2008 was the inaugural season for the Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup. The Sports Car Club of America Pro Racing division sanctioned the series. The series is limited to thirty drivers aged 16 to 26. Volkswagen is distributing $250,000 in prize money, with the Jetta TDI Cup champion awarded $100,000 to advance their racing career.

Identically prepared Volkswagen Jetta TDI is raced by the competitors. The Jetta uses a four-cylinder 2.0-liter TDI clean diesel engine, which runs on Ultra Low Sulphur Diesel. The power is transferred through a six-speed, double-clutch automatic DSG transmission. The package produces 170-horsepower with 258 ft-lbs of torque.

The cars are fitted 240/640-18” Pirelli racing tires mounted on 8.5 X 18” alloy rims. Stopping the Volkswagen are four-piston calipers with 14” diameter rotors on the front and on the rear single-piston calipers with 10” diameter rotors. A Recaro racing seat, driver-side window safety net, six-point racing harness, FIA roll cage and an FIA-approved on-board fire extinguisher system are installed for safety. The Jetta has a curb weight of 2,844-pounds.

The eight-race season begins at the end of April at Virginia International and ends in October at Road Atlanta. The weekend at New Jersey Motorsports Park will be a doubleheader.

  • April 25-27 - Virginia International Raceway
  • May 17-18 - Mosport International Raceway
  • July 25-27 - Portland International Raceway
  • August 14-17 - Lime Rock Park
  • September 19-20 - Iowa Speedway
  • September 27-28 - New Jersey Motorsports Park
  • October 1-3 - Road Atlanta

The final round of the eight-race 2008 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup was held at Road Atlanta. Drivers would compete in a thirty-minute contest around the twelve-turn 2.54-mile road course.

This was the only event of the season completed without a full course caution period.

The start for the final round (race eight) of the 2008 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup at Road Atlanta. Leading the field of twenty-nine drivers into corner one is the pole-sitter, Mark Pombo, in the No. 20 FUL / Raceworks VW Jetta TDI. Beside Pombo is the other front-row starter and the second fastest qualifier, Chris Holman, driving the No. 31 Universal Technical Institute VW Jetta TDI.
Liam Kenney opened the season at Virginia International Raceway with a twenty-sixth-place finish. After that event, his results improved. The driver of the No. 35 Hitachi Vion VW Jetta TDI entered the finale with three podium finishes, one of which was a victory and a chance to earn the title. Kenney qualified sixth fastest but was on a mission to collect the championship. He was first to the checker but was five points short of the crown.
Josh Hurley would have to finish at least second to secure the title. Hurley also had a poor start to the season with a twenty-fourth place in the opener. However, during the rest of the year, Hurley never finished worse than seventh place and won at Portland. He qualified fourth at Road Atlanta and finished second. He captured the championship, $100,000 and a trip to Germany to compete in an ADAC Polo Cup race.
Another title contender was Mark Pombo. The local racer won the season opener at Virginia International Raceway and entered Road Atlanta third in the title chase. Pombo won the pole in the No. 20 FUL / Raceworks VW Jetta TDI in the qualifying session. Unfortunately, he slid down the race order and finished third. Pombo would also finish third in the final standings.
Canadian Chris Holman, drove the No. 31 Universal Technical Institute VW Jetta TDI. Holman’s best race of the season was at his home track Mosport International Raceway where he qualified twelfth and finished second on a damp circuit. He was gridded second for the thirty-minute contest at Road Atlanta. However, Holman could not maintain the position and finished fourth. He was sixth in the championship standings.
Michael DeNino’s season included a couple of highlights. DeNino qualified on the pole at Lime Rock Park and collected a third-place result at Iowa Speedway after starting twelfth. He was the third fastest in the qualifying session in the final round at Road Atlanta, driving the No. 36 Castrol VW Jetta TDI. DeNino kept pace with the leaders during the race but lost positions to Liam Kenney and Josh Hurley and finished fifth.

16Liam KenneyVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
24Josh HurleyVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
31Mark PomboVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
42Chris HolmanVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
53Michael DeNinoVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
67Caleb KenneyVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
75Juan Pablo Sierra LendleVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
88David JurcaVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
912Andy LeeVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
1013Nick MancusoVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
1111Taylor BroekemeierVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
129Chris CastagnaVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
1316Gary Williams Jr.Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
1417Evan PflockVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
1519Adam CrepinVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
1624Andrew CordeiroVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
1715Adam LoveVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
1821Chris KuenningVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
1918David RichertVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
2023Wyatt DallenbachVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
2114Adam KretschmerVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
2122Noah ArundelVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
2326Chad BrassfieldVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
2427Ryan BuetzerVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
2525David HeinzVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup18-
2610Timmy MegenbierVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup17-
2720Jake DallenbachVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup10Did Not Finish
28-Jimmy UnderhillVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup-Did Not Start
29-Derek JonesVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022

Return to home page.