In 2002 the Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART) were in the fourth year of an agreement with primary sponsor FedEx. The series was called the CART FedEx Championship.

  • Team Penske left CART to join the Indy Racing League.
  • The series implemented mandatory pit windows requiring each driver to go no further than a specified number of laps before pitting.
  • Traction control was permitted.
  • Two qualifying sessions were added with the fastest driver in each session starting on the front row.

The nineteen race season kicked off on March 10th in Monterrey, Mexico and ended at Autodromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico, on November 17h. Along with North America stops, the series visited Mexico, Japan, England and Australia.

  • March 10 - Parque Fundidora
  • April 14 - Long Beach Street Circuit
  • April 27 - Twin Ring Motegi
  • June 2 - The Milwaukee Mile
  • June 9 - Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
  • June 16 - Portland International Raceway
  • June 30 - Chicago Motor Speedway
  • July 7 - Exhibition Place
  • July 14 - Burke Lakefront Airport
  • July 28 - Pacific Place
  • August 11 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • August 18 - Road America
  • August 25 - Circuit Gilles Villeneuve
  • September 2 - Denver
  • September 14 - Rockingham Speedway
  • October 6 - Miami Street Circuit
  • October 27 - Surfers Paradise Street Circuit
  • November 3 - California Speedway
  • November 17 - Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez

The two chassis suppliers in 2002 were Reynard and Lola. The Lola B2/100 was a popular choice, with many teams also relying on the new Reynard 02i.

Engines were available from Honda (Honda HR-2), Ford (Ford-Cosworth XF) and Toyota (Toyota RV8F). All motors were built to similar specifications – fuel-injected turbocharged eight-cylinders with an aluminum engine block and DOHC cylinder heads. The 2.6-liter engine uses methanol racing fuel, producing approximately 800-horsepower.

All cars competed on Firestone’s parent company, Bridgestone, became the exclusive tire supplier for the series.

In addition to the Driver’s Championship, there are also awards for the Nation’s Cup, Chassis Constructor’s Cup and Engine Manufacturer’s Cup.

Round eight of the nineteen CART FedEx Championship season was conducted at Toronto’s Exhibition Place, the series’ seventeenth annual visit to the track. The 112-lap contest around the eleven-turn 1.755-mile temporary street circuit was called the Molson Indy Toronto.

Round eight of the 2002 CART FedEx Championship belonged to the points leader, Cristiano da Matta. Da Matta won the season opener at Monterrey, Mexico and was victorious in three of the most recent events. Driving the No. 6 Havoline Lola B2/00 powered a Toyota RV8F, he topped the timesheets in both qualifying sessions. In the race, he led the 112-lap contest flag-to-flag and increased his championship lead.
Kenny Brack, who finished second in last year’s title chase, left Team Rahal to join Target Chip Ganassi Racing. Brack drove the No. 12 Target Lola B2/00 Toyota RV8F. To date, the highlight of his season was a third-place finish at Laguna Seca. After two qualifying sessions, he was gridded fourth for the start of Molson Indy Toronto. Benefitting from Bruno Junqueira and Paul Tracy’s problems, Brack finished second.
Former Formula 1 driver Christian Fittipaldi joined the series in 1995. This season, he was the teammate of Cristiano da Matta at Newman / Haas Racing. Fittipaldi drove the No. 11 Lola B2/00 Toyota RV8F. He wasn’t equaling da Matta’s results but had two podium results and was fifth in the standings. At Toronto, Fittipaldi qualified fifth fastest and collected the final position on the rostrum.
Local favourite Paul Tracy gave the fans something to cheer about when he put the No. 26 Team KOOL Green Lola B2/00 / Honda HR-2 on the outside of the front row. Tracy chased the race leader Cristiano da Matta for much of the event, but his car developed a brake issue. While in seventh-place, on lap-88, he spun and made contact with the turn one tire wall, which caused him to retire and finish sixteenth.
Bruno Junqueira was the other member of Target Chip Ganassi Racing and drove the No. 4 Target Lola B2/00 Toyota RV8F. Junqueira entered round eight second in the title chase, twenty-five points behind the leader, Cristiano da Matta. He qualified third-fastest at Toronto. Junqueira was in sixth place on lap-93 when an aggressive pass by Townsend Bell at the end of Lakeshore Drive eliminated him from the race.
Seven-time Toronto winner Michael Andretti did the impossible last year. An incident on the opening lap saw him rejoin the race in last place. Andretti charged through the field to capture the win. Problems with his primary car meant he would start last in this year’s Toronto Indy. Unfortunately, he could not reprise last season’s performance and finished eleven in the No. 39 Motorola Lola B2/00 Honda HR-2.
It was also a bad event for the 1999 Toronto winner, Dario Franchitti. Prior to the Toronto weekend, he had earned four rostrum results. In qualifying for the Molson Indy Toronto, Franchitti was the sixth fastest driving the No. 27 Team KOOL Green Lola B2/00 / Honda HR-2. However, he was never a factor in the race. Franchitti retired on lap-101 after he lost the rear wing in the final corner and spun.
Another driver having a disappointing weekend in Toronto was Michel Jourdain, Jr. Jourdain delivered some solid results early in the season. While he had not secured a podium result, he had seven top-ten finishes in as many starts and was fourth in points. In 2002, Jourdain drove the No. 9 Lola B2/00 / Ford Cosworth XF for Team Rahal. He posted the fifteenth fastest time in qualifying and finished twelfth.

11Cristiano da MattaLola B2/00 / Toyota RV8F112-
24Kenny BrackLola B2/00 / Toyota RV8F112-
35Christian FittipaldiLola B2/00 / Toyota RV8F112-
47Shinji NakanoLola B2/00 / Honda HR-2112-
59Scott DixonLola B2/00 / Toyota RV8F112-
68Jimmy VasserLola B2/00 / Ford Cosworth XF112-
711Alex TaglianiReynard 02i / Ford Cosworth XF112-
812Tora TakagiReynard 02i / Toyota RV8F112-
913Adrian FernandezLola B2/00 / Honda HR-2111-
1014Patrick CarpentierReynard 02i / Ford Cosworth XF111-
1118Michael AndrettiLola B2/00 / Honda HR-2110-
1215Michel Jourdain, Jr.Lola B2/00 / Ford Cosworth XF109-
136Dario FranchittiLola B2/00 / Honda HR-2101Accident
143Bruno JunqueiraLola B1/00 / Toyota RV8F92Accident
1516Townsend BellReynard 02i / Toyota RV8F92Disqualified
162Paul TracyLola B2/00 / Honda HR-288Brakes
1710Tony KanaanReynard 02i / Honda HR-260Transmission
1817Mario DominguezLola B2/00 / Honda HR-229Engine

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016

Return to home page.