2007 was the second season for the SCCA Pro Racing SIRIUS Satellite Radio Mazda MX-5 Cup. The series continued to grow and close competitive contests attracted racers and caught the attention of fans. The championship was projected to become the number one spec professional series in the world.

The series is part of the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development Ladder that promotes champions of Mazda series to the next level of their career. The motivation for drivers to enter the MX-5 Cup division is an opportunity to earn a factory-supported ride in next year’s SCCA Pro Racing Speed World Challenge Touring Car Championship, which is valued at $250,000.

All Mazda MX-5 Cup cars receive only minor upgrades. Bolt-on modifications include a new intake manifold and exhaust system, which increases the engine output from 170 to 200-horsepower. All the vehicles are equipped with a six-speed manual transmission and a limited-slip differential.

The suspension uses a coil-over kit with double adjustable shock absorbers and roll bars. Khumo tires are mounted on 17X8” wheels. Brake pads, fluid and lines are upgraded for the demands of racing.

For safety, the Mazdas are fitted with an eight-point roll-cage welded into the car, racing seatbelts and a fire extinguishing system.

The season consists of eight 45-minute timed races. The first event of 2007 will be held in early-April at Houston. Three weeks later, teams travel to Road Atlanta for round two. In May, the championship makes a west-coast swing for contests at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and Portland International Raceway. Following these two races, drivers will participate in a double-header at the Burke Lakefront Airport in Cleveland. Then the series heads north of the border to compete in the penultimate round on the streets of Trois-Rivieres. The finale is held in September at Miller Motorsports Park.

The final round of the 2007 SCCA Pro Racing SIRIUS Satellite Radio Mazda MX-5 Cup was held at Miller Motorsports Park. Drivers would compete on the twenty-three turn 4.486-mile road course for forty-five minutes.

In the season finale, Andrew Caddell captured his second-career SCCA Pro Racing SIRIUS Satellite Radio Mazda MX-5 Cup pole. Caddell competed in the No. 30 Team MER / Aim Sport / Pinnacle Mazda MX-5. At the start of the race, he missed a shift and fell to the fifth spot. Caddell began his journey forward and was in second by lap-8. One circuit later, he moved into first for the win and second in the championship.
The No. 19 Hooverspeed / Shopzilla.com Mazda MX-5 was piloted by Bob Michaelian. During the qualifying session, Michaelian recorded the third-fastest time, which was his best effort of the season. He had a relatively quiet race while all the action occurred behind or in front of him. Michaelian crossed the finish line in third-place but was awarded second when Ara Malkhassian was disqualified for aggressive driving.
Todd Buras is always a threat to win; however, his qualifying effort left him one position short of the top ten. Although Buras was scheduled to start eleventh in the No. 56 BSI/ Team Garcia / MOMO / Joe Gibbs Mazda MX-5, he would enter the race from the pit lane. He charged to the front and battled with Pratt Cole. Buras got the upper hand and finished fourth but inherited third when Ara Malkhassian was disqualified.
Local resident and three-time SCCA National E Production Champion Pratt Cole drove the No. 88 DEX / Western Companies / RPM Mazda MX-5. Cole qualified a disappointing fourteenth for Saturday's contest. He would become another beneficiary of Ara Malkhassian's aggressive driving penalty. Cole exchanged positions several times on the final lap with Todd Buras before finishing fourth in the race and championship.
Entering the season finale, Jason Saini had already clinched this year's MX-5 title and won a ride in the 2008 SCCA SPEED World Challenge Touring Car Championship. At Miller Motorsports Park, he qualified on the outside of the front row in the No. 28 Team MER / Saferacer.com Mazda MX-5. A missed shift by Saini's teammate, Andrew Caddell, allowed him to take the lead. However, he had transmission troubles and finished fifth.
The 2008 podium for round two of the SCCA Pro Racing Playboy Mazda MX-5 Cup. In the center is the winner, Rob Huffmaster, who also earned the Hawk Hot Lap award for recording the race’s fastest lap. On the left side of the rostrum is the point’s leader and runner-up finisher, Eric Foss. Brett Smrz, who went from twenty-second place to third in twenty-one-laps, occupied the final position on the podium.

11Andrew CaddellTeam MER/AimSport - Mazda MX-511-
23Bob MichaelianHooverspeed - Mazda MX-511-
311Todd BurasBSI Racing/Team Garcia - Mazda MX-511-
414Pratt ColeDEX/Western Companies - Mazda MX-511-
52Jason SainiSaferRacer.com - Mazda MX-511-
629Charles EspenlaubPatron Tequila - Mazda MX-511-
713Barry A. FrombergAlara Racing/Barry Fromberg - Mazda MX-511-
821Andrew CarbonellBSI Racing/Team Garcia - Mazda MX-511-
99Rick BellewM&M Motorsports - Mazda MX-511-
1030Patrick DempseySaferRacer.com - Mazda MX-511-
1124Chris SarianZamp Helmets - Mazda MX-511-
124Matt CrossHooverspeed - Mazda MX-511-
138Mike Jenkinstraxxas.com - Mazda MX-511-
1415Brad McAllisterACE Surgical Supply - Mazda MX-511-
1517Tim ProbertAlara Racing/Tim Probert - Mazda MX-511-
1619Mike GattoBSI Racing/Team Garcia - Mazda MX-511-
1726Randy HaleHoleintheWallCamp/Hale Prop - Mazda MX-511-
1818Allison MalkhassianAlara Racing - Mazda MX-511-
1927Bill SweedlerPRX Comosport - Mazda MX-511-
2020Rick SkeltonTeam MER/SafeRacer.com - Mazda MX-511-
2125Dr. Carlos Tesler-MabeAlara Racing - Mazda MX-511-
2223Brad AdamsTeam MER - Mazda MX-511-
2322John KuitwaardAlex's Lemonade - Mazda MX-511-
2428Ian ZieringPatron Tequila - Mazda MX-511-
256Frankie MunizTeam MER - Mazda MX-510-
2610Jesse CombsAlara Racing - Mazda MX-50Accident
277Simona DeSilvestroHooverspeed - Mazda MX-50Accident
2816Kim OuyeHooverspeed - Mazda MX-50Accident
-13Ara MalkhassianAlara Racing - Mazda MX-511Disqualified
-5Mark Jenkinstraxxas.com - Mazda MX-53Disqualified

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.