2006 was the first season for the SCCA Pro Racing SIRIUS Satellite Radio Mazda MX-5 Cup presented by Hankook. It is the entry-level production car-based competition in SCCA Pro Racing. The series aims to provide drivers with an opportunity to compete in similarly prepared low-cost cars with limited modifications.

The series receives backing from Hawk Performance, Hankook, Mazda, Pace American, Sirius Satellite Radio, Racetech, Mothers Polish and The Winning Team.

All Mazda MX-5 Cup cars receive only minor upgrades. Bolt-on modifications include a new intake manifold and exhaust system, which increases the engine output from 170 to 200-horsepower. All vehicles have a six-speed manual transmission and a limited-slip differential.

The suspension uses a coil-over kit with double adjustable shock absorbers and roll bars. Hankook tires are mounted on 17X8" wheels. Brake pads, fluid and lines are upgraded for the demands of racing.

The Mazdas are fitted with an eight-point roll-cage welded into the car, racing seatbelts and a fire extinguishing system for safety.

The season consists of eight forty-five-minute timed contests. Round one is in early May at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, and the year's final race is held at Road America.

  • May 5-7 - Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
  • May 26-29 - Lime Rock Park
  • June 17-19 - Mosport International Raceway
  • June 23-25 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • July 20-22 - Portland International Raceway
  • August 4-6 - Trois-Rivieres
  • September 1-2 - Miller Motorsports Park
  • September 22-24 - Road America

Round three of the 2006 SCCA Pro Racing SIRIUS Satellite Radio Mazda MX-5 Cup presented by Hankook was held at Mosport International Raceway. Drivers would compete in a forty-five-minute race around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

Leading the field of eighteen starters into corner one at Mosport International Raceway for round three of the 2006 SCCA Pro Racing SIRIUS Satellite Radio Mazda MX-5 Cup series is the local competitor and the pole-sitter, Russ Bond. Bond, who drove the No. 58 BSI Racing Mazda MX-5, saw his race end on lap-2 with an accident. Chasing Bond are the MX-5s of Payton Wilson, Mike Gatto, Todd Buras and Todd Lamb.
Entering round three, Todd Buras had two runner-up results but still needed to claim the podium's top step. Buras was fourth fastest in the qualifying session at Mosport International Raceway, driving the No. 56 BSI Racing / supportthem.com Mazda MX-5. On lap-20 of the race, he passed the leader, Jim Daniels. However, Buras had to battle with his BSI teammate, Payton Wilson, for his first victory.
Payton Wilson made his series debut in round three at Mosport International Raceway. Payton had no trouble getting up to speed and qualified on the outside of the front row in the No. 59 BSI Racing Mazda MX-5. Late in the race, he fought for first with his BSI teammate, Todd Buras. The pair exchanged the lead six times. At the checkered flag, Wilson fell short of first place by 0.090-seconds.
Jim Daniels began his season by qualifying second in round one but finishing a disappointing sixth. In the next race at Lime Rock Park, he redeemed himself with a pole and victory. At Mosport International Racing, Daniels put the No. 76 specmiata.com / Team MER Mazda MX-5 ninth on the starting grid. During lap-26 of the race, he had contact with Carlos Garcia but was able to continue and finished in the third spot.
Jason Saini had a difficult start to his 2006 campaign. In the season's first event at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, Saini started third but finished a lap down in sixteenth place. Lime Rock Park was another dismal outing. Again, he qualified third but crashed on lap-6. Moving on to Mosport International Raceway, Saini started eleventh in the No. 28 Team MER / specmiata.com Mazda MX-5 but finished fourth.
The podium at Mosport International Raceway for round three of the 2006 SCCA Pro Racing SIRIUS Satellite Radio Mazda MX-5 Cup. The winner, Todd Buras, stands on the top step of the rostrum after two near misses. On the left, Buras' teammate and the runner-up, Payton Wilson, who was making his series debut. Completing the podium is the winner of the last event and the third-place finisher, Jim Daniels.

14Todd BurasBSI Racing/supportthem.com - Mazda MX-528-
22Payton WilsonBSI Racing/King Rat Motorsports - Mazda MX-528-
39Jim Danielsspecmiata.com/Team MER - Mazda MX-528-
411Jason SainiMER/specmiata.com - Mazda MX-528-
519Erik StearnsMER/Dick's Auto Salvage - Mazda MX-528-
610Ara MalkhassianAlara Racing - Mazda MX-528-
76Carlos GarciaBSI Racing/Miami Dade Health - Mazda MX-528-
83Mike GattoVision Painting - Mazda MX-528-
918Larry WebsterART/Mazda/Hankook - Mazda MX-528-
107Dan HerringtonHoleintheWallCamp/Hale Prop - Mazda MX-528-
1112Deborah LothTeam MER/Loth Endodontics - Mazda MX-528-
1213Beh HohnP1-Motorsports.com - Mazda MX-528-
1316Harrison WilliamsAlbrecht & Associates - Mazda MX-528-
1417Tim ProbertAlara Racing/Tim Probert - Mazda MX-528-
158John KuitwaardP1-Motorsports.com/HKF Racing - Mazda MX-528-
1614Pratt ColeDEX/Western Companies - Mazda MX-528-
175Todd LambSpeed Style/Mazdaspeed - Mazda MX-527-
181Russ BondBSI Racing - Mazda MX-52Accident
1915Ben McCrackinMagnus Energy Marketing - Mazda MX-50Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.