The 2007 Ontario Formula Ford Challenge series is conducted over six weekends. Competitors score championship points in races held on Saturday and Sunday.

The season kicks off in early June with the CRDA Shootout at Shannonville Motorsport Park. Next on the schedule is the first of four visits to Mosport International Raceway during the Father’s Day weekend. On the Canada Day weekend, the teams return to Mosport for the BARC Grand Prix of Ontario. Then competitors make their first visit to Calabogie Motorsports Park for rounds seven and eight. This event is followed by the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy and BEMC Indian Summer race at Mosport. The CASC-OR Celebration of Motorsport ends the road racing season in Ontario. It includes a non-championship event called the CanAm Cup for Formula Ford competitors.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine, which produces120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Two of the most successful cars are constructed in Canada – the Aero and CMV. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs., with the driver. Teams are required to use a spec tire (Dunlop Formula Ford treaded racing tire).

Driver’s compete in one of two classes:

  • Class A – This category is for newer chassis’ built after but not including 1984.
  • Class B – Older cars constructed between 1973 and including 1984 collect points in this group. The Swift DB1 is not eligible to compete in the category.

Rounds three and four of the 2007 Ontario Formula Ford Challenge were held during the Father’s Day weekend at Mosport International Raceway. Drivers would compete in two heat races around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

Over the winter, the reigning Ontario Formula Ford Challenge champion, Shane Jantzi, replaced his Van Diemen RF98 with a newer RF02 model. Jantzi started on the outside of row one for the weekend’s first contest. After trading places with rookie Kyle Marcelli and Dean Baker, he finished third. For Sunday’s event, Jantzi qualified third, but by the halfway point of the race, he passed the leader Marcelli for the victory.
The Ontario Formula Ford Challenge class B champion, Gord Lowe, also returned for another season to defend his title. Lowe qualified on the class pole in the No. 7 Revs Racing Reynard 83SF and started sixteenth overall. He was challenged by Lew MacKenzie but prevailed for the victory. Lowe qualified fourteenth overall in the finale, but unlike the previous day, he went flag-to-flag for the win.
This season Matt White joined Mortimer Racing competing in the No. 05 Van Diemen RF00. White was the fastest during the qualifying session for race one. In the contest, he led all sixteen laps and beat Dean Baker by a margin of 0.724-seconds. White could not find the same speed on Sunday. He was gridded fifth for the start of the race and finished in the same position.
The No. 52 Baker Racing Van Diemen RF01 was driven by Dean Baker. Baker was often a contender but was yet to score his first Ontario Formula Ford Challenge victory. He qualified fifth for the weekend’s first contest. A mistake on lap-1 saw him drop to eighth place. Baker charged through the field and finished second. On Sunday, he moved from the sixth starting spot to earn the final position on the podium.
It was still early in the season, but rookie Kyle Marcelli was impressing series regulars after just two rounds of the championship. Marcelli driving the No. 2 Brian Graham Racing prepared Van Diemen RF00, was the third-fastest qualifier for the race. Unfortunately, he could not hold-off Dean Baker and finished fourth. In the final contest of the weekend, Marcelli started on the pole but lost the top spot to Shane Jantzi.
Former Civic Championship competitor Kris Rams tested the Ontario Formula Ford Challenge waters last season, driving in four races with Britain West Motorsports. He returned this year to contest the entire series. Rams qualified sixth fastest for Saturday’s event in the No. 65 Van Diemen and finished in fifth place. The next day, he was gridded second but finished fourth as he was no match for Shane Jantzi and Dean Baker.

11A-1Matt WhiteVan Diemen RF0016-
24A-2Dean BakerVan Diemen RF0116-
32A-3Shane JantziVan Diemen RF0216-
43A-4Kyle MarcelliVan Diemen RF0016-
56A-5Kris RamsVan Diemen RF0316-
68A-6Nigel MortimerVan Diemen RF9716-
79A-7Ryan WhiteVan Diemen RF0016-
85A-8Rick DoktorVan Diemen RF0016-
911A-9Andrew MasonVan Diemen RF9016-
1015A-10Dan PurdyRay GRS9216-
1112A-11Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9316-
1217A-12Steve TzountzourisVan Diemen RF0016-
1316B-1Gord LoweReynard 83SF16-
1420A-13Caitlin JohnstonVan Diemen RF9716-
1518B-2Lew MackenziePRS RH0216-
1619A-14Jean-Guy FournierVan Diemen RF9416-
177A-15Michael DoddVan Diemen RF9416-
1823B-3Brian EvansLola T-44016-
1922B-4Daniel ThompsonVan Diemen RF8315-
2024A-16Benny CannellaVan Diemen RF8815-
2114A-17Eric NielsonVan Diemen RF9213-
2210A-18Sean CadneyVan Diemen RF9213-
2321A-19Richard DoyleSwift DB-15Did Not Finish
2413B-5Tony CoveFerret Mk42Did Not Finish

13A-1Shane JantziVan Diemen RF0220-
21A-2Kyle MarcelliVan Diemen RF0020-
35A-3Dean BakerVan Diemen RF0120-
42A-4Kris RamsVan Diemen RF0320-
56A-5Matt WhiteVan Diemen RF0020-
64A-6Rick DoktorVan Diemen RF0020-
711A-7Nigel MortimerVan Diemen RF9720-
810A-8Michael DoddVan Diemen RF9420-
98A-9Andrew MasonVan Diemen RF9020-
1012A-10Caitlin JohnstonVan Diemen RF9720-
119A-11Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9320-
1213A-12Dan PurdyRay GRS9219-
1315A-13Jean-Guy FournierVan Diemen RF9419-
1414B-1Gord LoweReynard 83SF19-
1516B-2Lew MackenziePRS RH0219-
1617A-14Steve TzountzourisVan Diemen RF0019-
1718B-3Brian EvansLola T-44018-
1820B-4Daniel ThompsonVan Diemen RF8318-
1919A-15Benny CannellaVan Diemen RF8818-
207A-16Ryan WhiteVan Diemen RF007Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.