The 2002 Formula Ford 2000 Zetec Championship is an open-wheel series for Formula 2000 race cars. The series receives generous support from the Ford Motor Company, Avon Tires, Sunoco Racing Fuels and Racing Electronics.

The championship consists of thirteen races contested on road courses and ovals. The season begins in March with a doubleheader at Sebring International Raceway. In May, the teams travel north of the border for a doubleheader at Mosport International Raceway. A week later, the series conducts its first oval event of the year at Indianapolis Raceway Park. Next on the calendar are rounds six and seven at the Milwaukee Mile, another oval. Then the series makes the first of two stops at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Six weeks later, teams return to Mid-Ohio for rounds nine and ten. The penultimate weekend of racing is conducted a Road Atlanta during the Petit Le Mans event. The season ends with a doubleheader at Virginia International Raceway.

The cars competing in the series are single-seat, rear-engine, open-wheel vehicles constructed with a tube frame chassis. Manufacturers producing series chassis include Carbir, Mygale, Tatuus and the most common choice, Van Diemen. The suspensions are independent – both front and rear. Shock absorbers and sway bars are adjustable. A four-speed, non-synchro gearbox is used. Sequential transmissions are not permitted. The cars compete on a spec tire from Avon and use a spec fuel provided by Sunoco.

There are two championships:

  • Zetec Championship – This category is for newer cars with the Ford Zetec engine. Competitors score points on road courses and ovals to secure the championship. The Zetec powerplant is a 2.0-liter fuel injected double-overhead-camshaft four-cylinder motor, producing approximately 160-horsepower at 6,800-rpm.
  • American Continental Championship – This category is for cars built from 1990 to 1999. This class was introduced to provide an economical means for drivers and teams to enter the series. These 1,190-lbs formula cars are powered by a 2.0-liter Ford NEA engine fitted with a single Weber DGV carburetor. At 6,200-rpm, the motors produce approximately 150-horsepower.

Titles are also on the line for Chassis Manufacturers, Engine Builders and Teams.

Round eight of the 2002 Formula Ford 2000 Zetec Championship was the first of two visits to the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Drivers compete on the thirteen turn 2.258-mile road course for twenty-two laps.

Last year, Tonis Kasemets claimed the first of his three victories at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. In a repeat performance, Kasemets would once again collect his season’s first win at Mid-Ohio. He qualified third fastest driving the No. 9 MK Industries / FlexOvit / TMI Van Diemen RF01. On the opening lap, Kasemets out-braked the front row starters. From that point, he controlled the race and grabbed the victory.
It was an all Canadian front row for the start of round eight at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. On the pole was British Columbia’sSean McIntosh in the No. 24 Van Diemen RF012. McIntosh had lost the top spot to Tonis Kasemets heading into Mid-Ohio’s ‘Esses’ on the opening lap. He and Kasemets pulled away from the field. Unable to challenge Kasemets, McIntosh finished second by a margin of 2.365-seconds.
The points leader, Bryan Sellers, qualified an uncharacteristic tenth fastest in the No. 3 Yes Network / 3-D Services Van Diemen RF02. Before round eight, his worst qualifying result was a sixth at Milwaukee. By lap-8, Sellers had moved into fifth place. Nine circuits later, Sellers was in third and challenging for the second position. He tried a move on Sean McIntosh for second but settled for a third-place finish on the final lap.
The other half of the Canadian duo occupying the front row at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course was Jonathan Urlin. Starting second in the No. 19 Mygale US-02 was his best qualifying result of the year. By lap-2, Urlin lost positions to Tonis Kasemets and Lawson Aschenbach and ran fourth. A hard-charging Bryan Sellers relegated him to fifth, but a late-race pass on Aschenbach gave him a fourth-place finish.
Lawson Aschenbach’s season got off to a slow start. Aschenbach collected a pair of twentieth-place finishes in the season opener at Sebring International Raceway. However, he swept rounds six and seven at Milwaukee. During the qualifying session at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, he would post the fifth-fastest time in the No. 32 Forsythe / King Automotive Van Diemen RF02 and finish in the same position.
There were just three American Continental Challenge (for older cars) category entries for round eight at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, but this was the best turnout to date. The winner of the Mosport event, Kip Meeks, qualified twenty-first overall and second in class driving the No. 31 Meeks-Miller Motorsports Van Diemen RF97 and passed the division pole-sitter, Jeff Sakowicz, for the victory.

13F2ATonis KasemetsMK Ind/Flexovit/ / Van Diemen RF0122-
21F2ASean McIntoshKimnac Carstar/PPG / Van Diemen RF0222-
310F2ABryan Sellers3 Dimensional Services / Van Diemen RF0222-
42F2AJ.W. UrlinBudget Rent A Car / Mygale US-0222-
55F2ALawson AschenbachKing Automotive / Van Diemen RF0222-
67F2ATravis IrvingGreat Central Transport / Van Diemen RF0222-
79F2ARicardo ImeryCavenas de Venezuela / Van Diemen RF0222-
86F2AMike AndersenValvoline / Van Diemen RF0222-
913F2ATom DyerCycleShack/Menards /Van Diemen RF0222-
1012F2AAnthony MassariJDC Motor Sports / Van Diemen RF0122-
1115F2AMark WilkinsTrizecHahn/Multimatic / Van Diemen RF0122-
1216F2AScott RubenzerStorageBatSys/TrojanBatCo. / Van Diemen RF0222-
1317F2ALuis SchiavoAsfaltadora Maracay / Van Diemen RF0122-
1418F2AJames GueRoquin Motorsports / Van Diemen RF0122-
1519F2AMatt GreenInfinity Aviation / Van Diemen RF0222-
168F2AAndy BrumbaughVan Diemen International / Van Diemen RF0122-
1711F2AMatthew McDonoughTASC Technical Services / Van Diemen RF0222-
1814F2AEdouard AubePATTISON / Van Diemen RF0222-
1921ACCKip MeeksMeeks-Miller Motorsports / Van Diemen RF9722-
2020ACCJeff SakowiczWaveland/Nuttal Berman / Mygale US-9922-
2122ACCDoug SmithButler / Van Diemen21-
224F2AJeff JonesJones Chemical / Van Diemen RF0215Engine

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.