In addition to the Echo Pirelli Cup, there were four other closed wheel categories the Federation Auto Quebec was responsible for administering during the 2005 Quebec road racing season - Touring, Sedan GT, Sedan GTU and Sedan GTO.

  • Touring – This category is for production-based vehicles manufactured within the last twelve years. The cars are powered by four or six-cylinder engines with a maximum displacement of 2.8-liters. Motors can be modified turbochargers or superchargers are not allowed. Engines are used to determine the weight of a vehicle. Brakes must retain their original location and the anti-lock must be disconnected. No alterations to the bodywork are permitted. Original bumpers and dashboard cannot be replaced, but a rear wing may be added. For safety reasons, all vehicles must be equipped with a roll cage, five-point seatbelts, window net, fire extinguishing system and fuel cell. The series is sponsored by Hankook tires and all competitors are required to use the brand.
  • Sedan – This group is split into two classes as determined by the vehicle’s engine displacement.
    • Sedan GT – this group was introduced in 2005. It is based on the rules used for the Grand-Am’s Grand Sport category and the Sports Car Club of America’s Grand Touring class.
    • Sedan GTU – under three-liter engines, which must be normally aspirated.
    • Sedan GTO – over three-liter engines that are permitted to use a turbocharger or supercharger.
  • Unlike the Touring category, there are very few restrictions for the GTU and GTO cars. There is no weight limit; modifications are allowed to the engine, transmission, suspension and bodywork. However, like the Touring class, there are similar safety requirements.

The GT Championship of Quebec’s season kicks off at Autodrome St-Eustache in early May. This is followed by a race weekend at Sanair. Then the teams travel to Autodrome St-Felician for the first doubleheader of the year. Next is the highlight of the season, a stop at Le Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. In September, the series makes a second visit to Sanair. The final weekend includes a doubleheader held at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant.

Round five of the 2005 GT Championship of Quebec was held at the eleven-turn 1.53-mile temporary street circuit at Trois-Rivieres, Quebec.

For the second consecutive year, Marc-Antoine Camirand captured the overall and GTO category victory at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. Trois-Rivieres was Camirand’s first start of the season in the GT Championship of Quebec. He qualified on the pole driving the No. 96 Production Le Carrossier sponsored BMW Z3 Coupe SC. Camirand would lead the twenty-nine-lap contest flag-to-flag.
The winner of the GTU category was Jean-Luc Hebert. Hebert piloted the No. 73 Porsche 911. He started his season in round two at the Grand Prix de Sanair, where he failed to finish. Hebert was fast at Trois-Rivieres and qualified second in his group. During the race, he was passed by many quicker GTO cars and finished sixth-overall but won his class by a comfortable 7.164-second margin.
The No. 3 JMA Competition prepared BMW M3 of Jean-Marc Alcaraz was performing double-duty at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. Alcaraz was racing the BMW in the GTU class Saturday afternoon, while it would be driven by Marc-Antoine Camirand the following day in the Hankook Touring event. Alcaraz was the fourth-fastest qualifier in his category and finished in the runner-up position.
Trois-Rivieres was the first of the season for Montreal’s Eric Kerub. Kerub was piloting the No. 69 Acura NSX SC. The Acura was prepared for the new GT rules, which meant competing with a limited number of modifications and on DOT tires as opposed to the racing slicks used the GTU and GTO teams. Kerub would win the category and finish tenth overall.
Ontario’s Malcolm Strachan entered the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres at the top of the GTO standings. The former Canada GT Challenge Cup and Touring GT Championship competitor had three class and overall victories in three starts. In round five of the champion, Strachan was gridded third overall for the beginning of the contest. At the finish, he was in second-place 4.597-seconds behind the winner Marc-Antoine Camirand.
Fernand Leblanc was another driver who had experience competing in the Canada GT Challenge Cup. Leblanc was last season’s GTO champion. He returned to defend his title in the No. 1 MCL Racing prepared Porsche 911 RSR. With two runner-up results, he currently trails Malcolm Strachan in the standings. At Trois-Rivieres, Leblanc qualified fifth overall and captured the final position on the class podium.
One of the four competitors entered in the GT category at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres was Paul Bissonette. Bissonette was driving the No. 50 Le Carrossier / Ford Quality Car sponsored Ford Mustang GT. He was not as quick as the Acura NSX SC of Eric Kerub and finished twelfth overall but was second in class – one-lap behind the leaders.
PCS Motorsports also entered a car that would compete in the GTO-GTU and Hankook Touring races at Trois-Rivieres. Team owner, Pascal Carre, would drive the No. 48 Honda Civic in Sunday’s Touring contest and in the GT event; the Honda would be piloted by Cyril Hamelin. Local resident, Hamelin would prove to be very quick and finish eighth overall and third in the GTU category.

1GTOMarc-Antoine CamirandBMW Z3 Coupe SC29-
2GTOMalcolm StrachanChevrolet Corvette Z0629-
3GTOFernand LeblancPorsche 911 RSR29-
4GTOOlivier RivardPorsche 911 RSR29-
5GTOJacques GuenettePorsche 93529-
6GTUJean-Luc HebertPorsche 91128-
7GTUJean-Marc AlcarazBMW M328-
8GTUCyril HamelinHonda Civic28-
9GTUEtienne BorgeatBMW 328i28-
10GTEric KerubAcura NSX SC28-
11GTCharles-Andre BilodeauBMW 328i28-
12GTOPaul BissonnetteFord Mustang GT28-
13GTUGeorge MoutafisBMW 330i27-
14GTUMark GawronskiHonda CRX27-
15GTAlain GouletPorsche 944 Turbo27-
16GTUMark GawronskiHonda CRX27-
17GTULouis-Sebastien DubordVolkswagen Golf GTi VR626-
18GTUVincent LortieAcura Integra Type R26-
19GTOJacques VilleneuvePorsche 93526-
20GTUGlen TomitaMazda RX-726-
21GTUStephane VachonHonda CRX26-
22GTUStephane SansoucyVolkswagen Rabbit26-
23GTUEmmanuel Boivin-MoreauHonda Civic26-
24GTUBruce LummisBMW 318i25-
25GTUBenoit LacasseBMW M325-
26GTULouis-Charles CadieuxVolkswagen Rabbit GTi24Did Not Finish
27GTUCarl WenerHonda Civic SiR20Did Not Finish
28GTURejean VincentAcura Integra Type R17Did Not Finish
29GTUJean-Francois MarchandVolkswagen Corrado17Did Not Finish
30GTUSimon Dion-ViensHyundai Accent GT15Did Not Finish
31GTUStephane CarrierVolkswagen Jetta GLX11Did Not Finish
32GTOJimmy BriereFord Mustang10Did Not Finish
33GTUSerge LapointeVolkswagen Jetta GTX10Did Not Finish
34GTPaul DufresnePorsche 911 RSR7Did Not Finish
35GTUMichel FourniePorsche 9446Did Not Finish
36GTOJules RoyPorsche 944 Turbo5Did Not Finish
37GTOBertrand PlouffeBMW4Did Not Finish
38GTORenald HamelinPorsche 911 RSR4Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020

Return to home page.