Formula BMW made its European debut in 2002 to provide a complete foundation for a young driver's career.

All drivers in the series can take part in the BMW Education and Coaching Program, which includes:

  • Driving Techniques and Tactics
  • Vehicle Dynamics and Chassis Set-up
  • Fitness Training and Nutrition
  • Media and Public Relations
  • Sponsorship and Sports Management

Some of the successful drivers that have completed in the series include Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Vettel, Christian Klien and Timo Glock.

The Formula BMW was sketched and modeled by DesignworksUSA. The car's body is inspired by the BMW Formula 1 shape. It has a carbon-fiber tub that exceeds FIA safety stands and the bodywork is made from a Kevlar composite. All drivers compete in a Mygale FB02.

The Mygale FB02 has Sachs SP3 adjustable shock absorbers and Eibach coil springs. The suspension is a push rod double wishbone design. The car also has aluminum OZ Racing wheels 8" X13" on the front and 10" X13" on the rear. The championship uses Michelin tires.

The 1300-lb Mygale FB02 is powered by a K1200RS BMW motorcycle engine (124EA). The four-cylinder double overhead camshaft motor has four valves per cylinder and a displacement of 1171cc. The liquid-cooled unit produces 140 bhp. Power is transferred through a Sachs single-plate clutch and a six-speed sequential Hewland gearbox.

The cars can be purchased from BMW Motorsport for $69,500 plus sales tax and import fees.

The first Formula BMW USA race was held in 2004 and sanctioned by the International Motor Sports Association.

The 2009 schedule consisted of fourteen rounds at six circuits.

  • March 21 - Autódromo Miguel E. Abed
  • March 22 - Autódromo Miguel E. Abed
  • April 25 - Virginia International Raceway
  • April 26 - Virginia International Raceway
  • May 16 - Miller Motorsport Park
  • May 17 - Miller Motorsport Park
  • July 18 - Lime Rock Park
  • July 18 - Lime Rock Park
  • August 15 - Road America
  • August 16 - Road America
  • August 29 - Mosport International Raceway
  • August 30 - Mosport International Raceway

The 2009 Formula BMW USA season ended with rounds thirteen and fourteen at Mosport International Raceway. Drivers would contest the overall and rookie titles on the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

Gianmarco Raimondo entered the final weekend after a disqualification and retirement at Road America. The situation would turn around for the Canadian at Mosport International Raceway. Raimondo qualified on the pole and would lead flag-to-flag for his first series victory. He ended 2009 by starting and finishing in the third position. He finished third in the championship standings.
EuroInternational driver Giancarlo Vilarinho and Gabby Chavez took turns leading the championship. After a retirement in Mexico, Vilarinho had a stretch of five consecutive victories. However, a retirement and tenth-place result at Road America ended his title hopes. The driver of the No. 9 Formula BMW would finish third in round thirteen and end the year with a win. Vilarinho was second in the driver standings.
Gabby Chavez started the year with a pair of victories and the points lead. However, his main rival, Giancarlo Vilarinho, would string five wins together to take the top spot in the title chase. Chavez had a superior strategy that resulted in finishing on the podium in every race – his worst result was one third place. At Mosport International Raceway, he collected two second-place finishes and won the crown by forty-eight markers.
The rookie championship came down to the final weekend. The two front runners were Michael Lewis and James Kovacic. Mid-season Lewis’ points total was negatively impacted by a retirement and disqualification. However, the driver of the No. 42 EuroInternational Formula BMW got back in the hunt with two thirds at Road America. Lewis ended the year with a fourth and fifth – enough to secure the title.
Australian James Kovacic finished his first season of the 2009 Formula BMW USA series with a fifth in the final standings and missed the rookie championship by nine points. During the year, Kovacic collected a victory at Lime Rock Park. However, his season unraveled during the final two race weekends. Kovacic retired in round twelve at Road America and did the same in Saturday’s contest at Mosport International Raceway.

11Gianmarco RaimondoMygale FB02 BMW15-
22Gabby ChavesMygale FB02 BMW15-
33Giancarlo VilarinhoMygale FB02 BMW15-
45Alex EllisMygale FB02 BMW15-
54Michael LewisMygale FB02 BMW15-
67J.V. HortoMygale FB02 BMW15-
79Daniel VelaMygale FB02 BMW15-
88Wilson PhilippeMygale FB02 BMW15-
910Martin SalaMygale FB02 BMW15-
1011Barrett MertinsMygale FB02 BMW15-
116James KovacicMygale FB02 BMW1Accident

11Giancarlo VilarinhoMygale FB02 BMW16-
22Gabby ChavesMygale FB02 BMW16-
33Gianmarco RaimondoMygale FB02 BMW16-
44Michael LewisMygale FB02 BMW16-
55James KovacicMygale FB02 BMW16-
67J.V. HortoMygale FB02 BMW16-
79Martin SalaMygale FB02 BMW16-
88Daniel VelaMygale FB02 BMW16-
910Wilson PhilippeMygale FB02 BMW16-
1011Barrett MertinsMygale FB02 BMW16-
116Alex EllisMygale FB02 BMW0Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.