After four seasons, the Canadian Automobile Sport Club Ontario Region (CASC-OR) Touring GT Championship continued to fill the void left by the demise of the Canada GT Challenge Cup.

The Touring GT Championship events are conducted at eight CASC-OR race weekends. On Saturdays, teams compete in a twenty-minute sprint event and the following day a longer forty-minute race is contested. The penultimate round of the championship will be a three-hour contest during the British Empire Motor Club’s Indian Summer Trophy Races weekend. The event will be called the War Bonnet 3-Hour.

Teams competed in one of three categories. The colour of the windshield banner identifies the groups.

  • Touring T2 - Blue – T2 if for cars with a normally aspirated six-cylinder engine not exceeding a displacement of 2.8-liters. Or, four-cylinder motors with forced induction systems are limited to a maximum displacement of 2.2-liters. Tire size combinations for this group are as follows – 205/60-13, 205/55-14, 205/50-15, 205/55-16 and 205/40-17.
  • Touring T1 – Yellow– T1 vehicles adhere to the same engine regulations as the Touring T2 category; however, they can use larger tires. The tire size combinations permitted for this category are – 225/50-15, 225/50-16, 235/45-17 and 235/40-17. The maximum rim width for Touring T1 and T2 is eight-inches.
  • Touring GT – White – GT include T class cars without a minimum weight restriction. The category also allows engine swaps and a tube frame chassis. Wheel and tire sizes are not restricted for GT vehicles.

The spec tire for all classes is the Toyo Proxes RA-1.

For the three categories, unless otherwise defined by the rules, modifications to the suspension, brakes, cooling system, exhaust, bodywork, transmission and ignition system are free.

The sixth race of the 2006 Ontario Touring GT Championship was held on the weekend of August 26-27 during the CRDA’s President’s Trophy Races. Entrants would compete in a twenty-minute race on Saturday and a forty-minute contest to end the weekend.

Kirk Spencer swept the Touring GT category during the CRDA President’s Trophy Races. Spencer qualified second overall for the weekend’s first contest and fell to third before battling with the Chevrolet Corvette of Marco Cirone for the victory. He started first on Sunday, but he lost the top spot briefly to the Gray/Hanson BMW M3 before scoring his second win of the event in the No. 160 Porsche GT3 Cup.
Another driver who dominated his class was Andrew Wojteczko. Wojteczko captured both the Touring T1 races in the No. 64 Auto Analyser sponsored Lexus IS300. He qualified on the pole for Saturday’s contest. During the race, Wojteczko lost positions to the quicker GT cars but won his category. The next day, he started third overall and finished second on his way to the Touring T1 victory.
The points leader in the Touring 2 category was Alain Lauziere. Battling Lauziere for the top spot was Ian Madden. For the first race of the weekend, Lauziere was the third quickest in class and fought with Madden for the victory. The pair exchanged first-place until Madden encounter problems on the last lap. In the finale, Lauziere started thirteenth overall and encountered issues but still managed a second-place finish.
Allan DeWolfe was dominant at the opening round of the 2006 Ontario Touring GT Championship. Not only did DeWolfe win the Touring 1 category, but he was first overall both days. At the CRDA President’s Trophy Races weekend, DeWolfe qualified fifth overall and second in class for race one and would finish in the runner-up spot driving the No. 31 Eurotech Racing BMW 323. On Sunday, he claimed another second-place.
The No. 34 Touring 2 Honda Civic of David Pratte and Kenneth Lau was fast but inconsistent. The car was gridded tenth overall and first in the class for the weekend’s first event. Unfortunately, they only completed six laps and were classified last in Touring 2. On Sunday, they redeemed themselves. The Honda started at the back of the field and charged to the front to win by a one-lap margin.
Another quick driver/car combination was the No. 41 Honda Civic Si of Scott Nicol. Nicol was competing in the Touring 1 category and qualified third in class for Saturday’s event. Unfortunately, he was 1.628-seconds slower than the Touring 1 pole-sitter, Andrew Wojteczko. During the race, Nicol maintained his position and finished third. In the final contest of the weekend, he claimed another third-place.

11Touring GTKirk SpencerPorsche GT3 Cup12
24Touring GTFrank Gray / Peter HansonBMW M312
32Touring T1Andrew WojteczkoLexus IS30012
45Touring T1Allan DeWolfeBMW 32312
56Touring T1Scott NicolHonda Civic12
69Touring GTGunter Schmidt / Steve KentChevrolet Camaro12
78Touring T1Nicholas Krikorian / Nigel KrikorianAcura RSX Type S12
811Touring T1Andrew ElliottVolkswagen Corrado12
912Touring GTJohn XiropodisVolkswagen Scirocco12
10DNQTouring GTSean HylandFord Mustang12
11DNQTouring GTRay ArlauskasBMW 325is12
1216Touring T2Alain LauziereMini Cooper S12
1314Touring GTMike Dolan / Ted RanceMazda RX-712
1419Touring T1Anthony RaponeHonda Civic12
1513Touring T2Ian MaddenVolkswagen Golf11
1622Touring T1Chris Swinwood / Paul SwinwoodBMW 318is11
1720Touring GTBarry MitchellPontiac Fiero11
1821Touring T2Perry IannuzziNissan Sentra XE11
1926Touring T1Eric NummelinMazda RX-711
2023Touring T2Pat Harrison / Victor SimoneNissan 200SX11
2125Touring T2Andrew BearssHonda Civic11
223Touring GTSasha AnisNissan 240SX11
2318Touring T1John Lockhart / Len ClueSaab 9311
2410Touring T2David Pratte / Kenneth LauHonda Civic6
2524Touring T1Cliff DaleyVolkswagen Golf 1.8T6
Disqualified7Touring GTMarco CironeChevrolet Corvette12
Disqualified17Touring T1Curt StormsHonda S200012

11Touring GTKirk SpencerPorsche GT3 Cup26
23Touring T1Andrew WojteczkoLexus IS30026
34Touring T1Allan DeWolfeBMW 32326
46Touring T1Scott NicolHonda Civic26
58Touring T1Andrew ElliottVolkswagen Corrado26
67Touring T1Nicholas Krikorian / Nigel KrikorianAcura RSX Type S26
714Touring GTMike Dolan / Ted RanceMazda RX-726
84Touring GTFrank Gray / Peter HansonBMW M326
913Touring T1Chris Swinwood / Paul SwinwoodBMW 318is26
105Touring GTGunter Schmidt / Steve KentChevrolet Camaro25
1111Touring GTRay ArlauskasBMW 325is25
1221Touring T2David Pratte / Kenneth LauHonda Civic25
1323Touring T1Curt StormsHonda S200024
1420Touring T1John Lockhart / Len ClueSaab 9324
1517Touring T1Eric NummelinMazda RX-724
1612Touring T2Alain LauziereMini Cooper S24
1720Touring GTBarry MitchellPontiac Fiero24
1819Touring T2Andrew BearssHonda Civic24
1910Touring GTSean HylandFord Mustang23
2024Touring GTSasha AnisNissan 240SX21
219Touring GTJohn Xiropodis / Steve XiropodisVolkswagen Scirocco21
2225Touring GTMarco Cirone / Robert SabatoChevrolet Corvette20
Did Not Finish18Touring T2Pat Harrison / Victor SimoneNissan 200SX9
Did Not Finish22Touring T2Ian MaddenVolkswagen Golf8
Did Not Start-Touring T1Anthony RaponeHonda Civic-
Disqualified16Touring T2Perry IannuzziNissan Sentra XE24

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.