33-
76David OstellaPro Formula Mazda33-
814Richard KentPro Formula Mazda33-
912Tristan VautierPro Formula Mazda33-
105Rusty MitchellPro Formula Mazda33-
1120Juan PiedrahitaPro Formula Mazda33-
1210Michael FurfariPro Formula Mazda33-
139Court VernonPro Formula Mazda33-
1418Patrick O'NeillPro Formula Mazda33-
158Chris MillerPro Formula Mazda33-
1623JW RobertsPro Formula Mazda33-
1712Jorge GoncalvezPro Formula Mazda32-
1819Carlos CondePro Formula Mazda32-
1915Tatiana CalderonPro Formula Mazda32-
2016Hayden DuersonPro Formula Mazda13-
2111Nick AndriesPro Formula Mazda6-
2217Carlos LinaresPro Formula Mazda0-

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.