In 2006, the International Motor Sport Association (IMSA) introduced IMSA Lites. The series was created to provide an opportunity for drivers competing at the amateur level to advance to a professional series or to prepare for a category such as the American Le Mans (ALMS). The mission is to develop future drivers and teams for the ALMS. Three years later, the series was exceeding IMSA's expectations.

IMSA Lites features three classes of purpose-built sports racing prototypes Lites 1, Lites 2 and Lites 3. The primary factor determining the categorization of a car is engine displacement.

  • Lites 1 (L1) This is the fastest category. The most common vehicle in this group is the Elan DP-02 manufactured by Elan Van Diemen. The DP-02 features a carbon fiber monocoque fitted with an aerodynamic package that includes a front splitter, diffuser and rear wing. The car is powered by a 2.3-liter four-cylinder Mazda MZR motor mounted to a six-speed sequential transmission.
  • Lites 2 (L2) This group includes several chassis and engine combinations. The West WR1000 is a popular choice powered by a 1000-cc Kawasaki ZX engine. The car also uses an electronic paddle-shift system.
  • Lites 3 (L3) Only one car competes in this category. The Van Diemen DP-06, introduced by the Sports Car Club of America in 2002, is powered by a 2.3-liter Mazda MZR engine.

2009 IMSA Lites Championship consisted of seven race weekends, with doubleheaders at each event.

  • March 14-15 Sebring International Raceway
  • May 16-17 Miller Motorsports Park
  • June 13-14 New Jersey Motorsports Park
  • July 8 - Lime Rock Park
  • August 15-16 Road America
  • August 29-30 Mosport International Raceway
  • September 24-25 - Road Atlanta

The penultimate weekend of the 2009 IMSA Lites Championship was held at Mosport International Raceway. Drivers would compete in rounds eleven and twelve on the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course. As was the case in 2008, qualifying had to be canceled due to bad weather. The grid for round eleven was set by the combined fast times from practices one and two.

A field of fifteen competitors exits Mosport International Raceway's final turn in anticipation of receiving the Starter's flag for round twelve of the 2009 IMSA Lites Championship. On the pole is the local racer Kyle Marcelli in No. 37 LaFarge North America/ Alpine Stars Elan DP-02. Beside Marcelli is the No. 79 Eurosport Racing Elan DP-02 driven by Lucas Downs. Behind the leaders are Matt Downs and Joel Feinberg.
The weekend's first victory went to Matt Downs in the No. 12 Eurosport Racing prepared Elan DP-02. Downs entered round eleven second in the L1 standings, just thirty-one points behind the leader, Joel Feinberg. He qualified ahead of Feinberg the next day and was gridded in the third spot. Unfortunately, Feinberg finished third while Downs finished one position behind him.
John Weisberg led the L2 title chase of the 2009 IMSA Lites Championship, despite missing rounds nine and ten. Weisberg drove the No. 75 West WR1000. He started fourteenth overall and first in class for round eleven and went flag-to-flag for the victory. The next day Weisberg was gridded thirteenth overall and collected his second win. He left Mosport with an insurmountable points lead.
A local favourite, Kyle Marcelli, drove the No. 37 LaFarge North America/ Alpine Stars Elan DP-02. The 2007 Ontario Formula Ford Champion was yet to collect his first IMSA Lites Championship win. Marcelli started in third in the L1 group in the first race of the weekend and finished in the runner-up position. On Sunday, he was gridded on the pole and beat Lucas Downs by a margin of 0.612-seconds.
Lucas Downs entered the penultimate weekend at Mosport International Raceway third in the L1 Championship standings. The driver of the No. 79 Eurosport Racing Elan DP-02 was on the pole for the weekend's first event but lost positions to Matt Downs and Kyle Marcelli to finish third. The next day, he was gridded on the outside of the front row and would lead fourteen laps before finishing in the second position.

1L1Matt DownsElan DP-0221-
2L1Kyle MarcelliElan DP-0221-
3L1Lucas DownsElan DP-0221-
4L1Joel FeinbergElan DP-0221-
5L1Jon BrownsonElan DP-0221-
6L1Charlie ShearsElan DP-0221-
7L1Antonio DownsElan DP-0221-
8L1Johnny MeriggiElan DP-0221-
9L1Anthony NicolosiElan DP-0221-
10L1Jonathan BennnettElan DP-0221-
11L2John WeisbergWest WR100021-
12L2Michal ChlumeckyWest WR100020-
13L2Michael HillWest WR100013Did Not Finish
14L1Tom DrewerElan DP-0213Did Not Finish
15L1Gary GibsonElan DP-026Did Not Finish
16L1James WinslowElan DP-020Did Not Finish

1L1Kyle MarcelliElan DP-0221-
2L1Lucas DownsElan DP-0221-
3L1Joel FeinbergElan DP-0221-
4L1Matt DownsElan DP-0221-
5L1Jon BrownsonElan DP-0221-
6L1Antonio DownsElan DP-0221-
7L1Gary GibsonElan DP-0221-
8L1Tom DrewerElan DP-0221-
9L1Anthony NicolosiElan DP-0221-
10L1Charlie ShearsElan DP-0221-
11L1Jonathan BennnettElan DP-0221-
12L2John WeisbergWest WR100020-
13L2Michael HillWest WR100020-
14L2Michal ChlumeckyWest WR100020-
16L1Johnny MeriggiElan DP-0216Did Not Finish
16L1James WinslowElan DP-020Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.