Despite declining entries for the Canada GT Challenge Cup and the series demise in 2002, there was still a demand for this format of racing among closed wheel competitors in the Canadian Automobile Sport Club Ontario Region (CASC-OR). The Touring GT Championship filled this vacancy.

Teams compete in one of three categories. The colour of the windshield banner identifies the groups.

  • Touring SGT – Blue – Vehicles campaigning in this group include many of the cars that previously contested the Canada GT Challenge Cup series.
  • Touring GT – White – This class is home to vehicles with V8 or six-cylinder engines and cars with forced induction systems.
  • Touring T – Yellow - Vehicles commonly found in this category include the Honda Civic, Nissan Sentra, Volkswagen Rabbit, Acura Integra, etc.

The Touring GT Championship events are conducted on CASC-OR race weekends. On Saturdays, teams compete in a twenty-minute sprint event and the following day a longer forty-minute race is contested. The Championship has also been invited to participate at two professional weekends at Mosport International Raceway – Trans Am Weekend and the CASCAR – Mosport Exide Batteries 250. At these events, drivers compete in a one-hour endurance race with a mandatory pit-stop. In total, there are eleven weekends of competition.

All races are one-hour in length and require a mandatory one-minute pit-stop. For teams that use two drivers, one-minute is sufficient time to make the change. Competitors driving solo can remain in the car during the stop. Re-fueling is not allowed.

In addition to the Drivers’ Championship, there are awards given for:

  • Rookie of the Year
  • Most Improved Driver
  • Most Professional Team
  • Crew Chief of the Year
  • Masters Champion
  • Hard Charger

The second of two one-hour races for the 2003 Touring GT Championship was held as a support event for the CASCAR Super Series on June 15th at Mosport International Raceway. Teams would compete around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

During the CASCAR Super Series weekend, Malcolm Strachan added to his Touring GT Championship Touring SGT points lead. At the previous Mosport International Raceway one-hour event in May, Strachan started from the rear of the field. This time he put the No. 22 Williams Performance Friction sponsored Chevrolet Corvette on the pole. From the start, Strachan dominated the contest.
Early in the 2003 Touring GT Championship, the Touring GT category was dominated by the No. 33 Nissan NX2000 Turbo of Bob Armstrong. As of late, the driver to beat was Robert Pacione in the No. 63 Heimrath Racing Porsche 944 Turbo. Armstrong was not entered this weekend and Pacione had little difficulty capturing the class pole and finishing one lap ahead of the runner-up, Doug Vanderhaar.
At the CASCAR weekend, Michael Thornley repeated the performance he delivered in May’s sixty-minute event. Thornley started the contest at the rear of the field in the No. 35 Active Traction Service sponsored Acura Integra Type R. During the one hour contest, he would move up the lap chart. Thornley scored the Touring T class victory and finished fifth overall.
One of the former Canada GT Challenge Cup drivers competing in this year’s Touring GT Championship was American Joel Reiser. Reiser had two Porsches to choose from and raced the No. 03 Reiser Motorsports 911 GT3 Cup at the CASCAR event. He qualified third overall and in the Touring SGT category. On this weekend, Reiser was no match for Malcolm Strachan and finished in the runner-up position.
The most popular class in the 2003 Touring GT Championship was Touring T; there were fourteen entries at the CASCAR event. One of the quickest drivers in the category were CASC-OR veteran Ian Madden. Madden drove the No. 126 Volkswagen Golf. During the qualifying session, he recorded the fastest time in the class and was gridded eleventh overall. In the race, Madden finished behind the category winner, Michael Thornley.
And yet another former Canada GT Challenge Cup driver participating in this weekend’s Touring GT Championship was Ian Phillips. Phillips was driving the No. 14 Auto Genics Racing Mazda RX-7. He was the second fast driver in the qualifying session, but Phillips was still 2.587-seconds slower than the pole-sitter, Malcolm Strachan. In the race, the Mazda only lasted six laps before it was retired.

11Touring SGTMalcom StrachanChevrolet Corvette37
23Touring SGTJoel ReiserPorsche GT3 Cup37
36Touring GTRobert PacionePorsche 96836
45Touring SGTLeo RomanoFord F-15036
5DNQTouring TMichael ThornleyAcura Integra Type R35
611Touring TIan MaddenVolkswagen Golf35
712Touring GTDoug VanderhaarChevrolet Camaro35
815Touring TNelson ChanHonda34
914Touring TAndrew ElliottVolkswagen Corrado34
1010Touring GTJohn CosgroveNissan 300ZX34
1116Touring TNicholas KrikorianHonda Prelude34
124Touring SGTAllan DeWolfeBMW 32533
139Touring GTAlan JonesToyota Supra33
1413Touring TNigel KrikorianHonda Prelude33
1520Touring GTRon GuidolinVolkswagen Corrado33
1624Touring TCliff DaleyVolkswagen Jetta33
1725Touring TPerry IannuzziNissan Sentra33
1822Touring GTShaun de JagerEagle Talon32
1921Touring TJoe IndovinaSuzuki Swift32
2027Touring TJohn CookFord Mustang30
2123Touring TIan LawHonda Civic29
2219Touring TMatthew CornfordAcura Integra22
2318Touring TJohn Dipchand Jr.Ford Contour SVT21
247Touring SGTAnton GeshelinChevrolet Corvette14
258Touring SGTGunter SchmidtVolkswagen Beetle8
262Touring SGTIan PhillipsMazda RX-76
-17Touring SGTTor KruegerChevrolet Monte Carlo-
-26Touring TNicholas KrikorianHonda Prelude-

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.