In 2006, the International Motor Sport Association (IMSA) introduced IMSA Lites. The series was created to provide an opportunity for drivers competing at the amateur level to advance to a professional series or to prepare for a category such as the American Le Mans (ALMS). The mission is to develop future drivers and teams for the ALMS.

IMSA Lites features three classes of purpose-built sports racing prototypes – Lites 1, Lites 2 and Lites 3. The primary factor determining the categorization of a car is engine displacement.

  • Lites 1 (L1) – This is the fastest category. The most common vehicle in this group is the Elan DP-02 manufactured by Elan Van Diemen. The DP-02 features a carbon fiber monocoque fitted with an aerodynamic package that includes a front splitter, diffuser and rear wing. The car is powered by a 2.3-liter four-cylinder Mazda MZR motor mounted to a six-speed sequential transmission.
  • Lites 2 (L2) – This group includes several chassis and engine combinations. The West WR1000 is a popular choice powered by a 1000-cc Kawasaki ZX engine. The car also uses an electronic paddle-shift system.
  • Lites 3 (L3) – Only one car competes in this category. The Van Diemen DP-06, introduced by the Sports Car Club of America in 2002, is powered by a 2.3-liter Mazda MZR engine.

2007 IMSA Lites Championship consisted of six race weekends, with doubleheaders at each event.

  • March 16-17 – Sebring International Raceway
  • May 18-19 – Miller Motorsports Park
  • July 6-7 - Lime Rock Park
  • August 25-26 – Mosport International Raceway
  • October 4-5 - Road Atlanta
  • October 20-21 – Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

In addition to a driver’s championship, there are also titles for Teams and Constructors.

The final weekend of the 2007 IMSA Lites Championship presented by Hankook Performance Tires was held at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Drivers would compete in rounds eleven and twelve around the eleven turn 2.238-mile road course.

The penultimate race of the 2007 IMSA Lites Championship attracted twenty-five participants. Leading the field into corner two at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca is the pole-sitter, Joel Feinberg, in the No. 7 790 The Ticket Elan DP-02. Beside Feinberg is the L1 points leader, Gerardo Bonilla, driving the No. 9 BK Motorsports Elan DP-2. Immediately behind Feinberg is the other title contender Jay Cochran.
It was 'too little too late' for championship hopeful Jay Cochran. He missed an excellent opportunity to close the L1 points gap at Road Atlanta when Gerardo Bonilla had a lousy weekend. Cochran qualified third for round eleven and beat Bonilla for the win by 0.816-seconds. On Sunday, the driver of the No. 8 Primetime Race Group Elan DP02 qualified and finished third. Cochran ended the year thirty-nine markers behind Bonilla.
Robby Card and Mark White battled all season for the L2 class honours. At Road Atlanta, the pair traded wins. However, the final two races at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca belonged to Card. He qualified second to White in Saturday's contest, but White retired on lap-4, clearing the way for Card to secure the victory. In the finale, Card captured his second victory of the weekend and won the championship by thirty-two points.
The tightest battle for the championship was in the L3 category. Drivers Richard Spicer, Chris Funk and Robert Mumm accounted for all the class wins this season and only ten points separated first to third entering the finale. Spicer, the current leader, driving the No. 65 Hagerman RacEngineering Van Diemen DP-06, won the first race at Laguna Seca and ended the year with a second-place to take the crown.
The L1 points leader, Gerardo Bonilla, struggled at Road Atlanta and was in jeopardy of losing the top spot in the title chase. However, his luck returned in the final two races of the season. In Saturday's contest, he qualified and finished second piloting the No. 9 BK Motorsports Elan DP-02. Bonilla qualified on the pole the following day and led flag-to-flag to claim the 2007 IMSA Lites L1 championship.
One of the three contenders for the L3 title was Chris Funk. Funk, who drove the No. 5 KC Racing Van Diemen, trailed the points leader, Richard Spicer, by six markers. He finished third in the weekend's first event while Spicer claimed the victory. Funk was first in the championship's final round, but Spicer was second. The finally tally saw Funk finish eight points behind Spicer (198 to 206).

1L1Jay CochranElan DP-0215-
2L1Gerardo BonillaElan DP-0215-
3L1Joel FeinbergElan DP-0215-
4L1Matt DownsElan DP-0215-
5L1Chapman DucoteElan DP-0215-
6L1Tim HubmanElan DP-0215-
7L2Robby CardWest WR100015-
8L1Jon BrownsonElan DP-0215-
9L1Antonio DownsElan DP-0215-
10L1Lucas DownsElan DP-0215-
11L2Dan McBreenWest WR100015-
12L2Scott TuckerWest WR100015-
13L3Richard SpicerVan Diemen DP-0615-
14L1Johnny MeriggiElan DP-0215-
15L3Robert MummVan Diemen DP-0615-
16L3Chris FunkVan Diemen DP-0615-
17L1Kerry JacobsenElan DP-0215-
18L3Chris DoyleVan Diemen DP-0615-
19L1Patrick O'NeillElan DP-0215-
20L1Charlie ShearsElan DP-0214-
21L1Dan WeylandElan DP-0211Did Not Finish
22L2Eric VassianWest WR10007Did Not Finish
23L2Mark WhiteWest WR10004Did Not Finish
24L1Richard BerryElan DP-024Did Not Finish
25L3Kelly ToombsVan Diemen DP-06-Did Not Start

1L1Gerardo BonillaElan DP-0220-
2L1Matt DownsElan DP-0220-
3L1Jay CochranElan DP-0220-
4L1Joel FeinbergElan DP-0220-
5L1Kerry JacobsenElan DP-0220-
6L1Patrick O'NeillElan DP-0220-
7L1Lucas DownsElan DP-0220-
8L1Tim HubmanElan DP-0220-
9L1Charlie ShearsElan DP-0220-
10L2Robby CardWest WR100020-
11L2Mark WhiteWest WR100020-
12L1Jon BrownsonElan DP-0220-
13L1Antonio DownsElan DP-0220-
14L1Johnny MeriggiElan DP-0220-
15L2Scott TuckerWest WR100019-
16L3Chris FunkVan Diemen DP-0619-
17L3Richard SpicerVan Diemen DP-0619-
18L1Chapman DucoteElan DP-0219-
19L3Robert MummVan Diemen DP-0619-
20L3Chris DoyleVan Diemen DP-0618-
21L3Kelly ToombsVan Diemen DP-0616Did Not Finish
22L2Eric VassianWest WR10005Did Not Finish
23L2Dan McBreenWest WR1000-Did Not Start
24L1Richard BerryElan DP-02-Did Not Start
25L1Dan WeylandElan DP-02-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.