The 2008 Ontario Formula Ford Challenge series is conducted over six weekends. Competitors score championship points in races held on Saturday and Sunday.

The season kicks off in May at Mosport International Raceway during the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. The next two rounds are part of the DAC Trillium Trophy Races at Shannonville Motorsport Park. Then the series returns to Mosport for a doubleheader event during the Father’s Day weekend. In late July, competitors make their only visit to Calabogie Motorsports Park as part of the MCO Ted Powell Memorial Races. This event is followed by the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy and BEMC Indian Summer Races at Mosport. The CASC-OR Celebration of Motorsport ends the road racing season in Ontario. It includes a non-championship event, called the CanAm Cup, for Formula Ford competitors.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine, which produces120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Two of the most successful cars are constructed in Canada – the Aero and CMV. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs., with the driver. Teams are required to use a spec tire (Dunlop Formula Ford treaded racing tire).

Driver’s compete in one of three classes:

  • FFA – This category is for newer chassis’ built between 1995 and 2008.
  • FFB – This group is for cars constructed between 1985 and 1994.
  • FFC - Older cars built between 1969 and 1984 collect points in this class. The Swift DB1 is not eligible to compete in the category.

Rounds nine and ten of the 2008 Ontario Formula Ford Challenge were held during the BARC Touring Trophy Races at Mosport International Raceway. Drivers would compete in two heat races around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

Last season Matt White joined Mortimer Racing and missed claiming the Ontario Formula Ford Challenge title by twenty-two-points. This year, White returned in the familiar No. 05 Van Diemen RF00. After eight rounds, he led the championship with seven podium finishes, of which four were victories. White would continue his winning ways in races nine and ten – leading start-to-finish in both contests.
Finishing behind Matt White on both days of the BARC Touring Trophy weekend was Dean Baker. Baker shared the front row with White for the weekend’s first contest but could not match his speed in the rain. The driver of the No. 52 Van Diemen finished in the runner-up position, albeit one lap behind White. On Sunday, in better conditions, Baker started in the same spot and went unchallenged for a second-place result.
Caitlin Johnston made her series debut in 2007. After a slow start to this season, Johnston scored a pair of fifth-place finishes at the Father’s Day weekend event. She qualified fourth fastest for round nine at Mosport driving the No. 5 Mortimer Racing Van Diemen RF97 and inherited a third-place finish when Shane Jantzi retired. In the finale, Johnston started and finished in the third position.
During the off-season, the reigning Ontario Formula Ford Challenge FFB champion, Lew MacKenzie, replaced his PRS RH02 with a Van Diemen RF90. MacKenzie entered the weekend at Mosport with five class victories and the points lead. He was the fastest in the FFB category for Saturday’s contest and earned another win. MacKenzie started on the pole in the finale but finished in the third position.
FFB competitor Steve Bodrug didn’t start his season until the Father’s Day Weekend at Mosport but earned third and fourth-place finishes. His next event was the BARC Touring Trophy races. Unfortunately, the wet condition in race one did not agree with the driver of the No. 41 Van Diemen RF93 and he retired on lap-1. Bodrug redeemed himself on Sunday. He started third but won the category.
Another driver challenged by the wet conditions in Saturday’s contest was Eric Nielsen. Nielsen was gridded eighth overall and second in the FFB category driving the No. 60 Van Diemen RF92. At the checkered flag, he was fifth in his group. The next day, Neilson started from the second row - on the class pole. Unable to hold-off a hard-charging Steve Bodrug, he finished in the runner-up position.
Last season, Ivan Graham campaigned a Reynard 84SF in FFB, but this year he was piloting his familiar No. 3 Crossle 65F. Graham opened the year with second and third-place results at the BEMC Spring Trophy Races - his best finishes to date. During round nine at Mosport, he equalled that result with another runner-up result. Unfortunately , in the finale Graham slipped down the order and finished fourth.

11A-1Matt WhiteVan Diemen RF0010-
22A-2Dean BakerVan Diemen RF019-
34A-3Caitlin JohnstonVan Diemen RF019-
47B-1Lew MackenzieVan Diemen RF909-
56A-4Brad BakerVan Diemen RF019-
610A-5Rick DoktorVan Diemen RF009-
711B-2Ivan GrahamCrossle 65F9-
820A-6François LeblancVan Diemen RF979-
915B-3Dave GrimesEuroSwift SC959-
1014B-4Sean CadneyVan Diemen RF929-
118B-5Eric NielsonVan Diemen RF929-
1217C-1Mike LeeVan Diemen RF929-
1316C-2Ross SmithReynard 84SF8-
1413A-7Michael LorraineLola T-540E8-
1518C-3Andrew CelovskyReynard 84SF8-
169A-8Steve TzountzourisReynard 82SF5Did Not Finish
1719B-6Benny CannellaVan Diemen RF002Did Not Finish
185A-9Dan BurchillVan Diemen RF881Did Not Finish
1912B-7Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF981Did Not Finish
203A-10Shane JantziVan Diemen RF020Did Not Finish

11A-1Matt WhiteVan Diemen RF0012-
22A-2Dean BakerVan Diemen RF0112-
34A-3Caitlin JohnstonVan Diemen RF0112-
47A-4Dan BurchillVan Diemen RF8812-
55A-5Rick DoktorVan Diemen RF0012-
610B-1Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9812-
74B-2Eric NielsonVan Diemen RF9212-
86B-3Lew MackenzieVan Diemen RF9012-
99B-4Ivan GrahamCrossle 65F12-
1013A-6François LeblancVan Diemen RF9712-
1118C-1Ross SmithReynard 84SF12-
1215C-2Mike LeeLola T-540E12-
1311A-7Steve TzountzourisReynard 82SF12-
1416B-5Benny CannellaVan Diemen RF0012-
1514A-8Michael LorraineVan Diemen RF9812-
1612B-6Sean CadneyVan Diemen RF9211-
1717C-3Andrew CelovskyReynard 84SF8-
188A-9Brad BakerVan Diemen RF010Did Not Finish
--AShane JantziVan Diemen RF02-Did Not Start
--BDave GrimesEuroSwift SC95-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.