2008 was the inaugural season for the Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup. The Sports Car Club of America Pro Racing division sanctioned the series. The series is limited to thirty drivers aged 16 to 26. Volkswagen is distributing $250,000 in prize money, with the Jetta TDI Cup champion awarded $100,000 to advance their racing career.

Identically prepared Volkswagen Jetta TDI is raced by the competitors. The Jetta uses a four-cylinder 2.0-liter TDI clean diesel engine, which runs on Ultra Low Sulphur Diesel. The power is transferred through a six-speed, double-clutch automatic DSG transmission. The package produces 170-horsepower with 258 ft-lbs of torque.

The cars are fitted 240/640-18” Pirelli racing tires mounted on 8.5 X 18” alloy rims. Stopping the Volkswagen are four-piston calipers with 14” diameter rotors on the front and on the rear single-piston calipers with 10” diameter rotors. A Recaro racing seat, driver-side window safety net, six-point racing harness, FIA roll cage and an FIA-approved on-board fire extinguisher system are installed for safety. The Jetta has a curb weight of 2,844-pounds.

The eight-race season begins at the end of April at Virginia International and ends in October at Road Atlanta. The weekend at New Jersey Motorsports Park will be a doubleheader.

  • April 25-27 - Virginia International Raceway
  • May 17-18 - Mosport International Raceway
  • July 25-27 - Portland International Raceway
  • August 14-17 - Lime Rock Park
  • September 19-20 - Iowa Speedway
  • September 27-28 - New Jersey Motorsports Park
  • October 1-3 - Road Atlanta

Round two of the 2008 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup was held at Mosport International Raceway. Drivers would compete in a thirty-minute contest around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

Leading the field of twenty-nine drivers on lap one of the 2008 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup at Mosport International Raceway is the pole-sitter, Josh Hurley, in the No. 11 Oakley VW Jetta TDI. Driving the No. 18 SCCA Pro Race VW Jetta TDI is the other front starter, Jimmy Underhill. Trailing Underhill is the No. 42 Rick Carling Racing / Athletes Performance VW Jetta TDI of Derek Jones and Ryan Buetzer in the No. 15 VW Jetta TDI.
Before most of the field had exited turn one at Mosport International Raceway, there was an incident. The third fastest qualifier, Ryan Buetzer, in the No. 15 Hitachi Vion VW Jetta TDI, got crossed up and hit the No. 42 Rick Carling Racing / Athletes Performance VW Jetta TDI of Derek Jones. The contact caused chaos and resulted in the retirements of Buetzer, Chris Castagno and Adam Kretschmer. Jones was able to continue.
Former Karting star David Jurca finished third in the opening round of the 2008 Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup. At Mosport International Raceway, he drove the No. 5 Kyosho VW Jetta TDI and qualified in the seventh position. Jurca narrowly missed the first lap incident. After a lengthy caution period to clean up the turn one accident, he survived the challenging conditions, changing from dry to wet, and captured the win.
Local racer Chris Holman qualified twelfth at Virginia International Raceway, where he was the race’s second retirement. The Canadian was looking to redeem himself on his home track. However, it appeared that history may repeat itself when the former Sunoco / Ron Fellows karting competitor was gridded in twelfth for round two. However, Holman, driving the No. 31 Kyosho VW Jetta TDI, had a clean race and finished second.
Jimmy Underhill claimed the final position on the podium for the second consecutive race. Underhill piloted the No. 18 SCCA Pro Racing VW Jetta TDI. He recorded the second-fastest time during the qualifying session at Mosport International Raceway. Underhill was fortunate to be ahead of the opening lap incident in corner one, which eliminated three cars. Unable to hold off David Jurca and Chris Holman, he finished third.
Former NASCAR competitor and two-time SCCA Trans-Am champion Wally Dallenbach, Jr, had two sons who entered in this year’s Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup. The No. 40 Auto Logistics VW Jetta TDI was driven by Jake, who finished eleventh at Virginia International Raceway and Wyatt was in the No. 23 D.C. United VW Jetta TDI. Wyatt delivered a better performance in round two. He qualified sixteenth and finished fourth.

17David JurcaVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
212Chris HolmanVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
32Jimmy UnderhillVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
416Wyatt DallenbachVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
51Josh HurleyVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
618Caleb KenneyVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
719Andy LeeVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
823Mark PomboVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
914Michael DeNinoVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
1020Liam KenneyVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
1128Nick MancusoVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
1211Adam LoveVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
1326Gary Williams Jr.Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
1429Timmy MegenbierVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
1522Chris KuenningVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
1624Jake DallenbachVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
1713John ShimVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
188David RichertVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
1927Taylor BroekemeierVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
2025James KirkhamVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
2110Chad BrassfieldVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup11-
2221Juan Pablo Sierra LendleVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup10-
236Andrew CordeiroVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup9-
244Derek JonesVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup9-
2515Adam CrepinVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup8-
2617Evan PflockVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup8-
275Chris CastagnaVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup0Did Not Finish
283Ryan BuetzerVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup0Did Not Finish
299Adam KretschmerVolkswagen Jetta TDI Cup0Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022

Return to home page.