The Fran-Am Championship was developed to provide competitors with the best possible car at the best possible price. The series also sought to contain operating costs by careful design and minimizing the advantages gained by spending money. To attract teams, a generous prize fund was available.

The winner of the inaugural championship (2002) was Canadian Bruno Spengler.

The Fran-Am 2000, constructed by Tatuus, represents the sixth generation of this popular European formula. The car's carbon-fiber monocoque boasts fully-integrated lateral protection structures for the driver's head. The suspension is a wishbone design that is fully adjustable and allows for changes to the car's camber and caster settings. Similarly, the shock absorbers are adjustable for compression and rebound. Four 4-piston calipers are used with ventilated rotors to stop the Fran-Am 2000. There is also a cockpit-activated brake balance bar.

The 2-liter engine used in the car is fitted with a six-speed sequential gearbox. The gear ratios can be changed and the setup also includes a limited-slip differential. A hydraulically operated twin-plate clutch is between the engine and transmission using Formula 3 technology.

The Fran-Am 2000 uses OZ aluminum wheels with center locking nuts. The wheels, which are 8X13-inches on the front and 10X13-inches on the rear, are equipped with Michelin Sport racing tires. The car tips the scale at 480-kg. All of this for USD 42,000.

Fourteen rounds were contested for the 2003 North American Pro Championship. Fran-Am was a support event at many high-profile race weekends.

  • 1 Phoenix International Raceway Grand-Am
  • 2 Barber Motorsports Park Grand-Am
  • 3 Circuit Gilles Villeneuve Formula 1
  • 4 Circuit Gilles Villeneuve Formula 1
  • 5 Watkins Glen International Grand-Am
  • 6 Toronto Exhibition Place - CART
  • 7 Vancouver BC Place - CART
  • 8 Circuit Gilles Villeneuve - CART
  • 9 Denver - CART
  • 10 Circuit Mont-Tremblant Grand-Am
  • 11 Mexico City - CART
  • 12 Arizona Motorsport Park - Finals
  • 13 Arizona Motorsport Park - Finals
  • 14 Arizona Motorsport Park - Finals

Round ten of the 2003 Fran-Am 2000 North American Pro Championship was conducted at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant. Drivers would compete in a sixteen-lap contest around the fifteen-turn 2.65-mile road course.

A field of twenty-four Fran-Am 2000 competitors charge into corner one at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant for round ten of the championship. The pole-sitter, Juan Martin Ponte, leads the pack in the No. 50 Impact Protection Systems sponsored Fran-Am 2000. Behind Ponte are the second and third fastest qualifiers Andrew Ranger driving the No. 27 Fran-Am 2000 and Sean McIntosh in the No. 24 entry.
The points leader, Andrew Ranger, qualified second fastest for round ten of the Fran-Am 2000 championship. The No. 27 Tide / Downey / Mr. Clean Fran-Am driver passed the pole-sitter, Juan Martin Ponte, in the hairpin on lap-1. Ponte closed on him late in the contest, but Ranger grabbed his fifth victory of the season. Ranger extended his points lead over Charles Hall by 57-markers - (293 to 236).
Eurointernational's Juan Martin Ponte put the No. 50 Impact Protection Systems sponsored Fran-Am 2000 on the pole by a margin of 0.202-seconds. Unfortunately for Ponte, he lost the lead to Andrew Ranger before the end of the first lap. He closed the gap towards the end of the sixteen-lap contest but finished in the runner-up position by a margin of 0.623-seconds. Ponte was fourth in the points chase.
The development of the 2-liter Renault Sport engine used in the Fran-Am 2000 has benefited from Renault's Formula 3 experience. It is equipped with a dry-sump system from the Formula 3 motor. The powerplant also uses a fourth-generation Magneti Marelli engine management system and FIA-approved exhaust catalyst. The motor is tuned to produce 180-horsepower at 6,300-rpm.
Canadian Sean McIntosh piloted the No. 24 Fran-Am 2000 with support from Lordco and Kirmac. McIntosh was gridded third for the sixteen-lap contest at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant. He chased the leaders Andrew Ranger and Juan Martin Ponte but could not improve upon his starting position and claimed the final spot on the podium. Heading into round eleven at Mexico, McIntosh was eighth in the standings.
The podium at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant for round ten of the 2003 Fran-Am North American Championship. In the center, from AIM Autosport is the winner and current points leader, Andrew Ranger. Standing next to Ranger is the AIM's team principal Ian Willis. On the left is the runner-up, Juan Martin Ponte. Completing the rostrum is Sean McIntosh from British Columbia.

12Andrew RangerFran-Am 2000Tide / Downey16-
21Juan Martin PonteFran-Am 2000Impact Protection System16-
33Sean McIntoshFran-Am 2000Lordco16-
46Robert BellFran-Am 2000FirstAir16-
54Mark WilkinsFran-Am 2000Barrick Gold Corp.16-
67Charles HallFran-Am 2000-16-
79Dan McMullenFran-Am 2000ATI Technologies16-
810Aurelio LopezFran-Am 2000Jalmex16-
911Kuno WittmerFran-Am 2000Gelles Racing16-
1013Marc-Antoine CamirandFran-Am 2000Gelles Racing16-
1115Daniel BadiaFran-Am 2000Pharma-Tek16-
1220Nick RussellFran-Am 2000-16-
1317Dominic CiceroFran-Am 2000Westerness Racing LLC16-
1414Ricardo ImeryFran-Am 2000FirstAir16-
1519Justin PruskowskiFran-Am 2000Speed Secrets16-
1616Valerie LimogesFran-Am 2000Herbal Essences16-
1718Antoine BessetteFran-Am 2000Gelles Racing16-
1821Joe PruskowskiFran-Am 2000Speed Secrets16-
1923Lucas StrackerjanFran-Am 2000Kartbahn Racing16-
2024John KnudsenFran-Am 2000-16-
215Andre PriosteFran-Am 2000-2Mechanical
228Matt GreenFran-Am 2000-1Contact
2312Tim BarberFran-Am 2000CT Motorsports1Contact
2422Tim HauraneyFran-Am 2000-1Contact

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.