In 2006, the International Motor Sport Association (IMSA) introduced IMSA Lites. The series was created to provide an opportunity for drivers competing at the amateur level to advance to a professional series or to prepare for a category such as the American Le Mans (ALMS). The mission is to develop future drivers and teams for the ALMS.

IMSA Lites features three classes of purpose-built sports racing prototypes – Lites 1, Lites 2 and Lites 3. The primary factor determining the categorization of a car is engine displacement.

  • Lites 1 (L1) – This is the fastest category. The most common vehicle in this group is the Elan DP-02 manufactured by Elan Van Diemen. The DP-02 features a carbon fiber monocoque fitted with an aerodynamic package that includes a front splitter, diffuser and rear wing. The car is powered by a 2.3-liter four-cylinder Mazda MZR motor mounted to a six-speed sequential transmission.
  • Lites 2 (L2) – This group includes several chassis and engine combinations. The West WR1000 is a popular choice powered by a 1000-cc Kawasaki ZX engine. The car also uses an electronic paddle-shift system.
  • Lites 3 (L3) – Only one car competes in this category. The Van Diemen DP-06, introduced by the Sports Car Club of America in 2002, is powered by a 2.3-liter Mazda MZR engine.

2007 IMSA Lites Championship consisted of six race weekends, with doubleheaders at each event.

  • March 16-17 – Sebring International Raceway
  • May 18-19 – Miller Motorsports Park
  • July 6-7 - Lime Rock Park
  • August 25-26 – Mosport International Raceway
  • October 4-5 - Road Atlanta
  • October 20-21 – Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

In addition to a driver’s championship, there are also titles for Teams and Constructors.

Rounds three and four of the 2007 IMSA Lites Championship presented by Hankook Performance Tires were conducted at Miller Motorsports Park. Drivers would compete on the twenty-three turn 4.486-mile road course.

The pace lap and twenty-four IMSA Lites competitors enter corner twenty-three for the start of round four of the championship. On the pole is the No. 6 Paralix Racing Elan DP-02 of Tonis Kasemets. On the outside of Kasemets is the second-fastest qualifier and L1 points leader, Gerardo Bonilla, driving the No. 9 BK Motorsports / Skip Barber Elan DP-02. Occupying row two are Jay Cochran and Joel Feinberg.
The L1 points leader when the series arrived at Miller Motorsports Park was Gerardo Bonilla, who won the first two races of the year at Sebring International Raceway. Bonilla qualified second in the No. 9 BK Motorsports / Skip Barber Elan DP-02 for the weekend’s first contest but collected his third consecutive victory. His streak would end on Sunday when the car caught fire and he retired on lap-2.
Earning the first L2 win of the weekend at Miller Motorsports Park was Eric Vassian. 2007 was Vassian’s second year competing in the IMSA Lites Championship with PVM Racing in the No. 24 West WR1000. He moved from thirteenth overall and third in class to claim the victory. On Sunday, Vassian was gridded third in the L2 category but moved into second and finished 13.727-seconds behind the winner, Robby Card.
The L3 honours went to Chris Funk, who qualified on the class pole on Saturday. The driver of the No. 5 KC Racing Van Diemen DP-06 grabbed a win and runner-up result on the first weekend of the year at Sebring International Raceway. Funk qualified first in class on his way to his victory. The following day the category belonged to two-time Spec Racer Ford National champion Richard Spicer.
Tonis Kasemets had a pair of L1 runner-up results in the opening rounds at Sebring International Raceway. At Miller Motorsports Park, he put the No. 6 Paralix Racing Elan DP-02 on the pole, but in the race, he lost the top spot to Gerardo Bonilla and collected another second-place finish. Kasemets started the finale in first place. Bonilla retired on lap-2 of the race, which allowed Kasemets to collect his first victory.
The No. 45 PVM Racing prepared West WR1000 was driven by Robby Card. Card won the L2 category in round two at Sebring International Raceway. He was the fastest qualifier in class for Saturday’s contest. During the race, he set a new lap record. Unfortunately, he fell out of contention and finished last in L2. The following day, Card started on the class pole and redeemed himself with his second victory of 2007.

1L1Gerardo BonillaElan DP-0210-
2L1Tonis KasemetsElan DP-0210-
3L1Jay CochranElan DP-0210-
4L1Joel FeinbergElan DP-0210-
5L1Chapman DucoteElan DP-0210-
6L2Eric VassianWest WR100010-
7L1Matt DownsElan DP-0210-
8L1Tom MabeyElan DP-0210-
9L3Chris FunkVan Diemen DP-0610-
10L3Kelly ToombsVan Diemen DP-0610-
11L1Johnny MeriggiElan DP-0210-
12L3Robert MummVan Diemen DP-0610-
13L2Alex GonzalezWest WR100010-
14L3Jay MealeVan Diemen DP-0610-
15L2Mark WhiteWest WR100010-
16L1Richard BerryElan DP-0210-
17L2Michael MallinenWest WR100010-
18L3Jeff FishmanVan Diemen DP-0610-
19L1Dan WeylandElan DP-0210-
20L3Chris DoyleVan Diemen DP-0610-
21L2Robby CardWest WR10009-
22L3Paul SchneiderVan Diemen DP-066Did Not Finish
23L1Mishael AbbottElan DP-022Did Not Finish
24L3Richard SpicerVan Diemen DP-060Did Not Finish
25L1Kerry JacobsenElan DP-02-Excluded

1L1Tonis KasemetsElan DP-0211-
2L1Jay CochranElan DP-0211-
3L1Matt DownsElan DP-0211-
4L1Kerry JacobsenElan DP-0211-
5L1Joel FeinbergElan DP-0211-
6L1Chapman DucoteElan DP-0211-
7L1Johnny MeriggiElan DP-0211-
8L1Mishael AbbottElan DP-0211-
9L1Tom MabeyElan DP-0211-
10L2Robby CardWest WR100011-
11L2Eric VassianWest WR100011-
12L2Mark WhiteWest WR100011-
13L2Michael MallinenWest WR100011-
14L1Dan WeylandElan DP-0211-
15L1Richard BerryElan DP-0211-
16L3Richard SpicerVan Diemen DP-0611-
17L2Alex GonzalezWest WR100011-
18L3Kelly ToombsVan Diemen DP-0611-
19L3Robert MummVan Diemen DP-0611-
20L3Chris DoyleVan Diemen DP-0610-
21L3Jeff FishmanVan Diemen DP-0610-
22L3Jay MealeVan Diemen DP-067Did Not Finish
23L1Gerardo BonillaElan DP-022Fire
24L3Chris FunkVan Diemen DP-060Did Not Finish
25L3Paul SchneiderVan Diemen DP-06-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.