In 2006, the International Motor Sport Association (IMSA) introduced IMSA Lites. The series was created to provide an opportunity for drivers competing at the amateur level to advance to a professional series or to prepare for a category such as the American Le Mans (ALMS). The mission is to develop future drivers and teams for the ALMS.

IMSA Lites features three classes of purpose-built sports racing prototypes – Lites 1, Lites 2 and Lites 3. The primary factor determining the categorization of a car is engine displacement.

  • Lites 1 (L1) – This is the fastest category. The most common vehicle in this group is the Elan DP-02 manufactured by Elan Van Diemen. The DP-02 features a carbon fiber monocoque fitted with an aerodynamic package that includes a front splitter, diffuser and rear wing. The car is powered by a 2.3-liter four-cylinder Mazda MZR motor mounted to a six-speed sequential transmission.
  • Lites 2 (L2) – This group includes several chassis and engine combinations. The West WR1000 is a popular choice powered by a 1000-cc Kawasaki ZX engine. The car also uses an electronic paddle-shift system.
  • Lites 3 (L3) – Only one car competes in this category. The Van Diemen DP-06, introduced by the Sports Car Club of America in 2002, is powered by a 2.3-liter Mazda MZR engine.

2007 IMSA Lites Championship consisted of six race weekends, with doubleheaders at each event.

  • March 16-17 – Sebring International Raceway
  • May 18-19 – Miller Motorsports Park
  • July 6-7 - Lime Rock Park
  • August 25-26 – Mosport International Raceway
  • October 4-5 - Road Atlanta
  • October 20-21 – Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

In addition to a driver’s championship, there are also titles for Teams and Constructors.

The fourth weekend of the 2007 IMSA Lites Championship presented by Hankook Performance Tires was held at Mosport International Raceway. Drivers would compete in rounds seven and eight on the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

A field of twenty-one IMSA Lites competitors enter Mosport International Raceway’s final corner (turn ten) in anticipation of the start of round seven. The L1 points leader, Gerardo Bonilla, is on the pole in the No. 9 BK Motorsports / Skip Barber Elan DP-02. Next two, Bonilla is the second-fastest qualifier, Shelby Mershon, driving the Mershon Motorsports Elan DP-02. Occupying row two are Charlie Shears and Chapman Ducote.
The L1 points leader, Gerardo Bonilla, entered rounds seven and eight at Mosport International Raceway with an impressive record. Bonilla had five podium results in six starts, three of which were victories. He would add to the win column at Mosport. Bonilla started on the pole Saturday and was first to the checkered flag. The next day, he delivered the same results in the No. 9 Elan DP-02.
Just as Gerardo Bonilla had dominated the L1 class at Mosport International Raceway, Mark White did the same in L2. Unlike L1, this category was turning into a ‘two-horse race’ for the title. Robby Card was leading the points chase with White in second. Victories in rounds seven and eight moved the driver of the No. 02 Accumoto Motorsport West WR1000 from sixteen points to within six markers of the L2 class leader.
Twenty-one drivers head into Mosport International Raceway’s corner nine for round eight of the 2007 IMSA Lites Championship. The points leader and Saturday’s L1 winner, Gerardo Bonilla, is starting on the pole in the No. 9 BK Motorsports / Skip Barber Elan DP-02. Sharing the front row with Bonilla is the winner of round six, Jay Cochran, driving the No. 8 Primetime Race Group Elan DP-02.
Dominating the L3 category this weekend at Mosport International Raceway was Richard Spicer. The two-time Spec Racer Ford National champion was piloting the No. 65 Hagerman RacEngineering Van Diemen DP-06. He led the title chase despite failing to score any points in rounds two (Sebring International Raceway) and three (Miller Motorsports Park). The wins in races seven and eight aided his championship aspirations.
Jay Cochran missed the first two rounds of the series and made his debut at Miller Motorsports Park, where he collected second and third-place finishes in the L1 category. In round five at Lime Rock Park, he grabbed another runner-up result, but he beat Gerardo Bonilla for the win in the finale. At Mosport International Raceway, the driver of the No. 8 Primetime Race Group Elan DP-02 claimed a pair of second-place finishes.

1L1Gerardo BonillaElan DP-0216-
2L1Jay CochranElan DP-0216-
3L1Kerry JacobsenElan DP-0216-
4L1Shelby MershonElan DP-0216-
5L1Charlie ShearsElan DP-0216-
6L2Mark WhiteWest WR100016-
7L1Antonio DownsElan DP-0216-
8L1Johnny MeriggiElan DP-0216-
9L2Dan McBreenWest WR100016-
10L2Eric VassianWest WR100016-
11L1Dan WeylandElan DP-0216-
12L1Tom MabeyElan DP-0216-
13L3Richard SpicerVan Diemen DP-0616-
14L3Robert MummVan Diemen DP-0616-
15L3Chris FunkVan Diemen DP-0616-
16L3Paul SchneiderVan Diemen DP-0616-
17L1Richard BerryElan DP-0216-
18L2Robby CardWest WR100016-
19L3Kelly ToombsVan Diemen DP-0616-
20L1Joel FeinbergElan DP-0215-
21L1Chapman DucoteElan DP-027Did Not Finish

1L1Gerardo BonillaElan DP-0221-
2L1Jay CochranElan DP-0221-
3L1Kerry JacobsenElan DP-0221-
4L1Joel FeinbergElan DP-0221-
5L1Shelby MershonElan DP-0221-
6L1Chapman DucoteElan DP-0221-
7L1Dan WeylandElan DP-0221-
8L2Mark WhiteWest WR100021-
9L2Eric VassianWest WR100021-
10L1Tom MabeyElan DP-0221-
11L2Robby CardWest WR100020-
12L2Dan McBreenWest WR100020-
13L1Antonio DownsElan DP-0220-
14L3Richard SpicerVan Diemen DP-0620-
15L3Chris FunkVan Diemen DP-0620-
16L3Robert MummVan Diemen DP-0620-
17L3Kelly ToombsVan Diemen DP-0620-
18L3Paul SchneiderVan Diemen DP-0620-
19L1Charlie ShearsElan DP-0219Did Not Finish
20L1Johnny MeriggiElan DP-021Did Not Finish
21L1Richard BerryElan DP-020Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.