The 2007 Quebec Formula Ford championship, called the Formula Tour 1600, kicks off in late May with an event at Sanair. Next on the calendar is the series most prestigious event at the Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve. The Formula Tour 1600 drivers will compete in a support race for the Canadian Grand Prix. This event is followed by the first of two doubleheaders at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant. The next stop is at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres for round five. The season ends in late September with the second doubleheader at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine, which produces120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Two of the most successful cars are constructed in Canada – the Aero and CMV. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs., with the driver.

Round five of the FSAQ Formula Tour 1600 series was held at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. Drivers would compete on the eleven-turn 1.53-mile temporary street circuit for twenty-two-laps.

The FSAQ Formula Tour 1600 championship was still wide open when the series arrived at the Le Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. One of the top contenders was Olivier Bonnet, who won the season opener at the Grand Prix de Sanair. Bonnet started round five on the outside of the front row in the No. LM Scuderia prepared Vector. He was able to pass the pole-sitter, Remy Audette, and claim his second victory of 2007.
Another driver in the championship hunt was Michel Bonnet. Bonnet, the brother of the winner, Olivier, also had an impressive record. To date, his year included a pair of podium results. He was third-fastest in the qualifying session at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. During the contest, the driver of the No. 3 LM Scuderia Vector was also able to pass Remy Audette and claimed his third podium result of the season.
The Formula Tour 1600 points leader, Remy Audette, had a miserable start to the season. He finished mid-pack at Sanair after qualifying on the pole. In the next three races, Audette redeemed himself with three consecutive victories. It looked like number four was ‘in the cards’ when he was the fastest qualifier at Trois-Rivieres. Unfortunately, the driver of the No. 21 CMV finished behind the Bonnet brothers.
The 1998 and 1999 Canadian Formula Ford Champion, Didier Schraenen, entered round five of the 2007 season with four podium finishes in the first four events. Schraenen also had two victories at the Trois-Rivieres circuit on his racing resume. His time in the qualifying session put him fourth on the starting grid. While there was a change in positions for the cars ahead of him, Schraenen would finish where he started; fourth place.
Franc Roiron equaled his best qualifying performance of the season in round five at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. The driver of the No. 28 Mistral Racing prepared Van Diemen RF01 started the twenty-two lap contest in the fifth position. Unfortunately, Roiron’s efforts came to an end when he retired after a lap-12 accident.

12Olivier BonnetVector MG-93LM Scuderia22-
23Michel BonnetVector MG-93LM Scuderia22-
31Remy AudetteCMVPortes Dimensions22-
44Didier SchraenenCMVDynatec22-
510Serge BourdeauVan Diemen RF05Excellence Motorsport22-
68Pascal BellemareEuroSwift SC92Metro22-
79Eric Van PeperstraeteVan Diemen RF05Excellence Motorsport22-
811Yannick BourdeauVan Diemen RF05Excellence Motorsport22-
912Patrick SweeneyVan Diemen RF98RPM22-
1014François LeblancVan Diemen RF97LC Racing22-
1113Luc TherouxVan Diemen RF94Auto Value22-
126Xavier CoupalHarfang 2000Harfang Motorsports21-
1315Stephany MalankaVan Diemen RF97Stefany Malanka Racing21-
147Marcel LafontaineVan Diemen RF97Max 160021-
155Franc RoironVan Diemen RF01Mistral Racing12Accident
1617Richard LegaultVan Diemen RF75Le Groupe Auto-Sport MECA11Did Not Finish
1716Jean LajoieVan Diemen RF94Rebel Racing Team6Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.