This year’s Ontario Formula Ford Championship included an extra point scoring weekend. Since 2006, the final Formula Ford races of the season, held at the Celebration of Motorsport, did not count towards the title chase. At this event, drivers were contending for the CanAm Cup. With fourteen contests on the schedule, the points system changed. A competitor’s three worst finishes were dropped from their final total - meaning a driver was collecting points in eleven of their best fourteen events.

The season kicks off in May at Mosport International Raceway during the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. The next two rounds are part of the DAC Trillium Trophy Races at Shannonville Motorsport Park. Then the series returns to Mosport for a doubleheader event during the High Octane Weekend. In late July, competitors make their way to Calabogie Motorsports Park as part of the MCO Ted Powell Memorial Races. This is followed by two events at Mosport - the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy Races and BEMC Indian Summer Races. The CASC-OR Celebration of Motorsport ends the season in Ontario and determines class champions.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine, which produces120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs., with the driver. Teams are required to use a spec tire (Dunlop Formula Ford treaded racing tire).

Driver’s compete in one of three classes:

  • FFA – This category is for newer chassis’ built between 1995 and 2010.
  • FFB – This group is for cars constructed between 1985 and 1994.
  • FFC - Older cars built between 1969 and 1984 collect points in this class. The Swift DB1 is not eligible to compete in the category.

Rounds five and six of the 2010 Ontario Formula Ford Championship were held during the High Octane Weekend at Mosport International Raceway. Drivers would compete in two heat races around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

A field of twelve entrants exit Mosport International Raceway’s corner ten for round six of the 2010 Ontario Formula Ford Championship. On the pole is former series titleholder Shane Jantzi in the No. 71 Maizex Seeds sponsored Van Diemen RF02. Sharing the front row and driving the No. 3 Brian Graham Racing prepared Van Diemen RF00 is Mikhail Goikhberg. Behind the leaders are Stefan Rzadzinski and Ayrton Triolo.
Former Ontario Formula Ford champion Shane Jantzi didn’t enter the first two races of the season. Jantzi’s first appearance of the year was at Shannonville, where he collected a pair of victories. He qualified fourth fastest for race one of the High Octane weekend and passes on Mikhail Goikhberg and Steve Bodrug gave him a runner-up finish. On Sunday, Jantzi battled early with Goikhberg before grabbing the win.
Last year, during his rookie, Stefan Rzadzinski managed to finish second in the championship. Rzadzinski returned for another season with Brian Graham Racing driving the No. 2 Van Diemen RF01. He missed rounds three and four at Shannonville Motorsports Park but returned to Mosport for the High Octane event. On Saturday, he fought with Mikhail Goikhberg for the win and in the finale, Rzadinski finished second.
Of the twelve Formula Fords entered during the High Octane weekend, five of them came from the Brian Graham Racing stables. In addition to Stefan Rzadzinski, Mikhail Goikhberg piloting the No. 3 Van Diemen RF00 was one of the team’s quicker drivers. He made his season debut in rounds five and six. Goikhberg started both races in second-place but finished third on Saturday and retired in the finale.
Caitlin Johnston entered races five and six of the 2010 Ontario Formula Ford Championship with two podium finishes, one of which was a runner-up result in round one at Mosport International Raceway. Issues for the driver of the No. 68 Van Diemen RF97 prevented her from participating and the qualifying sessions. Despite starting last in both contests, she left the event with third and fourth-place finishes.
Another driver making his 2010 Ontario Formula Ford Championship season debut at the High Octane Weekend was FFB competitor Steve Bodrug. Despite the late start to the year, Bodrug was on form. He started Saturday’s race third overall and first in class. Piloting the No. 41 Van Diemen RF93, he would finish fourth and win his division. The next day, Bodrug qualified on the FFB pole and led flag-to-flag.

11A-1Stefan RzadzinskiVan Diemen RF0015-
24A-2Shane JantziVan Diemen RF0215-
32A-3Mikhail GoikhbergVan Diemen RF0015-
4-A-4Caitlin JohnstonVan Diemen RF9715-
53B-1Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9315-
67A-5Taylor NearVan Diemen RF0015-
76A-6Ayrton TrioloVan Diemen RF0015-
89A-7Tony CoveVan Diemen15-
910A-8Fabio UrbanoVan Diemen RF0115-
108C-1Mike LeeLola T-540E15-
1111B-2Ken SoederhuysenSwift DB-613-
125APaul KostoffVan Diemen RF980Did Not Finish

11A-1Shane JantziVan Diemen RF0215-
23A-2Stefan RzadzinskiVan Diemen RF0015-
3-A-3Caitlin JohnstonVan Diemen RF9715-
45A-4Ayrton TrioloVan Diemen RF0015-
56A-5Taylor NearVan Diemen RF0015-
64B-1Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9315-
77A-6Paul KostoffVan Diemen RF9815-
810A-7Fabio UrbanoVan Diemen RF0115-
98A-8Tony CoveVan Diemen15-
109C-1Mike LeeLola T-540E15-
1111B-2Ken SoederhuysenSwift DB-614-
122A-3Mikhail GoikhbergVan Diemen RF009Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.