2010 marked the fifteenth season of the IndyCar Series. Seventeen rounds would be contested to determine titles for teams and drivers.

The season opened in mid-March at Sao Paulo, Brazil and ended at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Florida in early October. In between these two weekends, there were races held at Saint Petersburg, Barber Motorsports Park, Long Beach, Kansas Speedway, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Texas Motor Speedway, Iowa Speedway, Watkins Glen International, Toronto, Edmonton, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Sonoma, Chicagoland Speedway, Kentucky Speedway and Twin Ring Motegi.

There were some newsworthy stories for the 2010 season. Perhaps, the biggest was announced on November 5, 2009, when the public was informed that the clothing company IZOD would be the series’ title sponsor. The multi-million dollar agreement was for six years (2010 – 2015).

The series also saw the introduction of two new awards:

  • A.J. Foyt Oval Championship for the driver scoring the most points in the seven oval races.
  • Mario Andretti Road Course Championship given to the competitor with highest points total on the nine street/road course events.

Teams continued to use the Dallara IR-05 chassis but the Honda engine deal was supposed to end in 2009. However, the contract for Honda to be the series only engine supplier was extended to the 2011 season. The Honda HR7R-HR11R used by entrants is 3.5-liter aluminum alloy V8-engine. The fuel-injected normally-aspirated motor produces 650-horsepower at 10,300-rpm.

Finally, early in the year Indy Racing League founder, Tony George resigned. Replacing George as the leader of the series was Randy Bernard.

Round twelve of the 2010 Izod IndyCar championship was held at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Competitors would race around 2.258-mile thirteen-turn road course for eighty-five laps in an event titled the Honda Indy 200.

For the tenth time in 2010, Chip Ganassi Racing driver, Dario Franchitti advanced to the ‘Firestone Fast Six.’ Franchitti was second quickest and shared the front row with the pole-sitter, Will Power. He trailed the race leaders, Will Power and Alex Tagliani, for much of the event and took the lead during the final round of pit-stops. Despite pressure from Power, he was able to capture his second victory of the season.
Will Power entered Mid-Ohio with a chance of securing the ‘Mario Andretti Road Course Championship’ all had to do was start the race. Despite an accident in practice, Power made it to the ‘Firestone Fast Six’ and qualified on the pole. He led a total of twenty-five-laps and on the last stop exited the pits in second place. Power could not find a way past the leader, Franchitti and captured the runner-up position.
The previous round at Edmonton ended in controversy when the on-track winner, Helio Castroneves was black-flagged for a late race pass. Castroneves’ actions after the race resulted in a $60,000 fine. At Mid-Ohio, he was on form and made it to the ‘Firestone Fast Six’ where he qualified sixth. During the race, Castroneves never led a lap but was in contention – he managed to grab the final spot on the podium.
Canadian veteran, Alex Tagliani qualified in the back half of the grid – starting fourteenth. During the race, Tagliani was on a different strategy than the other teams and pitted two laps before the first caution. This tactic put him in the lead of the race – in fact, Tagliani led the most laps during the event – thirty of eighty-five-laps. Unable to withstand the challenges from the other front runners, he finished fourth.
The driver advancing the most positions during the race was Raphael Matos. Matos drove the No. 2 De Ferran-Luczo-Dragon Racing entry and was gridded nineteenth in the twenty-seven car field. A combination of Matos’ driving and the team’s race strategy allowed him to move up the race order. At the checkered flag, he was in seventh - not his best result of the season but a great effort by all those involved.
In qualifying, former Formula 1 driver, Takuma Sato made it to the ‘Firestone Fast Six’ and was the third quickest. The rookie, Sato drove the No. 5 KV Racing Technology Dallara. At the start of the race, he passed the second fastest qualifier, Dario Franchitti and ran in the runner-up position until Franchitti took the spot back. After the first round of pit-stops, Sato tangled with Jay Howard and was forced to retire.
Scott Dixon entered the Mid-Ohio event with victories at Kansas Speedway and the Edmonton City Centre Airport and was third in the point standings. Dixon qualified fifth fastest – this was his eighth appearance in the ‘Firestone Fast Six.’ After eighty-five-laps of racing, Dixon was fifth – as he finished behind the point’s leaders, Power and Franchitti he did not improve his position in the title chase.
The third member of Team Penske was Australian, Ryan Briscoe who was gridded seventh for the start of the race. During the 2010 season, Briscoe had a victory in the Firestone 550K at the Texas Motor Speedway and was fourth in the Driver’s championship. Finishing behind title contenders – Power, Franchitti and Dixon in sixth place did not improve his position in the Driver standings.

12Dario FranchittiDallara IR5 / HondaChip Ganassi Racing85-
21Will PowerDallara IR5 / HondaTeam Penske85-
36Hélio CastronevesDallara IR5 / HondaTeam Penske85-
414Alex TaglianiDallara IR5 / HondaFAZZT Race Team85-
55Scott DixonDallara IR5 / HondaChip Ganassi Racing85-
67Ryan BriscoeDallara IR5 / HondaTeam Penske85-
719Raphael MatosDallara IR5 / HondaDeFerran Luczo Dragon Racing85-
810Simona de SilvestroDallara IR5 / HondaHVM Racing85-
99Marco AndrettiDallara IR5 / HondaAndretti Autosport85-
104Ryan Hunter-ReayDallara IR5 / HondaAndretti Autosport85-
1115Bertand BaguetteDallara IR5 / HondaConquest Racing85-
1216Mario MoraesDallara IR5 / HondaKV Racing Technology85-
1321Alex LloydDallara IR5 / HondaDale Coyne Racing85-
1413Dan WeldonDallara IR5 / HondaPanther Racing85-
1524Vitor MeiraDallara IR5 / HondaA.J. Foyt Enterprises85-
1618J.R. HildebrandDallara IR5 / HondaDreyer & Reinbold Racing85-
1720Tony KanaanDallara IR5 / HondaAndretti Autosport85-
1812Hideki MutohDallara IR5 / HondaNewman/Haas/Lanigan Racing85-
1917Adam CarrollDallara IR5 / HondaAndretti Autosport85-
2025Graham RahalDallara IR5 / HondaNewman Haas Lanigan Racing85-
2122Danica PatrickDallara IR5 / HondaAndretti Autosport85-
2223Francesco DraconeDallara IR5 / HondaConquest Racing82-
2327Milka DunoDallara IR5 / HondaDale Coyne Racing81-
2426Jay HowardDallara IR5 / HondaSarah Fisher Racing38Accident
253Takuma SatoDallara IR5 / HondaKV Racing Technology28Accident
268E.J. VisoDallara IR5 / HondaKV Racing Technology22Accident
2711Justin WilsonDallara IR5 / HondaDreyer & Reinbold Racing22Accident

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018

Return to home page.