In 2009, the Canadian NASCAR series was in its third season. With Canadian Tire as the primary sponsor, NASCAR had developed a successful format that attracted competitors and fans.

There were some changes to the 2009 schedule – mainly the order of the race weekends. The title chase started at Autodrome St. Eustache and was followed by a race at Delaware Speedway which replaced the event previously conducted at Cayuga Speedway. Next up was the first road course event of the year at Mosport Park. There would be an additional event held at this facility – a race on the oval track in August. After Mosport, teams made their second visit to Autodrome St. Eustache. The western swing included races at Vernon, Edmonton and Saskatoon. Saskatoon replaced the second date held by Cayuga Speedway in 2008. The crews traveled east to events in Quebec – Trois Rivieres and Montreal. Then it was back to Ontario and Barrie Speedway with the penultimate round taking place at Riverside Speedway in Nova Scotia. The championship would end in late September at Kawartha Speedway. In total, there were thirteen race weekends and the series would visit twelve different tracks in six provinces.

The cars competing in the championship are constructed to specifications and rules typical of most stock car series. The chassis is a steel tube frame design covered with a fiberglass body and is required to weigh no less than 3000-lbs. Body styles are from manufacturers such as Dodge (Avenger), Pontiac (Grand Prix), Ford (Fusion) and Chevrolet (Monte Carlo SS). Engine type and displacement are dictated by the make and model of the vehicle. The carbureted eight-cylinder motors produce approximately 650-horsepower. Depending on the gearing, these cars are estimated to have a top speed of 160-mph.

Mosport Park hosted round three, the Dickies 200, of the 2009 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series. During the event, drivers would compete in a fifty-one-lap race around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

The front row of Andrew Ranger and Scott Steckly hold their positions as they exit Mosport’s corner one. Behind the two fastest qualifiers is Kerry Micks in the Beyond Digital Image sponsored Ford Fusion. Trailing the top three is the fourth place starter Don Thomson, Jr. driving the Home Hardware Chevrolet Impala SS. There were a total of twenty-four starters with twenty competitors running at the finish.
It was a good points day for the 2007 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series champion, Andrew Ranger. Ranger driving the No. 27 Ford Fusion was sixth in the standings and forty-three points behind the leader, Ron Beauchamp, Jr. heading into Mosport. At the Dickies 200 weekend, he was the quickest in the practice and qualifying sessions and led thirty-one of the fifty-one-laps. The victory catapulted Ranger to second in the title chase.
Although the season was young, Anthony Simone had already scored a top-five finish. But Mosport would allow him to showcase his road racing skills. Simone drove the No. 95 Chevrolet Impala SS and started in sixth place. In the race, he soon joined the leaders and led a total of thirteen-laps. Unfortunately, Simone, could match the pace of Ranger and finished second by 6.678-seconds – his best series result to date.
Qualifying just 0.289-seconds behind the pole-sitter, Andrew Ranger was the 2008 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series champion, Scott Steckly. As the defending titleholder, his season was off to a good start with a fourth at Autodrome St. Eustache and third at Delaware Speedway. At the beginning of the Dickies 200, Steckly chased the leader Ranger but by lap-15, he fell out of contention and only completed twenty-one-laps.
The Dickies 200 marked the first NCATS race of the season for J.R. Fitzpatrick. Fitzpatrick missed qualifying and was required to start at the rear of the twenty-four car field. Why did he miss qualifying – he was competing in the Nascar Truck race at Michigan (he qualified eighth and finished twenty-first). At Mosport, Fitzpatrick in the No. 84 Chevrolet Impala SS drove through the field and grabbed the final spot on the podium.
Second and third place finishes in the first two rounds gave Ron Beauchamp, Jr. the points lead. The driver of the No. 60 Mopar Dodge Avenger qualified eleventh. During the race, Beauchamp moved up the order and by lap-33, he was in fifth place – his finishing position. Although this was a good result and Beauchamp still led the standings, the point’s gap between him and Andrew Ranger had shrunk to just eight markers.
Kerry Micks’ season was off to a great start – two top-five finishes which included a second place. Although recognized for his oval prowess, Micks was always a threat on the road courses as evidenced by his victories at Montreal and Trois-Rivieres in 2007. At Mosport, he started third in the No. 02 Ford Fusion. Unfortunately, Micks fell out of contention when he had an incident with Don Thomson, Jr. on lap-15.
For the longest time, Robin Buck was acknowledged as the series ‘road course ringer.’ But oval drivers adapted as the schedule included more road circuits. With backing from Active Green+Ross and Durabody, Buck qualified the No. 66 Ford Fusion eighth quickest. During the race, he joined the leaders but on lap-32, Buck received a drive-through penalty for passing during a yellow flag – he finished sixth.
The No. 17 Castrol sponsored Dodge Avenger was driven by D.J. Kennington. Kennington lost an engine in round one at Autodrome St. Eustache but was back on form at Delaware Speedway where he took the victory. He was gridded fifth for the start of the Dickies 200 and ran as high as third. At the checkered flag, Kennington was in fourth place after a late race battle with J.R. Fitzpatrick.
Standing on the top of the rostrum for the first time in 2009 is the 2007 series champion and race winner, Andrew Ranger. To the left of Ranger, is the runner-up and driver of the Crown Modular/United Lumber sponsored Chevrolet Monte Caro SS, Anthony Simone. Completing the podium is J.R. Fitzpatrick who drove the Fitzpatrick Motorsports Chevrolet Impala SS.

11Andrew RangerWAL-MART/Tide / Ford Fusion51-
26Anthony SimoneCrown Modular/United Lumber / Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS51-
313J.R. FitzpatrickFitzpatrick Motorsports / Chevrolet Impala SS51-
45D.J. KenningtonMahindra Tractor/Castrol / Dodge Avenger51-
511Ron Beauchamp, Jr.Mopar/Mobil 1 / Dodge Avenger51-
68Robin BuckActive Green+Ross/Durabody / Ford Fusion51-
719Jeff LapcevichTim Hortons / Chevrolet Impala SS51-
810Jason HathawaySnap-on Tools/Vortex Brake Pads / Dodge Avenger51-
914Howie Scannell, Jr.Lucas Oil/RC Trailers / Dodge Avenger50-
109Mark DilleyDodge/Leland Industries / Dodge Avenger50-
1115Kent NuhnThe Fuel Genie / Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS50-
1217Derek LynchKawartha Speedway / Dodge Avenger50-
1320Pierre BourqueAaron's Dream Machine / Dodge Avenger50-
1412Trevor SeibertLake Excavating/Avion Motorsports / Ford Fusion50-
1521Jason WhiteA&W/Zimmer-Wheaton GMC / Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS50-
163Kerry MicksBeyond Digital Imaging / Ford Fusion49-
1722John FletcherLucas Oil/JBM Leasing / Dodge Avenger49-
1816Jarrad WhissellSMS Equipment/Komatsu / Ford Fusion48-
197Dave WhitlockDickies/NMT / Dodge Avenger28-
202Scott StecklyCanadian Tire/Tow Truck in a Box / Dodge Avenger21-
2124Dexter StaceyWJS Motorsports / Pontiac Grand Prix21Transmission
224Don Thomson, Jr.Home Hardware / Chevrolet Impala SS16Engine
2318Joey HanssenPrime Champ / Dodge Avenger3Accident
2423David ThorndykeThorsons EVT/ / Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS3Mechanical

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018

Return to home page.