After a long absence, the Sundown Grand Prix returned to Mosport International Raceway in 2005 and became a regular fixture on the Victoria Day Weekend Speedfest schedule.

The first Sundown Grand Prix was held in 1959 at Harewood Acres and won by Roger Penske and Harry Blanchard driving a Porsche RSK. From 1964 to 1976, the event was conducted at Mosport. A list of past winners includes such racing greats as Al Pease, Eppie Wietzes, Craig Fisher, Mo Carter and Ludwig Heimrath.

Most competitors in this year’s Sundown Grand Prix were from Ontario; however, the event also attracted teams from Quebec. The classes for this year’s race were set by using a bracket system. Based on lap times, teams would be placed in one of six categories – GT1 (the fastest) to GT6 (the slowest).

  • Enduro GT1 – 1.27:999 and faster
  • Enduro GT2 – 1.28:000 and slower
  • Enduro GT3 – 1.32:000 and slower
  • Enduro GT4 – 1.36:000 and slower
  • Enduro GT5 – 1.41:000 and slower
  • Enduro GT6 – 1.45:000 and slower

If a team goes faster than the breakout time they are registered in, they will be moved up a class.

This year’s edition of the Sundown Grand Prix was 180-minutes long around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course. The event began at 5:00 pm on Saturday and ended in the dark. The original races were six-hour contests.

To no one’s surprise, Ontario Region driver Alex Habrich grabbed the pole position for the Sundown Grand Prix at Mosport International. Habrich, piloting the No. 75 Dodge Viper Competition Coupe, claimed the top qualifying spot by 3.286-seconds. He was the only driver in the GT1 category and lost the overall lead when he pitted for fuel. After regaining first-place, Habrich went on to win by a two-lap margin.
Sundown Grand Prix regulars Ian Phillips and Edward Wong returned for their fifth consecutive event. Phillips’ record included two class victories and a runner-up finish. On the other hand, Wong had one second-place in class with Phillips and four category wins. This year they entered a pair of Nissan Sentra. The No. 205 took the honours in GT4, with the No. 201 Sentra doing the same in the GT6 category.
The best-subscribed class was GT5, which drew nine entries. Sharing the driving duties on the No. 58 Acura Integra Type R were Chris Johnson and John Maloney. At the end of the qualifying session, they were eighteenth fastest and fifth in their category. The duo made steady progress during the race and by the halfway point, they were in the class lead. They maintained first-place in GT5 and won the category by two-laps.
During the qualifying session, the No. 212 Honda Civic of Tom Clausic and WC Storms was 7.646-seconds slower than the pole-winning GT3 Wojteczko Lexus IS300 entry. The duo was gridded tenth overall for the start of the three-hour Sundown Grand Prix. The Wojteczko Lexus failed to start the race and the other two GT3 teams failed to finish. Clausic and WC Storms cruised to a class win and finished fourth overall.
Mark Gawronski is a Sundown Grand Prix regular. This year Gawronski was sharing his No. 118 Honda Civic with one of the Wittmer brothers. The Honda was quick and the pair started on the outside of the front row when the Wojteczko Lexus failed to make the grid. They found themselves in a battle with the Anis / Stuard Nissan 350Z for the GT2 category during the race. The duo prevailed and captured the class win.

11GT1Alex HabrichDodge Viper98
24GT4Edward Wong / Ian PhillipsNissan Sentra96
318GT5Chris Johnson / John MaloneyAcura Integra Type R96
410GT3Tom Calusic / WC StormsHonda Civic95
55GT5David Shep / David DiedrickNissan Sentra Spec V94
69GT5Gregory Kierstead / Jeff GravesMazda Miata93
727GT4Andrew Elliott/ Nicholas KrikorianHonda Prelude93
83GT2M. Gawronski / K. WittmerHonda Civic93
926GT5Cliff Daley / Ian MaddenVolkswagen Jetta92
1020GT2S. Anis / S. StuardNissan 350Z92
1111GT4Steve Leitao / Nigel HeronHonda Civic91
1215GT5Vincent Basile / Carl Werner / JP DumoulinHonda Civic91
1322GT5Richard Foegele / Matt GrahamMazda Miata91
1413GT6Edward Wong / Ian PhillipsNissan Sentra91
1525GT4D. Fantin / J. FantinBMW 330i90
1624GT2S. Tousignant / S. RochonBMW M389
1721GT5Mark Baum / James MacDougallPorsche 94487
1823GT5Robert Burgess/ Mike EdmondsPorsche 944S87
1916GT4N. Berry / P. Dolan / M. DolanAcura Integra85
2028GT4Steve Grenier / Jay Saslove / Richard MuiseAcura Integra Type R79
2117GT5David Dorigo / Anthony RaponeHonda Civic71
228GT6Andrew MackintoshFord Escort GT67
236GT4Tom Kwok / Gary KwokHonda Civic60
Did Not Finish7GT3K. Baird / A. Wojciekowski / E. HochgeschurzMercury Cougar49
Did Not Finish12GT3Kevin Robb / Howard ChinVolkswagen Jetta37
Did Not Finish19GT2S. Rochon / B. Rochon / B. LummisBMW 318i15

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.