The Motorsport Club of Ottawa presented the Ted Powell Memorial Race Weekend at Calabogie Motorsports Park on July 28 & 29.

This was the Canadian Automobile Sport Clubs – Ontario Region’s first visit to the new circuit. Unfortunately, a lack of Track Marshals forced race organizers to use the shorter Stadium Layout (2.81-km) rather than the Full Layout (5.05-km).

The Motorsport Club of Ottawa (MCO) is a non-profit group founded in 1949. MCO, one of the founding members of the Canadian Automobile Sports Clubs (CASC), is affiliated with the national motorsport organizing body - Automobile Sportif Nationale (ASN) Canada FIA Inc. - through the Ontario Region (CASC-OR).

In Ontario, amateur competitors race at Mosport International Raceway, Shannonville Motorsport Park and the new Calabogie Motorsports Park to earn points towards the regional titles. Championships are contested in the following categories:

  • Grand Touring Category – Five classes are identified as Grand Touring – they include GT1, GTA, GTB, GTC and GTD. The vehicles competing in these classes are prepared to similar rules. They are grouped according to their performance (based on the bracket that a car/driver combination performs). The quickest class, GT1, features cars such as the Ford Mustang and Chevrolet Corvette, while at the other end of the spectrum is GTD, which includes vehicles such as the Honda Civic and Volkswagen Rabbit. Some of these cars may be constructed with a tube-frame chassis.
  • Castrol Canadian Touring Car Championship (CCTCC) – The CCTCC replaces the popular Ontario Touring GT Championship. Prepared to rules similar to the Grand Touring category, this series has three classes based on engine displacement and horsepower – GT, Touring and Super Touring.
  • Formula Category – These are purpose-built race cars. This is the largest category and there are a variety of regulations that govern these open-wheel cars.
    • Formula 1200 - Uses Volkswagen components and is powered by a 1200-cc air-cooled engine.
    • Formula Ford A and B (Diamond Class) - Utilize the four-cylinder 1600-cc Ford motor with older chassis’ competing in the B category. Drivers score points towards the Ontario Formula Ford Challenge.
    • Formula Libre is a race group that includes many classes; some of the more popular are:
      • Formula First - Utilizes Volkswagen parts but is powered by a 1600-cc air-cooled motor.
      • Formula 2000 - These winged vehicles use a 2.0-liter Ford four-cylinder power-plant.
      • Formula 4 – Is another winged class with the most liberal rules.
  • Sports Racer Category – These are purpose-built closed wheel race cars. The class includes a variety of chassis’ which may be constructed by a competitor or a race car manufacturer. There is also a wide range of engine options used by the teams.
  • Vintage Automobile Racing Association of Canada – Also competes at CASC-OR weekends and have several classes depending on the age and type of vehicle. Categories include open and closed wheel Historic and Vintage as well as Group 70 for cars produced from the 1970s to 1986.

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.