In 2006, the International Motor Sport Association (IMSA) introduced IMSA Lites. The series was created to provide an opportunity for drivers competing at the amateur level to advance to a professional series or to prepare for a category such as the American Le Mans (ALMS). The mission is to develop future drivers and teams for the ALMS. Three years later, the series was exceeding IMSA's expectations.

IMSA Lites features three classes of purpose-built sports racing prototypes – Lites 1, Lites 2 and Lites 3. The primary factor determining the categorization of a car is engine displacement.

  • Lites 1 (L1) – This is the fastest category. The most common vehicle in this group is the Elan DP-02 manufactured by Elan Van Diemen. The DP-02 features a carbon fiber monocoque fitted with an aerodynamic package that includes a front splitter, diffuser and rear wing. The car is powered by a 2.3-liter four-cylinder Mazda MZR motor mounted to a six-speed sequential transmission.
  • Lites 2 (L2) – This group includes several chassis and engine combinations. The West WR1000 is a popular choice powered by a 1000-cc Kawasaki ZX engine. The car also uses an electronic paddle-shift system.
  • Lites 3 (L3) – Only one car competes in this category. The Van Diemen DP-06, introduced by the Sports Car Club of America in 2002, is powered by a 2.3-liter Mazda MZR engine.

2008 IMSA Lites Championship consisted of six race weekends, with doubleheaders at each event.

  • March 13-14 – Sebring International Raceway
  • May 17-18 – Miller Motorsports Park
  • July 11-12 - Lime Rock Park
  • August 23-24 – Mosport International Raceway
  • October 2-3 - Road Atlanta
  • October 18-19 – Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

In addition to a driver’s championship, there are also titles for Teams and Constructors.

The fourth weekend of the 2008 IMSA Lites Championship was held at Mosport International Raceway. Drivers would compete in rounds seven and eight on the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course. Poor weather conditions prevented the drivers from qualifying. The grid for round seven was set by the combined fast times from practices one and two.

Nineteen competitors enter Motorsports International Raceway’s turn nine for the start of round eight for the 2008 IMSA Lites Championship. On the pole is Jonathan Goring in the No. 14 Inspire Motorsports Elan DP-02. On the outside of Goring is the No. 7 Primetime Race Group Elan DP-02 of Joel Feinberg. Row two is occupied by the No. 21 Elan DP-02 of Charlie Shears and Lucas Downs driving the No. 79 entry.
The L1 category of the 2008 IMSA Lites series was being dominated by Jonathan Goring. Goring drove the No. 14 Inspire Motorsports Elan DP-02. In rounds seven and eight at Mosport, he added another two victories to his total. On Saturday, Goring started on the pole and went flag-to-flag to win by a margin of 29.867-seconds. He delivered the same performance in the finale and won by 16.840-seconds.
Australian Tom Drewer was having a tremendous amount of success in the L2 division of the 2008 IMSA Lites Championship. Drewer piloted the No. 45 West WR1000 prepared by PVM Racing and had racked up several class victories prior to his visit to Mosport International Raceway. In round seven, Drewer grabbed the victory after starting twelfth overall and first in class. On Sunday, he encountered an issue and finished third.
There were only two L3 entries at Mosport International Raceway and they happened to be teammates. The No. 5 KC Racing Van Diemen DP-06 was driven by Sports Car Club of America veteran Chris Funk. His teammate was Kelly Toombs in the No. 36 Van Diemen. The points leader, Funk, captured the victory in the opening race. The honours for Sunday’s contest went to Toombs.
Ricky Taylor, the son of sportscar champion Wayne Taylor, competed in the opening at Sebring International Raceway driving an Elan DP-02. When the series made its stop at Mosport, Taylor was in the L2 category No. 27 West WR1000 with backing from Brach’s. In the weekend’s first contest, he finished five laps behind the winner in third place. Taylor picked up the win in the final event when Tom Drewer had issues.

1L1Jonathan GoringElan DP-0224-
2L1Joel FeinbergElan DP-0224-
3L1Lucas DownsElan DP-0224-
4L1Jon BrownsonElan DP-0224-
5L1Johnny MeriggiElan DP-0224-
6L1Matt DownsElan DP-0224-
7L1Charlie ShearsElan DP-0224-
8L1Jonathan GoreElan DP-0224-
9L1Gary GibsonElan DP-0223-
10L1Anthony NicolosiElan DP-0223-
11L2Tom DrewerWest WR100023-
12L1Jarrett BoonElan DP-0223-
13L2Eric VassianWest WR100023-
14L1Michael MallinenElan DP-0223-
15L1Fred KaimerElan DP-0223-
16L1Richard BerryElan DP-0223-
17L3Chris FunkVan Diemen DP-0622-
18L3Kelly ToombsVan Diemen DP-0622-
19L2Jordan TaylorWest WR100018Did Not Finish
20L2Ray LangstonWest WR100017Did Not Finish
21L2Alain NadalWest WR100014Did Not Finish
22L1Antonio DownsElan DP-020Did Not Finish
23L1Dan WeylandElan DP-020Did Not Finish

1L1Jonathan GoringElan DP-0221-
2L1Joel FeinbergElan DP-0221-
3L1Lucas DownsElan DP-0221-
4L1Charlie ShearsElan DP-0221-
5L1Matt DownsElan DP-0221-
6L1Jon BrownsonElan DP-0221-
7L1Johnny MeriggiElan DP-0221-
8L1Jonathan GoreElan DP-0221-
9L2Jordan TaylorWest WR100021-
10L1Jarrett BoonElan DP-0221-
11L1Fred KaimerElan DP-0221-
12L2Eric VassianWest WR100021-
13L1Michael MallinenElan DP-0221-
14L1Richard BerryElan DP-0220-
15L3Kelly ToombsVan Diemen DP-0619-
16L3Chris FunkVan Diemen DP-0619-
17L2Tom DrewerWest WR100012Did Not Finish
18L1Gary GibsonElan DP-0211Did Not Finish
19L1Anthony NicolosiElan DP-027Did Not Finish
20L1Antonio DownsElan DP-02-Did Not Start
21L1Dan WeylandElan DP-02-Did Not Start
22L2Alain NadalWest WR1000-Did Not Start
23L2Ray LangstonWest WR1000-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.