In addition to the Echo Pirelli Cup, there were two other closed wheel categories the Federation Auto Quebec was responsible for administering during the 2006 Quebec road racing season - Touring, Sedan GTX, Sedan GTU and Sedan GTO.

  • Touring – This category is for production-based vehicles manufactured within the last twelve years. The cars are powered by four or six-cylinder engines with a maximum displacement of 2.8-liters. Motors can be modified turbochargers or superchargers are not allowed. Engines are used to determine the weight of a vehicle. Brakes must retain their original location and the anti-lock must be disconnected. No alterations to the bodywork are permitted. Original bumpers and dashboard cannot be replaced, but a rear wing may be added. For safety reasons, all vehicles must be equipped with a roll cage, five-point seatbelts, window net, fire extinguishing system and fuel cell. The series is sponsored by Hankook tires and all competitors are required to use the brand.
  • Sedan – This group is split into three classes.
    • Sedan GTU – under three-liter engines, which must be normally aspirated.
    • Sedan GTO – over three-liter engines that are permitted to use a turbocharger or supercharger.
    • Sedan GTX – for closed wheel racing vehicles that do not meet the rules for the GTU and GTO categories.
  • Unlike the Touring category, there are very few restrictions for the GTU, GTO and GTX cars. There is no weight limit; modifications are allowed to the engine, transmission, suspension and bodywork. However, like the Touring class, there are similar safety requirements.

The Quebec Touring and GT championships season kick-off at Autodrome St-Eustache in late April. This is followed by a doubleheader weekend at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant. Then the teams travel to Sanair for round four. In July, the series makes its second visit to Autodrome St-Eustache. Next is a trip to Ontario for a doubleheader for the GT teams and a single race for the Touring competitors at Mosport International Raceway. The season concludes in late September with another doubleheader held at Circuit Mont-Tremblant.

Round six of the 2006 Hankook Touring Championship was held at Mosport International Raceway. Drivers would compete in an eighteen-lap contest around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

The field of fourteen drivers prepares to exit Mosport International Raceway’s final turn in anticipation of the Starter’s flag for round six of the Hankook Touring Championship. Setting the pace are Kensai Racing teammates Mathieu Audette and Travis Walker. Audette qualified on the pole in the No. 40 Portres Dimensional sponsored Acura RSX Type S. Walker drove the No. 75 entry.
Mathieu Audette drove the No. 40 Kensai Racing Acura RSX Type S. In his previous five starts, Audette had five podium finishes, including a victory in round four at Sanair. At Mosport International Raceway, he was the quickest of fifteen entrants. Audette led the race until lap-15, when he was passed by his teammate, Travis Walker. One circuit later, Audette was back in front and claimed his second win of the year.
Qualifying second to the pole-sitter, Mathieu Audette, was his teammate Travis Walker piloting the No. 75 Acura RSX Type S. Round six at Mosport would be the first start of the season for the Ontario resident. Walker lost second-place to Charles-Andre Bilodeau on the opening lap, but he regained the position and chased down Audette for the lead. Walker lost the top spot before the checker and finished second.
Charles-Andre Bilodeau swept the opening weekend of the 2006 FAQ Hankook Touring Championship at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant. Bilodeau claimed a third win in the previous round at Autodrome St-Eustache. In the qualifying session at Mosport, the driver of the No. 26 GT Racing BMW 328i was third fastest. An excellent start would allow him to move into second, but ultimately Bilodeau would finish in third place.
By the time the Hankook Touring Championship arrived at Mosport International Raceway for round six, Etienne Borgeat had collected three podium finishes, one of which was a victory. At Mosport, Borgeat could only manage the tenth fastest qualifying time in a field of fourteen starters. During the race, he spun in corner ten and pitted. Borgeat would finish two laps behind the leaders in last place.

11Mathieu AudetteAcura RSX Type S18-
22Travis WalkerAcura RSX Type S18-
33Charles-Andre BilodeauBMW 328i18-
49Stephane CarrierVolkswagen Jetta GLX18-
56Jacques GravelHyundai Tiburon18-
64Martin HamelAcura Integra Type R18-
78Nigel HeronAcura Integra Type R18-
87Pascal BastienHonda Civic Si18-
95Vincent LortieHyundai Tiburon18-
1011Etienne ChabotAcura RSX Type S17-
1113Manuel BastienHonda Prelude17-
1214Gilbert TomaroHyundai Tiburon17-
1312Eric DurandDodge Neon ACR17-
1410Etienne BorgeatHyundai Tiburon16-
--Jamil BenyahiaHonda Civic-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020

Return to home page.