2009 marks the second season of the Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup. The Sports Car Club of America Pro Racing division sanctioned the series. The series is limited to thirty drivers aged 16 to 26. Volkswagen is distributing $250,000 in prize money, with the Jetta TDI Cup champion awarded $100,000 to advance their racing career.

Identically prepared Volkswagen Jetta TDI is raced by the competitors. The Jetta uses a four-cylinder 2.0-liter TDI clean diesel engine, which runs on Ultra Low Sulphur Diesel. The power is transferred through a six-speed, double-clutch automatic DSG transmission. The package produces 170-horsepower with 258 ft-lbs of torque.

The cars are fitted 240/640-18” Pirelli racing tires mounted on 8.5 X 18” alloy rims. Stopping the Volkswagen are four-piston calipers with 14” diameter rotors on the front and on the rear single-piston calipers with 10” diameter rotors. A Recaro racing seat, driver-side window safety net, six-point racing harness, FIA roll cage and an FIA-approved on-board fire extinguisher system are installed for safety. The Jetta has a curb weight of 2,844-pounds.

The ten-race season begins at the end of April at Virginia International and ends in September at Road Atlanta. The weekends at Virginia and New Jersey Motorsports Park will be doubleheaders.

  • April 24-26 - Virginia International Raceway
  • May 15-17 - Miller Motorsport Park
  • June 19-21 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • July 24-26 - Autobahn Country Club
  • August 14-16 - Road America
  • August 28-30 - Mosport International Raceway
  • September 11-13 - New Jersey Motorsports Park
  • September 24-26 - Road Atlanta

Round four of the 2009 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup was held at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Drivers would compete in a thirty-minute contest around the thirteen-turn 2.258-mile road course.

Lap one into the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course ‘Esses’ for round four of the 2009 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup. The three fastest qualifiers have pulled clear of the other twenty-one competitors. At the head of the pack is the No. 29 Hyperfuels VW Jetta TDI of the pole-sitter, Devin Cates. Behind Cates is the second-place starter, Joey Atterbury and the third-fastest qualifier, Timmy Megenbier.
The season was beginning to turn around for Timmy Megenbier. In the first race of 2009, Megenbier qualified on the pole but retired on the final lap with a mechanical issue. In round three at Miller Motorsports Park, he was victorious. At Mid-Ohio, Megenbier started third in the No. 17 Caputo VW Jetta TDI. He moved into the lead on lap-5 with a pass on Joey Atterbury and grabbed the win.
Joey Atterbury, driving the No. 14 SCCA Pro Racing VW Jetta TDI, qualified second fastest in round four at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Atterbury inherited the race lead on lap-1 when the pole-sitter, Devin Cates, drove off the course. He found himself being challenged by Timmy Megenbier. Megenbier made the pass for first place on lap-5, which resulted in a second-place finish for Atterbury.
The No. 27 Castrol Syntec VW Jetta TDI was driven by Andy Lee. This was Lee’s second season in the Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup. In 2008, he finished tenth in the championship, with his best result being a sixth at Portland. At Mid-Ohio, Lee had a difficult qualifying session and started ninth. In the race, he advanced and earned his first series podium with a third-place finish.
2009 was also Andrew Cordeiro’s second year in the series. Cordeiro’s best finish last year was a thirteenth place at Iowa Speedway and he finished seventeenth in the point standings. The driver of the No. 26 Hitachi Vion VW Jetta TDI also experienced a challenging qualifying session and started twelfth. However, the Canadian charged in the race and finished in the fourth position.
The podium for round four of the 2009 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. In the center for the second time this season is the winner, Timmy Megenbier. The result moved Megenbier into the championship lead with 140-points. Standing on the left is the runner-up, Joey Atterbury, who is second in the standings. Completing the rostrum is Andy Lee.

13Timmy MegenbierVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
22Joey AtterburyVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
39Andy LeeVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
412Andrew CordeiroVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
511Nicky BoulleVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
65Derek JonesVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
713JD MobleyVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
86Juan Pablo Sierra LendleVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
98AJ NealeyVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
1022AJ NealeyVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
1116Jake ThompsonVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
1215Taylor BroekemeierVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
1310Ryan EllisVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
1419Donny WarrenVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
1518Theresa CondictVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
161Devin CatesVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
1714David RichertVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
1820Eric MorseVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
1921Juan Pablo DelgadoVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
2023Rhett TuckerVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
214Mark PomboVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
2224Andrew Gun TuckerVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
2317Perry RichardsonVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022

Return to home page.