2007 was the second season for the SCCA Pro Racing SIRIUS Satellite Radio Mazda MX-5 Cup. The series continued to grow and close competitive contests attracted racers and caught the attention of fans. The championship was projected to become the number one spec professional series in the world.

The series is part of the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development Ladder that promotes champions of Mazda series to the next level of their career. The motivation for drivers to enter the MX-5 Cup division is an opportunity to earn a factory-supported ride in next year’s SCCA Pro Racing Speed World Challenge Touring Car Championship, which is valued at $250,000.

All Mazda MX-5 Cup cars receive only minor upgrades. Bolt-on modifications include a new intake manifold and exhaust system, which increases the engine output from 170 to 200-horsepower. All the vehicles are equipped with a six-speed manual transmission and a limited-slip differential.

The suspension uses a coil-over kit with double adjustable shock absorbers and roll bars. Khumo tires are mounted on 17X8” wheels. Brake pads, fluid and lines are upgraded for the demands of racing.

For safety, the Mazdas are fitted with an eight-point roll-cage welded into the car, racing seatbelts and a fire extinguishing system.

The season consists of eight 45-minute timed races. The first event of 2007 will be held in early-April at Houston. Three weeks later, teams travel to Road Atlanta for round two. In May, the championship makes a west-coast swing for contests at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and Portland International Raceway. Following these two races, drivers will participate in a double-header at the Burke Lakefront Airport in Cleveland. Then the series heads north of the border to compete in the penultimate round on the streets of Trois-Rivieres. The finale is held in September at Miller Motorsports Park.

Round seven of the 2007 SCCA Pro Racing SIRIUS Satellite Radio Mazda MX-5 Cup was held at Trois-Rivieres. Drivers would compete on the eleven-turn 1.521-mile temporary street circuit for 45-minutes.

Twenty-nine competitors sit on the grid at Trois-Rivieres for the penultimate round of the 2007 SCCA Pro Racing SIRIUS Satellite Radio Mazda MX-5 Cup. On the pole is the points leader, Jason Saini, in the No. 28 Team MER Mazda MX-5 Cup. On the outside of the front row is the No. 88 Western Industries Mazda MX-5 Cup of Pratt Cole. Behind the top two qualifiers are Saini’s teammate, Andrew Caddell and Jesse Combs.
The points leader, Jason Saini, entered the penultimate round with four wins and could secure the championship with a victory at Trois-Rivieres. Saini started his quest of wrapping up the title early by qualifying on the pole. In the race, he led flag-to-flag driving the No. 28 Mazda MX-5. It wasn’t easy; during the contest, there were three full-course cautions which allowed the other drivers to challenge him.
Driving the No. 56 BSI / Team Garcia / MOMO Mazda MX-5 Cup was Todd Buras. At Trois-Rivieres, Buras delivered his best performance of the season. He qualified sixth fastest and used the restarts after the caution periods to gain positions. This strategy worked and put him on the tail of the race leader, Jason Saini. Time and a questionable gearbox prevented Buras from challenging Saini and he finished in the runner-up spot.
Andrew Caddell was one of three drivers that had a mathematical chance of clinching the championship. The highlight of Caddell’s season was a victory in round four at Portland International Raceway. At Trois-Rivieres, he qualified third and started behind his teammate and points leader, Jason Saini. Caddell remained in contention during the race - passing Pratt Cole but losing a spot to Todd Buras, he finished third.
The other competitor with a shot of catching Jason Saini was Alara Racing’s Ara Malkhassian. Malkhassian scored his only victory of the year in race two at Road Atlanta. Driving the No. 11 Mazda MX-5 Cup, he was seventh fastest in the qualifying session. During the forty-five-minute race, Malkhassian advanced three positions and was in fourth place at the checkered flag.
The 2007 podium for the penultimate round of the SCCA Pro Racing SIRIUS Satellite Radio Mazda MX-5 Cup. In the center is the winner and new series champion, Jason Saini. Saini swept the weekend, he led flag-to-flag and set a new lap record. On the right side of the rostrum is the runner-up, Todd Buras, who had his best finish of the year. Andrew Caddell, the third-place finisher, occupies the final position on the podium.

11Jason SainiTeam MER / SaferRacer.com - Mazda MX-529-
26Todd BurasBSI / Team Garcia - Mazda MX-529-
33Andrew CaddellTeam MER / Aim Sport - Mazda MX-529-
47Ara MalkhassianAlara Racing - Mazda MX-529-
52Pratt ColeDEX / Western Companies - Mazda MX-529-
65Mark Jenkinstraxxas.com - Mazda MX-529-
710Brad McAllisterH&M Motorsports - Mazda MX-529-
813Mike Jenkinstraxxas.com - Mazda MX-529-
911Andrew CarbonellBSI / Team Garcia - Mazda MX-529-
1017Forest BarberFeed The Need - Mazda MX-529-
1116Patrick DempseyTeam MER / AutismSpeaks.org - Mazda MX-529-
1219Barry FrombergAlara Racing - Mazda MX-529-
1318Randy Hale IIIHale Motorsports - Mazda MX-529-
1426Bill SweedlerPRX Comosport - Mazda MX-529-
1522Dr. Carlos Tesler-MabeAlara Racing - Mazda MX-529-
164Jesse CombsAlara Racing - Mazda MX-529-
1728Harrison WilliamsAlbrecht & Associates - Mazda MX-529-
1820Mike GattoBSI / Team Garcia - Mazda MX-529-
1924Brad AdamsTeam MER - Mazda MX-529-
2023Donnie BarnesTeam MER - Mazda MX-528-
2127Dale AlexanderAlexander Motorsports - Mazda MX-528-
2229Ed BrownPatron Tequila - Mazda MX-528-
2314Rick BellewM&M Motorsports - Mazda MX-526-
2415John KuitwaardAlex's Lemonade - Mazda MX-526Accident
2512Robert MichaelianHooverspeed - Mazda MX-518Mechanical
2625Chris SarianSarWood Racing - Mazda MX-514Accident
278Matt CrossHooverspeed - Mazda MX-511Mechanical
2821Kim OuyeHooverspeed - Mazda MX-55Mechanical
299Tim ProbertAlara Racing - Mazda MX-50Accident

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.