After a twelve-year absence, it was announced at the Montreal Auto Show that the Honda Michelin Challenge Series would return in 2004 with a ten-race schedule featuring the Honda Civic DX Coupe. Unfortunately, as quickly as the popular series appeared, it vanished. After just two seasons, the title manufacturer pulled its support. However, there was still interest among the existing teams.

Through the combined efforts of Ontario Race Director Gunter Schmidt and Quebec’s FSAQ President, Marcel Demers, the series was revived with a new name, the Canadian Civic Championship and an eight-race schedule.

The 2006 Canadian Civic Championship kicks off on the Victoria Day weekend at Mosport International Raceway. This event is followed by a doubleheader at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant. Then it is back to Mosport for the second of three stops at this track. Round four sees teams competing at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve as a support race for the Canadian Grand Prix. In mid-July, the series competes at Shannonville Motorsport Park. The penultimate round is a return visit to Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant. A week later, champions are crowned in the series finale at Mosport.

The cars competing in the series are Honda DX Coupes. The Honda DX is powered by a 1.7-liter 16-valve SOHC engine, which produces 115-horsepower at 6,100-rpm. The DX is also equipped with a 5-speed manual transmission. There is an improved suspension package and exhaust system for the 2005 season. All cars are required to race on Michelin Pilot tires - Michelin Pilot Sport Cup tires 205-50x15 (dry) and Michelin Pilot XGT V4 tires 205-50x15 (wet) – on 15-inch Honda alloy wheels. Modifications to the Hondas such as a padded roll-cage, braided stainless steel flex-lines, FIA five-point seat harness and window net are mandated for safety.

The final race of the 2006 Canadian Civic Championship was held on October 1st at Mosport International Raceway. Titles were to be decided in a sixteen lap shootout around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

The first lap of the finale for the 2006 Canadian Civic Championship. Leading the field of eight starters through Mosport International Raceway’s corner five is the pole-sitter, Didier Schraenen, in the No. 94 Radio Energie / RDS Honda Civic DX. Behind Schraenen is the other front row starter, Normand Boyer driving the No. 16 Honda Civic DX. Boyer would be the race’s first retirement – completing only a single lap.
After a string of podium results, Robert Boyer found the top step of the rostrum in round six at Shannonville Motorsport Park. In the penultimate race at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant, he kept his streak alive. In the finale, Boyer would have his work cut out for him as he was gridded fifth. During the race, he fought his way to the front and was in first place by lap-6. Boyer maintained the position and won the race and title.
Finishing second in the 2006 Canadian Civic Championship was racing veteran Didier Schraenen. Schraenen’s season did not include any victories, but he finished on the podium three times in the No. 94 Radio Energie / RDS Honda Civic DX. He qualified on the pole for the finale by a margin of 0.353-seconds. Schraenen’s lead in the race only last two laps. He fell to third before capturing a runner-up finish.
Tyler Givogue would ‘save the best for last.’ Prior to the finale at Mosport, his best result was a string of fourth-place finishes. During the qualifying session for round eight, Givogue recorded the fourth-fastest time. In the race, he benefitted from Normand Boyer’s retirement and passed Didier Schraenen for the lead. However, he was unable to hold off an attack from Schraenen and Robert Boyer. Givogue finished third.
The title for the rookie honours was between two driver’s Benoit Gagnon and Jimmy Laporte. Laporte, driver of the No. 24 Honda Civic DX, had a better record than Gagnon. In seven starts, Laporte finished ahead of Gagnon five times. However, Laporte did not enter the finale. Gagnon qualified seventh fastest in the No. 20 Lombardi Racing Honda Civic and finished in fifth place. He was the top rookie by a single point.

15Robert BoyerHonda Civic DX / Lombardi Honda16-
21Didier SchraenenHonda Civic DX / Radio Energie16-
34Tyler GivogueHonda Civic DX / Dow Honda16-
49Emmanuel Boivin-MoreauHonda Civic DX / -16-
57Benoit GagnonHonda Civic DX / Lombardi Honda16-
66Andrew DanyliwHonda Civic DX / Schmidt Racing16-
78Steve GreinerHonda Civic DX / -16-
82Normand BoyerHonda Civic DX / -1Did Not Finish
-3Frederick LelievreHonda Civic DX / Lelievre Karting-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.