In 2009, the popular Ontario Formula Ford Challenge series was staged over six weekends. Competitors score championship points in races held on Saturday and Sunday.

The season kicks off in May at Mosport International Raceway during the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. The next two rounds are part of the DAC Trillium Trophy Races at Shannonville Motorsport Park. Then the series returns to Mosport for a doubleheader event during the High Octane Weekend. In late July, competitors make their way to Calabogie Motorsports Park as part of the MCO Ted Powell Memorial Races. This is followed by two events at Mosport - the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy Races and BEMC Indian Summer Races, when the champions are crowned. The CASC-OR Celebration of Motorsport ends the road racing season in Ontario. It includes a non-championship event, called the CanAm Cup, for Formula Ford competitors.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine, which produces120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Two of the most successful cars are constructed in Canada – the Aero and CMV. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs., with the driver. Teams are required to use a spec tire (Dunlop Formula Ford treaded racing tire).

Driver’s compete in one of three classes:

  • FFA – This category is for newer chassis’ built between 1995 and 2009.
  • FFB – This group is for cars constructed between 1985 and 1994.
  • FFC - Older cars built between 1969 and 1984 collect points in this class. The Swift DB1 is not eligible to compete in the category.

Rounds five and six of the 2009 Ontario Formula Ford Challenge were held during the High Octane Weekend at Mosport International Raceway. Drivers would compete in two heat races around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

Dean Baker would finally break Matt White’s string of four consecutive victories in the year’s Ontario Formula Ford Challenge series. Baker, driving the No. 52 Van Diemen RF01, qualified second for the weekend’s first event and moved into the top spot for good midway through the contest. The next day, he started on the outside of the front row and traded first-place with White a couple of times before securing the win.
The reigning Ontario Formula Ford Challenge champion and current points leader, Matt White, entered rounds five and six at Mosport International Raceway with an enviable record of four victories in as many starts. White started the weekend by qualifying on the pole in the No. 05 Mortimer Racing prepared Van Diemen RF00. At the halfway point of race one, he was passed by Dean Baker and finished second. He started first in Sunday’s contest but finished behind Baker once again.
Another driver to sweep the weekend was FFB competitor Andrew Mason. Like his FFA counterpart Matt White, Mason had dominated the opening rounds with four victories. Races five and six at Mosport International Raceway would be no different. He started on the class pole and was never challenged in Saturday’s contest. In the finale, Mason was battled with Stephan Adams but prevailed.
Not to be outdone by Matt White and Andrew Mason, FFC competitor Jamie Britnell led the class standings with four consecutive victories entering the High Octane Weekend at Mosport. Britnell qualified on the class poles for both of the weekend’s races, driving the No. 11 Hawke DL2. He dropped down the overall order in round five but went unchallenged for the win. The victory on Sunday was more effortless.
The 1991 and 1992 Canadian Formula Ford Champion, Stephan Adams, was piloting the No. 59 Flagship Racing Services Van Diemen RF92. The High Octane event at Mosport was the FFB competitor’s second race weekend of the year. Adams started mid-pack in race one and charged forward, but it was not enough to catch the winner, Andrew Mason. The next day, he traded the class lead with Mason before finishing second.
Former Ontario Formula Ford Challenge titleholder Shane Jantzi was not having a championship-winning season. Jantzi was entered in both rounds of the BEMC Spring Trophy Races but could not start either contest. Also, he did not participate in the Shannonville weekend. For all intents and purposes, Jantzi’s 2009 campaign started at the High Octane weekend with a pair of third-place finishes.

12A-1Dean BakerVan Diemen RF0113-
21A-2Matt WhiteVan Diemen RF0013-
33A-3Shane JantziVan Diemen RF0213-
411A-4Franc RoironVan Diemen RF0113-
55B-1Andrew MasonVan Diemen RF9013-
612B-2Stephen AdamsVan Diemen RF9213-
714A-5François LeblancVan Diemen RF0513-
89B-3Ivan GrahamCrossle 65F13-
910B-4Gord RossVan Diemen RF9113-
107B-5Mike TabernerVan Diemen RF9213-
1117A-6Fabio UrbanoVan Diemen RF0013-
1216A-7Tony CoveVan Diemen13-
1323B-6Andre LorentVan Diemen RF9113-
1415C-1Jamie BritnellHawke DL213-
158B-7Lew MackenzieVan Diemen RF9212-
1619C-2Ross SmithReynard 84SF12-
1724C-3Allen CraigheadLola T-54012-
184A-8Stefan RzadzinskiVan Diemen RF018-
196A-9Paul KostoffVan Diemen RF988-
2020B-8Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF936Did Not Finish
2121B-9Dave GrimesEuroSwift SC954Did Not Finish
2222C-4Andrew CelovskyReynard 82SF4Did Not Finish
2318B-10Dan PurdyRay GRS920Did Not Finish
-26ACaitlin JohnstonVan Diemen RF97-Did Not Start
-13AMikhail GoikhbergVan Diemen RF01-Did Not Start

12A-1Dean BakerVan Diemen RF0115-
21A-2Matt WhiteVan Diemen RF0015-
33A-3Shane JantziVan Diemen RF0215-
45A-4Stefan RzadzinskiVan Diemen RF0115-
54A-5Caitlin JohnstonVan Diemen RF9715-
66A-6Mikhail GoikhbergVan Diemen RF0115-
77B-1Andrew MasonVan Diemen RF9015-
88B-2Stephen AdamsVan Diemen RF9215-
915A-7Franc RoironVan Diemen RF0115-
1014B-3Ivan GrahamCrossle 65F15-
1113B-4Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9315-
1216A-8François LeblancVan Diemen RF0515-
1317A-9Fabio UrbanoVan Diemen RF0015-
1411A-10Paul KostoffVan Diemen RF9815-
159B-5Mike TabernerVan Diemen RF9215-
1618C-1Jamie BritnellHawke DL214-
1721B-6Andre LorentVan Diemen RF9114-
1820C-2Allen CraigheadLola T-54014-
1919B-7Dave GrimesEuroSwift SC9513-
2010B-8Lew MackenzieVan Diemen RF926Did Not Finish
21-C-3Ross SmithReynard 84SF1Did Not Finish
-12BGord RossVan Diemen RF91-Did Not Start
--ATony CoveVan Diemen-Did Not Start
--CAndrew CelovskyReynard 82SF-Did Not Start
--BDan PurdyRay GRS92-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.