The Infiniti / Indy Pro Series made its debut in mid-2002 with an inaugural season of seven races run in conjunction with the Indy Car Racing Series. In 2008 the championship was renamed the Firestone Indy Lights Series when Firestone tires became the primary sponsor.

The fifteen-race schedule kicked off with a doubleheader at Saint Petersburg and concluded in early October at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

  • Grand Prix of St. Petersburg - 1 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • Grand Prix of St. Petersburg - 2 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • Long Beach 100 - Long Beach Street Circuit
  • Kansas Lottery 100 - Kansas Speedway
  • Firestone Freedom 100 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Husar's House of Fine Diamonds 100 - Milwaukee Mile
  • Miller Lite 100 - Iowa Speedway
  • Corning 100 - Watkins Glen International
  • Grand Prix of Toronto - Exhibition Place, Toronto
  • Grand Prix of Edmonton - Edmonton City Centre Airport
  • Kentucky 100 - Kentucky Speedway
  • Mid-Ohio 100 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • Carneros 100 - Infineon Raceway
  • 100 - Chicagoland Speedway
  • Homestead-Miami 100 - Homestead-Miami Speedway

Drivers compete in the Dallara IPS, designed and manufactured for the Infiniti Pro Series. The open-wheel, single-seat racer is equipped with a ground-effect underbody and outboard wings front and rear. The monocoque chassis is constructed using carbon fiber and composites. The Dallara has a minimum weight of 1,430 pounds, which includes all lubricants and coolants used during the event, but does not include fuel or the driver.

Firestone Firehawk racing tires are mounted on 15-inch diameter x 10 front and 15-inch diameter x 14 rear wheels.

The car is powered by a 3.5-liter Infiniti Q45 engine which produces approximately 450 horsepower and is fitted to a Ricardo six forward gear transmission with a sequential shifter.

Infiniti Pro Series costs are tightly controlled by the Indy Racing League, with the Dallara IPS costing $137,900 (including the data acquisition system).

Round eight of the 2009 Firestone Indy Lights Series was held at Watkins Glen International. The Corning 100 was a thirty-lap contest around the eleven-turn 3.337-mile road course.

The points leader, J.R. Hildebrand, collected his first win of the season at Long Beach and earned his second in round eight at Watkins Glen International. Hildebrand qualified fourth fastest in the No. 27 AGR-AFS Racing Dallara IPS. His first pass was on lap-10 when he moved ahead of his teammate, Sebastian Saavedra, for the second spot. On lap-14, Hildebrand got by James Davison for the lead and victory.
Finishing 0.550-seconds behind J.R. Hildebrand was Australian James Davison. Before round eight, he had several top-ten results but had not stepped on the podium. Davison grabbed the pole at Watkins Glen International driving the No. 21 Vision Racing prepared Dallara IPS. He would lead the first fourteen laps before surrendering first place to the eventual winner, J.R. Hildebrand.
Brazilian Felipe Guimaraes didnít make his Firestone Indy Lights Series debut until round eight at Watkins Glen International. Guimaraes proved to be a quick study as he qualified sixth fastest driving the No. 29 Bryan Herta Autosport Dallara IPS. The retirement of James Hinchcliffe and the pass on Charlie Kimball moved him to fourth. On the final lap, Guimaraes got by Sebastian Saavedra for third place.
Charlie Kimball was the fifth fastest qualifier in round eight at Watkins Glen. The driver of the No. 35 Team PBIR moved into fourth place on lap-7 when James Hinchcliffe crashed but lost the position when he was passed by Felipe Guimaraes. On the final lap, Kimball had contact with Sebastian Saavedra in the ĎBus Stopí chicane. Saavedra was penalized for avoidable contact and Kimball went on to finish fourth.
Title contenders, Wade Cunningham and Mario Romancini had a miserable weekend at Watkins Glen International. Entering the weekend, Romancini trailed the championship leader, J.R. Hildebrand, by nineteen points. He started tenth in the No. 5 Revita / Win Brazil / Allied Dallara IPS. Unfortunately, he retired on lap-14 with transmission issues. Romancini was now fifty-eight markers behind Hildebrand.

14J.R. HildebrandDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
21James DavisonDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
36Felipe GuimaraesDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
45Charlie KimballDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
59Richard PhilippeDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
67Daniel HerringtonDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
718Gustavo YacamanDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
814Pablo DonosoDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
916Ana BeatrizDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
1011Martin PlowmanDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
115Mike PotekhenDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
126Stefan WilsonDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
1313Andrew PrendevilleDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
1417Pippa MannDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
1520Ali JacksonDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
1618Sergey MokshantsevDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
1721Rodrigo BarbosaDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
1815Sebastian SaavedraDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
197Wade CunninghamDallara IPS / Infiniti26Accident
2022Mario RomanciniDallara IPS / Infiniti14Transmission
2114James HinchcliffeDallara IPS / Infiniti7Accident

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.