After four seasons, the Canadian Automobile Sport Club Ontario Region (CASC-OR) Touring GT Championship continued to fill the void left by the demise of the Canada GT Challenge Cup.

The Touring GT Championship events are conducted at eight CASC-OR race weekends. On Saturdays, teams compete in a twenty-minute sprint event and the following day a longer forty-minute race is contested. The penultimate round of the championship will be a three-hour contest during the British Empire Motor Club’s Indian Summer Trophy Races weekend. The event will be called the War Bonnet 3-Hour.

Teams competed in one of three categories. The colour of the windshield banner identifies the groups.

  • Touring T2 - Blue – T2 if for cars with a normally aspirated six-cylinder engine not exceeding a displacement of 2.8-liters. Or, four-cylinder motors with forced induction systems are limited to a maximum displacement of 2.2-liters. Tire size combinations for this group are as follows – 205/60-13, 205/55-14, 205/50-15, 205/55-16 and 205/40-17.
  • Touring T1 – Yellow– T1 vehicles adhere to the same engine regulations as the Touring T2 category; however, they can use larger tires. The tire size combinations permitted for this category are – 225/50-15, 225/50-16, 235/45-17 and 235/40-17. The maximum rim width for Touring T1 and T2 is eight-inches.
  • Touring GT – White – GT include T class cars without a minimum weight restriction. The category also allows engine swaps and a tube frame chassis. Wheel and tire sizes are not restricted for GT vehicles.

The spec tire for all classes is the Toyo Proxes RA-1.

For the three categories, unless otherwise defined by the rules, modifications to the suspension, brakes, cooling system, exhaust, bodywork, transmission and ignition system are free.

The opening round of the 2006 Ontario Touring GT Championship was held on the weekend of May 13-14 during the British Empire Motor Club’s 56th Annual Spring Trophy Races. Teams would compete in two events – a twenty-minute race on Saturday and a forty-minute contest to end the weekend.

The start of Sunday’s race for the opening weekend of the 2006 Ontario Touring GT Championship at Mosport International Raceway. Leading the field of seventeen entries into corner one is race one winner, Allan DeWolfe, in the No. 31 Eurotec Racing BMW 323. On the outside of DeWolfe is the pole-sitter, Scott Nicol driving the No. 41 Honda Civic Si. Behind DeWolfe is Gunter Schmidt in a Chevrolet Camaro.
Alan DeWolfe finished sixth in last year’s Ontario Touring GT Championship Touring category. He was looking like a contender for the Touring T1 title based on his performance in the season opener. DeWolfe qualified second fastest during the damp conditions on Saturday. In the afternoon’s race, he moved into first-place on lap-1 and captured the victory. The next day, DeWolfe led flag-to-flag in the No. 31 BMW 323.
Another team to sweep the weekend was the No. 38 GT category Chevrolet Camaro shared by Gunter Schmidt and Steve Kent. Schmidt was gridded twelfth overall for the start of race one, but by lap-4, he moved the Camaro into third-place and the class lead, which he held to the checkered flag. On Sunday, Schmidt was gridded third for the forty-minute contest and finished second overall with another class victory.
Alain Lauziere wasn’t entered in the opening round of the Ontario Touring GT Championship and had to start from the rear of the grid for Sunday’s forty-minute race. By lap-5, Lauziere had moved the No. 47 Mini Cooper S from fifteenth to tenth overall. He proceeded to stage a battle with the Touring T2 class leader, Ian Madden. Madden’s Volkswagen started smoking on the last lap and Lauziere passed him for the T2 victory.
The Xiropolis brothers shared the No. 46 sponsored Volkswagen Scirocco and competed in the Touring GT category. They qualified fifth overall and second in class for the opening round of the season. At the checkered flag, the No. 46 Scirocco was third in GT. On Sunday, they started fifth but finished third overall and inherited the runner-up position in their class when Ray Arlauskas retired.
During the qualifying session for round one of the 2006 Ontario Touring GT Champion, Steven Scala was eleventh fastest and started second in Touring 2. He was almost six-seconds a lap slower than the class pole-sitter, Ian Madden. However, reliability and consistency worked to Scala’s advantage. On Saturday, the faster cars retired and he captured the class victory. The next day, he wasn’t so lucky and finished fourth.
Scott Nicol debuted a new Honda Civic Si at the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. The team’s preparation paid off as Nicol was the fastest qualifier for the first race of the weekend. His place at the top of the lap chart didn’t last long and he finished second in Touring 1. Nicol was on the pole for the finale, but he was slowed by an issue. On lap-12, he spun at Moss Corner and damaged the rear of the Honda.
Ray Arlauskas returned for another season in the Ontario Touring GT Championship. Last year, Arlauskas finished second in the GT category standings driving the No. 266 BMW 325is. He started his 2006 campaign by qualifying on the class pole. Arlauskas was passed by Gunter Schmidt on lap-4 and finished in the runner-up spot. On Sunday, he got the measure of Schmidt but retired on lap-22 while in second-place.

12Touring T1Allan DeWolfeBMW 32313
21Touring T1Scott NicolHonda Civic13
313Touring GTGunter Schmidt / Steve KentChevrolet Camaro13
44Touring GTRay ArlauskasBMW 325is13
55Touring GTSteve Xiropolis / John XiropodisVolkswagen Scirocco13
614Touring T1Cliff DaleyVolkswagen Golf 1.8T13
710Touring T1C. Swinwood / P. SwinwoodBMW 318is13
86Touring GTSasha AnisNissan 240SX13
916Touring GTFrank EvangelouBMW M312
1012Touring T1Bruno LafosseBMW E3612
1111Touring T2Steve ScalaNissan Sentra12
128Touring T1Andrew ElliottVolkswagen Corrado11
1315Touring T1Tom CaluzicHonda S200011
143Touring T1Nicholas Krikorian / Nigel KrikorianAcura RSX Type S11
157Touring T2Ian MaddenVolkswagen Golf8
Did Not Finish9Touring T1Hagen HohnBMW E363
Did Not Start17Touring T2Perry IannuzziNissan Sentra XE-

12Touring T1Allan DeWolfeBMW 32326
23Touring GTGunter Schmidt / Steve KentChevrolet Camaro26
35Touring GTSteve Xiropolis / John XiropodisVolkswagen Scirocco26
416Touring T1Andrew WojteczkoLexus IS30026
57Touring T1C. Swinwood / P. SwinwoodBMW 318is26
615Touring T2Alain LauziereMini Cooper S25
714Touring T2Ian MaddenVolkswagen Golf25
813Touring T1Nicholas Krikorian / Nigel KrikorianAcura RSX Type S25
910Touring T1Bruno LafosseBMW E3625
101Touring T1Scott NicolHonda Civic25
119Touring GTFrank EvangelouBMW M324
1217Touring T2Perry IannuzziNissan Sentra XE24
1311Touring T2Steve ScalaNissan Sentra23
144Touring GTRay ArlauskasBMW 325is22
158Touring GTSasha AnisNissan 240SX16
Did Not Finish12Touring T1Andrew ElliottVolkswagen Corrado5
Did Not Start-Touring T1Tom CaluzicHonda S2000-
Did Not Start-Touring T1Hagen HohnBMW E36-
Disqualified6Touring T1Cliff DaleyVolkswagen Golf 1.8T25

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.