In 2006, the International Motor Sport Association (IMSA) introduced IMSA Lites. The series was created to provide an opportunity for drivers competing at the amateur level to advance to a professional series or to prepare for a category such as the American Le Mans (ALMS). The mission is to develop future drivers and teams for the ALMS.

IMSA Lites features three classes of purpose-built sports racing prototypes – Lites 1, Lites 2 and Lites 3. The primary factor in determining the categorization of a car is engine displacement.

  • Lites 1 (L1) – This is the fastest category. The most common vehicle in this group is the Elan DP-02 manufactured by Elan Van Diemen. The DP-02 features a carbon fiber monocoque fitted with an aerodynamic package that includes a front splitter, diffuser and rear wing. The car is powered by a 2.3-liter four-cylinder Ford Duratec motor mounted to a six-speed sequential transmission. The division also includes the Radical SR3 1500 and West WR1300 Kawasaki.
  • Lites 2 (L2) – This group also includes several different chassis and engine combinations. The West WR1000 is a popular choice powered by a smaller engine than those models classified in the L1 division.
  • Lites 3 (L3) – Only one car competes in this category. The Van Diemen DP-06, introduced by the Sports Car Club of America in 2002, is powered by a Mazda MZR engine.

There are five race weekends, with doubleheaders at each event.

  • May 12-13 – Road Atlanta
  • May 19-21 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • June 30 – July 1 - Lime Rock Park
  • August 18-20 - Road America
  • September 28-30 - Road Atlanta

In addition to a driver’s championship, there are also titles for Teams and Constructors.

The second weekend of racing for the inaugural IMSA Lites Championship presented by Hankook was held at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Drivers would compete in rounds three and four around the thirteen-turn 2.258-mile road course.

The first lap through the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course`s Carousel turn. Leading the nineteen car field is the pole-sitter, Adam Pecorari, in the No. 2 Cape Motorsports Elan DP-02. Behind Pecorari is the No. 81 Comprent Motor Sports Elan DP-02 driven by Andrew Davis. Following the frontrunners is another L1 Elan DP-02 piloted by Kerry Jacobson and the L2 leader, Dan McBreen, in the No. 22 West WR1000.
Adam Pecorari opened the season with two poles and second and first-place finishes. At the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, he topped that performance. In 2004, Pecorari swept the F2000 Cooper Tires Championship at Mid-Ohio and he would do the same in this year’s IMSA Lites L1 category. Driving the No. 2 Cape Motorsports Elan DP-02, Pecorari was the fastest qualifier for both rounds and went flag-to-flag for the wins.
Having an equally dominant weekend was L2 competitor Dan McBreen. McBreen failed to finish the opening rounds at Road Atlanta but redeemed himself at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. He was racing the No. 22 PMV Motorsports prepared West WR1000. McBreen qualified on the class pole for rounds three and four and captured a pair of victories. He also finished second overall in Saturday’s contest.
Not to be outdone by the L1 and L2 winners, Richard Spicer also had a dominant weekend at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in the L3 category. Spicer is a successful SCCA competitor who won National SRF titles in 2001 and 2002. He did not participate in the series debut at Road Atlanta, but that didn’t prevent him from being competitive at Mid-Ohio. Despite a spin, Spicer grabbed class victories both days.
Two drivers finished on the podium in rounds three and four other than the class winners. Johnny Meriggi, who drove the No. 77 Van Diemen DP-06 in the L3 group, was one of these competitors. Meriggi won both rounds of the inaugural weekend at Road Atlanta. He was no match for the class winner, Richard Spicer, at Mid-Ohio and collected second and third place results.
The No. 81 Comprent Motor Sports Elan DP-02 was driven by former SCCA C Sports Racer competitor Thomas Sedivy at Road Atlanta. Sedivy earned a pair of third-place finishes in L1. At the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, another driver with SCCA history, Andrew Davis, piloted the car. Davis exited the race early on Saturday, but the next day, he redeemed himself and finished second by 10.967-seconds.

1L1Adam PecorariElan DP-02 / Cape Motorsports18-
2L2Dan McBreenWest WR1000 / PVM Motorsports18-
3L2Tom McGlynnWest WR1000 / West Racecars18-
4L2Eric VassianWest WR1000 / PVM Motorsports18-
5L3Richard SpicerVan Diemen DP-06 / Hagerman RacEngineering18-
6L2Alex GonzalezWest WR1000 / ActiveServe Racing18-
7L1Bob HumphreysElan DP-02 / Comprent Motor Sports18-
8L3Chris FunkVan Diemen DP-06 / KC Racing18-
9L3Johnny MeriggiVan Diemen DP-06 / TBA18-
10L2Rod MorleyWest WR1000 / Volo Motorsports18-
11L1Joel FeinbergRadical SR3 1500 / 790 The Ticket18-
12L2Robby CardWest WR1000 / PVM Motorsports18-
13L1Richard BerryElan DP-02 / VeryBerryExotics17-
14L2Mark WhiteWest WR1000 / Accumoto Motorsports14Did Not Finish
15L2Randy AlexanderWest WR1000 / Tech 714Did Not Finish
16L1Andrew DavisElan DP-02 / Comprent Motor Sports10Did Not Finish
17L1Kerry JacobsonElan DP-02 / Inspire Motorsports3Did Not Finish
18L3Robert MummVan Diemen DP-06 / Mumm Brothers Racing0Did Not Finish

1L1Adam PecorariElan DP-02 / Cape Motorsports11-
2L1Andrew DavisElan DP-02 / Comprent Motor Sports11-
3L2Dan McBreenWest WR1000 / PVM Motorsports11-
4L2Mark WhiteWest WR1000 / Accumoto Motorsports11-
5L2Randy AlexanderWest WR1000 / Tech 711-
6L3Richard SpicerVan Diemen DP-06 / Hagerman RacEngineering11-
7L2Robby CardRadical / PVM Motorsports11-
8L1Richard BerryElan DP-02 / VeryBerryExotics11-
9L2Tom McGlynnWest WR1000 / West Racecars11-
10L2Alex GonzalezWest WR1000 / ActiveServe Racing11-
11L1Bob HumphreysElan DP-02 / Comprent Motor Sports11-
12L2Rod MorleyWest WR1000 / Volo Motorsports11-
13L3Johnny MeriggiVan Diemen DP-06 / TBA11-
14L1Joel FeinbergRadical SR3 1500 / 790 The Ticket11-
15L3Robert MummVan Diemen DP-06 / Mumm Brothers Racing11-
16L2Eric VassianWest WR1000 / PVM Motorsports1Did Not Finish
-L1Kerry JacobsonElan DP-02 / Inspire Motorsports-Did Not Start
-L3Chris FunkVan Diemen DP-06 / KC Racing-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.