2003 was the tenth year for the Sports Car Club of America’s Pro Spec Racer championship. The car used in the series was the very popular Spec Racer Ford. This affordable, low maintenance, purpose-built vehicle is a popular category at Sports Car Club of America club racing events and attracts large fields with close racing.

The Spec Racer Ford is a single-seat, open-cockpit tube-frame chassis sports racer manufactured by SCCA Enterprises in Colorado. The cars are identical and powered by a sealed four-cylinder, SOHC, 1.9-liter Ford engine with a five-speed transmission. This combination produces 105-horsepower and a top speed of 135-mph. The suspension uses a rocker arm design (front and rear) with coil-over shocks on each corner and adjustable front and rear sway-bars.

The 2003 Pro Spec Racer season consisted of the Atlantic and Pacific Tours divisions. However, the series did not receive the support of event promoters, sponsors and participants. As a result, the Sports Car Club of America threw the checkered flag on the series. After two races, the Pacific division was canceled and there were three contests before the Atlantic Tour ended.

Round three or the final event of the 2003 Pro Spec Racer Atlantic Tour, was held at Mosport International Raceway. Competitors would race for eighteen laps around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course. This year, the Mosport event attracted eight starters compared to 2002, with twenty-eight participants.

Qualifying on the pole was Shawn Morrison in the No. 26 Motion Dynamics prepared Spec Racer Ford. Morrison did not participate in the opening two rounds at BeaveRun. However, last year he started eighth at Mosport and captured the final spot on the podium. During this year’s contest, he battled with Keith Scharf and grabbed the top for the last time on lap-13. This was Morrison’s first Pro Spec Racer series victory.
The No. 82 Tech Hyper-V Spec Racer Ford was piloted by Keith Scharf. Scharf finished second in last season’s championship. He started this weekend’s event on the outside of the front row. The pole-sitter, Shawn Morrison, and Scharf traded the lead throughout the race. However, Morrison moved into first place on lap-13. Despite his best efforts, Scharf could not pass him a finished second by a margin of 0.501-seconds.
Series veteran Chris Funk also did not participate in the opening rounds of this year’s Pro Spec Racer Atlantic Tour. At Mosport in 2002, the driver of the No. 0 Pearl Street Brewery sponsored Spec Racer Ford qualified on the outside of the front row. He was in contention until lap-15, when he experienced a mechanical issue. In the year’s event, Funk qualified third and captured the final position on the podium.
Another series veteran Kelly Toombs drove the No. 36 Toombs Racing Spec Racer Ford. Toombs recorded the fifth-fastest time at Mosport International Raceway. Unable to match the pace of the leaders, Toombs fought with Joe Calasacco for the fourth position. He prevailed and crossed the finish line in fourth. For passing the most competitors during the race, Toombs earned the Sunoco Hard Charger Award.

11Shawn MorrisonMotion Dynamics / Spec Racer Ford17-
22Keith ScharfTech Hyper-V Spec / Spec Racer Ford17-
33Chris FunkPearl Street Brewery / Spec Racer Ford17-
45Kelly ToombsToombs Racing / Spec Racer Ford17-
54Joe CalasaccoFratielli Auriana / Spec Racer Ford17-
67Richard DotySensonics, Inc. / Spec Racer Ford17-
76Doug GarrisonAlbany Communications / Spec Racer Ford17-
88Robey ClarkApartment Matching.com / Spec Racer Ford17-

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.